We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly, family run hotel”
Review of Alloggi Barbaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alloggi Barbaria
Ranked #137 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Venice and to Alloggi Barbaria. We would definitely return to both places! It felt as though we were visiting family during our stay in the Alloggi Barbaria. Our room and food were adequate but the socialization with the staff was great. The location of the hotel can not be any more convenient to the water taxi and to the attractions within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnot open directly to the dining area. It could be noisy if you decided to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank glo1985__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 336 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spent three nights here in mid-September and was not impressed. Very uncomfortable bed, room was very sparse and basic. Nothing worked - AC, TV, safe was just sitting on a desk not attached to anything. Breakfast was a pastry in a plastic bag. Mosquitoes in room. Noisy outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GRMVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlloggiBarbaria, Responsabile reception at Alloggi Barbaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

I am sorry you felt you had an unsatisfactory stay at our hotel, but we feel some of your criticisms are unfair.

If, as you stated, the TV didn't work then we are wondering why, in the three days you stayed at our hotel you did not mention this to a member of our staff. We would have been more than happy to help you. We need to ask the same question for the air conditioning, which is fully functional. If, as you say, it didn't work all you needed to do was mention it to the staff.

The safe, a free service we provide to our guests, is quite heavy and is therefore very difficult to move.

Our breakfast is a continental breakfast that consists of coffee or tea or hot chocolate, yogurt, rolls, assorted jellies, croissants, nutella, cheese and butter.

In all of our rooms we provide a small machine to eliminate the mosquitoes. All you needed to do was plug it in. There is also the option to close the windows, which would keep the mosquitoes out.

It is interesting that you felt it was noisy. Many reviewers and tour books consider our location to be in a quiet part of Venice. There may be some noise during the day as local Venetians may be going to and from the nearby supermarket, but at night the area is considered very quiet.

We would have preferred it if you had contacted the hotel before posting such a review. Simple communication during your stay would have remedied any of the problems you felt you had. We always work hard to improve our services and provide the best experience we can for our guests.

Sincerely.

Fausto Maroder,
Alloggi Barbaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a really good budget hotel in an expensive city. We are not fussed with the star rating of a hotel; as long as it's clean, comfy and has the basic amenities, that's all you need. After all you only sleep in the hotel. This hotel is located in a quiet district; 15mins walk from St Mark's Sq, 2 mins walk from the water bus stop and 1 min walk to the local supermarket. It's nice that it's away from all the hustle and bustle of tourists and 15mins walk isn't far. It's actually nice discovering places along the way. The room was spacious, clean and had aircon. There was also a large ensuite bathroom with wash basin, shower cubicle, toilet and bidet. This was all clean. The only thing was that the shower doors didn't shut properly so you had to close/open it using your hand and foot which didn't bother us so nothing major. We also had a fridge in the room which was handy. We didn't use the mini bar but it was good to be able to out snacks/drinks in there, bought in the local shop. Beds were comfy and sheets clean. The tv didn't have any English speaking channels but again not fussed. Breakfast was basic - 2 rolls, croissant, yoghurt, butter, jam, nutella and tea/coffee per person. Tea was twinnings so nice, as I don't like dishwater tea. My fiancé said the coffee was lovely. Breakfast was served between 8-10 so we ate about 9am and eventhough it was a basic breakfast it was enough to keep us going till about 1-2pm. The staff were very friendly and were always willing to help in any way. The only thing was a downside was the wifi. Other reviews mentioned it wasn't great so we were prepared for it but having wifi wasn't a must. We could live without facebook for a bit. We mentioned it to the hotel staff but we were told the wifi was fine. We managed to get connected to someone else's wifi that was open at certain times of the day. Not sure whose it was as we would sometimes get connected to it at various times of the day and this was all over the city, not just in the hotel. The open wifi was called netgear. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Olenka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a comfortable place on a quiet passageway and about 5 minutes from the water bus. We liked that there was a small grocery store nearby. There were no steps or bridges to navigate with luggage. It's just about 15 minutes to San Marco square and the nearby water bus will take you to the train station in 25 minutes or to Murano or Burano in about 20 minutes. There are about 8 rooms and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was large with plenty of room for luggage and moving around. The bathroom was also large. We would definitely return there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really loved this hotel! The rooms were really big, the bathroom by European standards is HUGE and the front desk could not have been nicer or more attentive. I thought the location was great and we walked all over the city. We traveled with our two girls age 8 and 12 and walked to and from the hotel with no problems. I know some people complained that it was in an alley, but the entire city of Venice is alley's and we felt safe the entire time we were there. We were there this July and because it is late in the summer it does not even get dark until close to 9 so there were several night that we did not get back to the hotel until close to midnight and it was never a problem walking around at night. The breakfast is basic, but it is quick and free so that was fine by us. We like to get out early and start our day so to be able to grab a quick bite and be out the door was great for us. The front desk was very helpful with internet and even let me use her computer to look something up for our next hotel in Florence. Overall we loved this hotel and I would definitely stay here again. Very nice people, great location and huge clean room. The lobby has a U.S. collectible quarters map and it is missing quite a few quarters. If you are traveling from the U.S. it might be fun to bring a few quarters to add to the map and leave a little part of yourself in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank UKtoAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is located near the seashore, and well served by waterbuses and is ten to fifteen minutes to San Marco Square. It was a family run business, the owner and staffs are very friendly, they welcomed us nicely.
The rooms were wide and clean, so were the bathrooms. The AC is in a perfect condition. The breakfast server on a small terrace, and consisted of croissant, nutella, coffee, tea, bread, jam and cheese. There could be many more improvements in the breakfast such as adding fruit, eggs and cereal. The Wi-Fi was excellent in the rooms. However, the bed sheets were very thin and we quickly became cold. There might have been extra blankets, but we did not think to look. The owner prepared a quick guide to go to San Marco Square, with clear instructions of the way. Near the hotel you can find fruits and restaurants.
My wife and kids felt the real atmosphere of Venice where the streets are very narrow, and the canals shown from every bridge and square.

Room Tip: next to the hotel on the seaside there are good restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbizaLoveYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the Alloggi Barbaria at the end of June.

The hotel is situated in a very quiet street very close to 2 Vaporeti stops so it’s easy to get to from the station or airport. Upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome and were shown straight to our room and provided with lots of useful information about Venice including a great map of how to get to St Mark’s Square in under 10 minutes.

The room itself was basic but very clean and comfortable and very quiet and the bathroom was the same. The room did have a modern TV with some satellite channels so we could get some English channels not that we had anytime to watch TV. A nice touch was a minibar with items that were very reasonably priced which made a nice change.

Breakfast was served on the terrace in the open air which was lovely and although basic was enjoyable and was served with a pot of fresh coffee.

All of the staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again if we ever go back to Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#108 of 387 in Venice
633 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#124 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#148 of 387 in Venice
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#105 of 387 in Venice
586 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#150 of 387 in Venice
598 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#175 of 387 in Venice
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Barbaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Barbaria

Address: Castello 6573, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $75 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alloggi Barbaria 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alloggi Barbaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Barbaria Venice
Alloggi Barbaria Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing