We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Affordable Option for a Quick Venice Getaway”
Review of Foresteria Levi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foresteria Levi
Ranked #84 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We purchased a two person room for our weekend trip, and the location was perfect... we just wish it was a bit more comfortable.

Getting there wasn't too bad, especially with the simple street numbering scheme used on the main island. Carrying luggage up and down bridges is a very humbling experience, so if you don't mind spending some coin, you can take a private water taxi right up to the back of the Foresteria Levi.

The room was small and the bed was forgettable, but at least the bathroom was spacious and clean. Continental breakfast included croissants, coffee, juice, and some small packs of Nutella for spreading (we took a few of those for the train ride to Tuscany), enough for a quick bite before you head to the piazzas and bridges. Wifi was spotty, but you have to expect that it in Italy. At least they have it.

The location is great, within easy walking distance of St. Mark's Square and The Accademia Bridge. There's also a few nice wine bars and restaurants for appertivo around the corner, so it definitely makes for a good touch point when crawling the area for a place to eat. Just beware of the tourist trap restaurants close to the main piazzas.

Would we stay again? Maybe, but I'd probably spend some more time exploring other options, even if it meant spending a bit more money. All in all, it's not a bad option for a night or two, just don't expect too much.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Foresteria Levi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 384 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel, located just over the bridge from the vaporetto Academmia station. (Note – when you get to Venice, purchase the three day vaporetto pass. You can get on and off the “bus” at any station along the Gran Canale, which essentially traverses the entire city.) I’ll add that the bridge can be quite a negative upon arrival and departure, as you’ll have to carry your luggage (it’s difficult rolling on the steps) over to the hotel. Having said that, our non-smoking hotel room had all the necessaries, queen-size bed, small flat-screen TV, bedroom window opening into the courtyard with view of the basilica dome, and another large window in the bathroom. The multi-colored Chiluly-type overhead chandelier in the bedroom will catch your eye. The 4’ by 4’ shower was tight, but this seems almost standard for Italian hotels. Elevator was also small, but adequate. Breakfast is included, and the coffee was strong. Staff was very friendly and helpful, spoke excellent English, and could advise you regarding all the sights of Venice. Although the vaporetto was very convenient, walking to any of Venice’s sights was also possible from this hotel’s location.

Room Tip: Locate the hotel through Google maps, as the front door can be difficult to locate at first
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2009Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location! On the GRAND CANAL, Near Accademia bridge and close to all sights and attractions. The room is all new, small but comfortable. We stayed for one night on October 14th 2013. Very lovely and reccomended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raayaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights at Foresteria Levi in late August and would recommend it highly. It is situated close to San Marco near Accademia and within easy reach of major attractions, including significant buildings, art galleries, music, restaurants etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large with a large newly appointed modern en-suite bathroom. The hotel was very clean and the breakfasts were good. Notably it was equipped for disabled throughout.
My only criticism is that it was hard to find, It would have been helpful if the hotel had provided the full address and a map/directions. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charley234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

where it is set:
Directly situated at 'ponte accademica', really good place for walking around venice.
'Santa Margeritha square' is less than ten minutes by foot (this is the place to stay at night). The only little club in venice called 'Piccolo Mondo' is just across the bridge.
The hotel is set in San Marco in the very city center of Venice and 10 minutes by foot from 'San Marco square'. On the other direction you would find in walking distance the 'Rialto bridge'.
'Foresteria Levi' is directly set on the waterfront of 'Canale grande'.
A lot of pavillions of the 'Art Biennale' are around the hotel. To 'Gardini' and 'Arsenale' it is more or less a 20 min walk but really nice because you pass 'San marco square' and the waterfront.

rooms:
Nice rooms with good size. We where three people and had enough space for a couple of days. The rooms have two levels like shown on the pictures from the website of the hotel. It is clean but somehow we had the feeling to get stiches during the night, maybe little mosquitos, who knows.
Bathroom has 'Ok' size but the shower is really small. Tall or chabby people have serious problems to take a shower.

breakfast:
between 08:00-10:00am. coffee is really good and it is worth to get up for it but the rest is really not to recommend. 'Briochi' are not the best, rolls are dry and they have nothing else than sweet toppings (jam, honey and so on). But that is what you should expect in italy, so it was ok for us and again, coffe was great.

conclusion:
Because of the location (!) and the not to bad rooms i would go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micky3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second visit to Venice and out first at the Foresteri Levi. We has a really lovey stay here, absolutely perfect location, right near the Academia bridge, less than 10 mins walk to St Marc’s.
We had quad room which was huge especially for Venice rooms, it was a mezzanine with 2 single beds down stairs and a double upstairs. Really nice bathroom and good hair dryer. Room was clean and comfortable. We did visit in August so room was a little warm of an evening but hotel supplied fans. We didn’t experience any problems with mosquitos like others have mentioned but hotel supplied plug in repellents.
Good lift, big for Venice.
Helpful, friendly staff.
Good free wifi.
Breakfast was a little disappointing as I like to have some fruit and there wasn't even a banana a on offer. However there was fruit juice, coffees, cereals, breads, jams etc.
Overall we had an excellent stay, an ideal place for families and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aly-loves-to-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Please beware that this property has a ridiculous cancellation policy. I cancelled a reservation for 3 rooms more than a week in advance and they slapped a cancellation charge of Euro 1080 and categorically refused to entertain any complaints. Most galling is that I made the reservation via Booking.com where they had in bold letters "Free Cancellation" and "Pay when you stay". This is so misleading. The actual cancellation policy was buried 3 pages deep inside the booking confirmation. I cancelled 3 days after I made the booking and got charged a ridiculous amount. I just want to make sure that no one goes through the experience I had with this property and their absolutely insensitive customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank Shubs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#136 of 384 in Venice
612 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#125 of 384 in Venice
550 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#162 of 384 in Venice
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#39 of 384 in Venice
449 reviews
San Marco
Palazzetto Pisani
Palazzetto Pisani
#97 of 471 in Venice
402 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Bembo
Palazzo Bembo
#69 of 471 in Venice
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresteria Levi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Levi

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2893 - 2894, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $110 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Foresteria Levi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Foresteria Levi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Fondazione Levi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing