We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - not too bad”
Review of Ca' Leon D'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ca' Leon D'Oro
Ranked #57 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for a weekend. Do not expect it to be a trendy hipster hangout, it is everything but that. This place really gives good value for money; you get what you pay for. No frills ... at all ... but a dry place to rest your head for EUR 165/night (in May 2014). We stayed on the same floor as the reception and breakfast room are, it might be better to stay on a higher level, room was a bit dark. But then, I would not want to spend too much time in it anyway. Staff is very friendly. I tried Wi-Fi, it did not work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 283 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

The location was great, right by Rialto bridge. The room and bathroom were okay. But even for a continental breakfast this was a first for me. Everything was packaged. A few pieces of fruit one day and the next none. No eggs or anything thing else you could enjoy besides the yoghurt. We all actually bought bread and cheese etc. Never had to do this before.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were so pleased to be accommodated here after being locked out of Residenza Ca Dario. The manger went to the trouble of making up beds for us at a very late hour. The rooms had a lovely view were quiet and very comfortable. Lovely staff and the restaurant is superb too. Best lasagne of my life

Room Tip: With a canal view and en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived they advised me I was upgraded to a canal view suite. The room was beautiful and felt very Venetian. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great being close to the Rialto. When I go back to Venice I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank meeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by a friend who stayed here before. We are from australia. Stayed for 2 nights with hubby, mum and grandmother. Stairs were a bit much for the oldies but they managed (we carried their luggage up the multiple flights of stairs). It's a small residence but exactly what we were seeking (something authentic; didn't want another big name hotel chain). Glad we stayed here. Hubby and I booked the top floor room which has exclusive access to the rooftop terrace (has really good view). It's a little tight getting up to the roof by the way... Rooms were small but comfortable and clean! Brekky simple but enjoyable. The best thing about this place is definitely the location! Right near the Rialto! Location is important for us. Agree with other reviews advising on eating down little alleys etc; the meal we had on the 'waterfront' just down from Rialto was terrible. Extremely salty. Gelato and hot choccies in San Marco Sq however were fantastic! We had a great experience with the gondola ride. Shopping and walking around is fun; even with all the bridges and steps! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Oh, and wifi is avail on the steps outside the top floor room; we couldn't get it in the room. Service from the reception was also very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeviNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is very very close to Rialto bridge so if you ever get lost just follow the signs to Rialto or ask any one. Rooms are average but clean and there is a fridge in a room. There is no elevator in the building so be prepared to take your luggage up 3 to 4 floors.

Take a water taxi 2 from the train station to Rialto. Staff are friendly and nice. They will send you the direction to the hotel if you provide them an email address. If you are checking after 7:00 PM, it's important you contact them ahead of time because you will be using another location for entry and registration!!!!
Overpriced in high season so visit in winter if you can.

Room Tip: Well there are no elevators in the building so you have to walk two floors just to get to registrati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This little bed and breakfast is placed in a great location in the center of Venice near the Rialto bridge. That location was also useful in times we got lost, since there are many signs pointing to the Rialto. The service was great, as the staff were friendly. The rooms were very comfortable, and since we had a triple room, were quite big. Breakfast was nice too, and I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 387 in Venice
1,926 reviews
San Marco
Ca' del Campo Hotel
Ca' del Campo Hotel
#144 of 387 in Venice
561 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#76 of 387 in Venice
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri e B&B Allegri
San Marco
Locanda Art Deco
Locanda Art Deco
#21 of 482 in Venice
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Leon D'Oro

Address: Sestiere San Marco 5303, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $76 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Leon D'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Leon D'Oro is located at the very heart of Venice, in Campo San Bartolomeo - Calle Dell'Aquila Nera: just a few steps away from the Rialto Bridge and only a 10-minute distance by feet from St. Mark's Square. Thanks to its central position, it is an ideal place to start the main sightseeing tours of the city. It is very easy and convenient to visit the Rialto Bridge, the "Mercerie" district (where the most famous italian fashion boutiques are), "La Fenice" theatre, St. Mark's Square, Marco Polo's House, the Fish and Vegetable Market, St. Polo's and the Frari's churches. Let Venice's magic atmosphere immerse you. We will be happy to welcome you and unveil to you the deepest secrets of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' Leon D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Leon d`Oro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing