We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alex
Ranked #321 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We paid a premium price for this room as it was over new years, but normally for a 1 star hotel this place is quite adequate. You need to keep in mind this place is 1 star! The room was big, clean but NOISY. The locks on the doors are so loud it will wake anyone up on the same floor coming in and out of your room. The shared facilities were ok. The shower was very small and needed a good clean.
The breakfast was adequate and the lady that worked at reception was lovely and very helpful. There was another man there but we didn't have anything to do with him.
Good location, about 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and a supermarket right across from hotel. There is also free wifi but they turn it off sometimes.
Keeping in mind that this is a 1 star hotel I would stay here again..... depending on price. But they MUST do something about he locks on the doors.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckett79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    31
    21
    15
See reviews for
28
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a one star hotel and is definately worthy of its rating. We were not expecting a lot but its the added negatives that made our stay unpleasant.

While it is clean, the rooms are large and the position of the hotel is central, there are a number of things which we weren't aware of with the hotel prior to staying there. The price is low for Venice but still considerably more than other european city's for what you get. Beware of the reasonably good review on Lonely Planet!! (that was what made us book this Hotel).

Our first floor room was extremely noisy - noise in the street until 3am and then from 7am again, impossible to sleep. Paper thin inside walls. The ceramic floor tiles in our room weren't even glued down and moved about as you walked on them. Very dodgy bedside lamps which looked like they were an electrical fault waiting to happen and which caused a severe burn to my wifes arm. Mosquito ridden room with squashed mosquito's all over the walls and did not seem to ever be cleaned off. You can't open the bedroom windows for the mossie problem and you can't open the bedroom door to let fresh air in as the foyer has an extremely strong smell of cigarette smoke (despite being a non smoking hotel!!!).

The furniture in the room is quite old but ok except for the beds. My children slept on single fold out beds which had mattresses which were banana shaped and not very good for sleeping on.

I stress again that it is clean and large rooms plus the grandma on the front desk is particulalry helpful, although her son? Mario not so much. You are promised free wifi but for the life of us couldn't get it to work anywhere in the hotel despite the owners insisting they gave us the password.

Overall, particulalry disappointed that reviews in Lonely Planet don't mention the noise and bedroom/issues. It is well located, but I'd stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: No Wifi (although promised), beware of good Lonely Planet review!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCBrooksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was such a cute place to stay! We got a great value on a double room with shared bath. The shower and bathroom were clean but shower was extremely small. Host was very helpful suggesting various things. Location isn't ideal but worked for us. Breakfast is offered for extra which we didn't do but would suggest doing it looked good! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The location is really the strong point of this hotel. We were in a jam for a room and ended up paying 75 Euro/night for a teensy weensy garret on the top floor. The decor was definitely starting to show it's age and the furniture was probably at least 20 years old if not older, and not in a charming antique sort of way. The shared bathroom also wasn't the cleanest - especially the shower which was very small. The lady at the front desk is quite nice, but that alone isn't enough to merit a recommendation. If you do have to stay here, and/or happen to be in the neighbourhood, there is a great little grocery store across from the hotel which is a rare sight in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Infinite_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

While Hotel Alex gets a 5 star rating for location, it's not the greatest B&B for comfort. Located in the San Polo region of Venice, it's a short walk to the Grand Canal, many shops and restaurants, but then again, most of Venice is that way. No matter where you stay, all areas of the small city of Venice can be reached easily on foot. The hospitality at Hotel Alex was ok, but the owners were not there much. The morning continental breakfast was less than adequate...though there is a nice, little general store right across the sidewalk that we used to supplement our breakfasts each morning. Our room, though quite large, lacked hot water, soap, and clean soft towels. The towels were "hard" and gave my daughter a facial rash. The toilet area, and the single, shower room were shared between 4 guestrooms. I found it inconvenient. While the bed was comfortable, I could expect to be awoken at 3am each morning by the loud crowd leaving the local bars nearby. The price was definitely right, but not worth the inconvenience...If you are looking for a good location at a good price, Hotel Alex is for you; otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenaissanceArtLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here because it was the last room in Venice in our price range on Easter weekend, so beggars can't be choosers. However, the price tag on this room was the equivalent of other small B&B and guest houses in the area, which all had private bathrooms and larger rooms. This place was more like a backpacker lodge without the cheaper price tag. I actually had mentally prepared for the shared bathrooms, but they turned out to be so tiny you could hardly change clothes and there was only one shower per two floors. I have had better shared bathrooms in far cheaper youth hostels. Our room did have a very nice terrace that we enjoyed immensely. However, Lonely Planet mistakenly said the terraces on 3 sides of the building had canal views, this is wrong, there is no way any side of this building would have a canal view. The location was nice, an easy walk from the arrival point at Piazza Roma and an easy walk to the Rialto bridge. If you need a place to stay and this is your only option, that's fine, but you can do better if you book ahead somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed in room 5 (en suite double room) on the second floor for 2 nights & I now think that Hotel Alex is a little gem. However it is still a one star hotel, so the following needs to be stated:

NEGATIVES:
- uncomfortable bed
Our double bed was made of 2
twin beds put together, which
therefore created a gap in the
middle. One materass was ok, but
the other one lost its shape ages
ago..
- Noisy. You can hear everything
that goes on outside your door &
as it is an old building with no
double glazed windows, you can
hear everything that goes on in
the street too, starting from 6:30
am (we managed to sleep until
late anyway, though!)
- You can only pay by cash.

POSITIVES
- Great location, right in the middle
of Venice.
- Old, charming building.
- Ample rooms. Plenty of space.
- Very clean!!
- the owner (an elderly lady) is
really lovely & helpful.
- Great views from the windows.
- 120 Euros per night, which is a
moderate rate for central Venice in
high season.

I can't comment on the breakfast, because we never made it.
Overall a good experience. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#161 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Hotel Altieri
#345 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#111 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#100 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex

Property: Hotel Alex
Address: 2606, S. Polo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alex 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing