We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing contemporary art

A wonderful gallery full of interesting modern art in a lovely restored palace. A must see. Not too... read more

Reviewed March 25, 2018
Maryanne37
,
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Damien Hirst Exhibit, Part Two

When we visited Palazzo Grassi last October, it was hosting one half of the massive Damien Hirst... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2018
Charming_Karl
,
Charleston, South Carolina
Read all 439 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Venice
from $41.90
More Info
from $39.10
More Info
from $24.47
More Info
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
217
108
36
40
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
108
36
40
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews damien hirst contemporary art great exhibition sunken ship vaporeto stop solid gold restored palace museum staff wonderful building mind boggling ticket price worth a visit recent trip to venice euros per person on display grand canal visiting venice
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 439 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is not your average white cube gallery space but it is an unexpectedly good place to see art and I suspect it'd be a joy to wander through the rooms regardless. When I visited there was some great work on show, much of it new to me.

Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As someone who works in the arts, it was worthwhile for me to check out the Palazzo Grassi. I enjoyed the exhibition on view during my visit, but only stayed about 20 minutes-- it wasn't anything that would really stick with me. If I was visiting for my own interest and NOT for work, I would have felt horribly ripped-off. Perhaps another art exhibition would be more worthwhile, but this one wasn't. For the general public (not contemporary art buffs): really research this place first before deciding to spend the cash.

Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Visited in June 2013 for the temporary exhibit by Rudolf Stingel (carpeting all floors and walls of the palace). It was interesting (as we went at the end of the day and had a number of rooms to ourselves), but at 15 euros a person, it was just too expensive. The cost is especially outrageous as the Azerbaijan national site in Campo San Stefano offers a carpeted room experience for free.

Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a disappointment! Rooms full of (ugly) carpets from floor up to roof, the same carpets for two floors. The single artist's works were in interesting, and many of the carpet rooms were empty. Terribly expensive.
The only interesting part was the building itself and the beautiful wooden roofs of the second floor. But the horrendous carpets almost hid all that.

1  Thank 787CatharinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having spent a while searching this out, it was disappointing to find the whole place taken over by a single artist. The exhibition continues for much of the year and is very expensive - yes it is the same carpet everywhere. The advertised joint ticket with the dockland museum was not available as the other museum is out of commission while its exhibition is prepared for June. The staff tell you you can do the floors in any direction, but you can't. Start at the bottom floor and work your way up as when you get to the top you can only walk all the way to the bottom, you cannot access the floors unless you use the lift. I think this is to push you through the cafe, which is excellent. A huge selection of specialist teas and great coffee with a stunning view of the Grand Canal. Shame you can't go to the cafe without doing the exhibition. There was no one there except us. It seemed such a waste. The palace was beautiful, the ceilings exquisite and fabulous views across the canal. One of the few palaces on the Grand Canal you can enter as most are in private hands.

Thank reef-bore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews