We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alex
Ranked #321 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was such a cute place to stay! We got a great value on a double room with shared bath. The shower and bathroom were clean but shower was extremely small. Host was very helpful suggesting various things. Location isn't ideal but worked for us. Breakfast is offered for extra which we didn't do but would suggest doing it looked good! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank angelat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alex
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

The location is really the strong point of this hotel. We were in a jam for a room and ended up paying 75 Euro/night for a teensy weensy garret on the top floor. The decor was definitely starting to show it's age and the furniture was probably at least 20 years old if not older, and not in a charming antique sort of way. The shared bathroom also wasn't the cleanest - especially the shower which was very small. The lady at the front desk is quite nice, but that alone isn't enough to merit a recommendation. If you do have to stay here, and/or happen to be in the neighbourhood, there is a great little grocery store across from the hotel which is a rare sight in Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Infinite_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

While Hotel Alex gets a 5 star rating for location, it's not the greatest B&B for comfort. Located in the San Polo region of Venice, it's a short walk to the Grand Canal, many shops and restaurants, but then again, most of Venice is that way. No matter where you stay, all areas of the small city of Venice can be reached easily on foot. The hospitality at Hotel Alex was ok, but the owners were not there much. The morning continental breakfast was less than adequate...though there is a nice, little general store right across the sidewalk that we used to supplement our breakfasts each morning. Our room, though quite large, lacked hot water, soap, and clean soft towels. The towels were "hard" and gave my daughter a facial rash. The toilet area, and the single, shower room were shared between 4 guestrooms. I found it inconvenient. While the bed was comfortable, I could expect to be awoken at 3am each morning by the loud crowd leaving the local bars nearby. The price was definitely right, but not worth the inconvenience...If you are looking for a good location at a good price, Hotel Alex is for you; otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaissanceArtLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here because it was the last room in Venice in our price range on Easter weekend, so beggars can't be choosers. However, the price tag on this room was the equivalent of other small B&B and guest houses in the area, which all had private bathrooms and larger rooms. This place was more like a backpacker lodge without the cheaper price tag. I actually had mentally prepared for the shared bathrooms, but they turned out to be so tiny you could hardly change clothes and there was only one shower per two floors. I have had better shared bathrooms in far cheaper youth hostels. Our room did have a very nice terrace that we enjoyed immensely. However, Lonely Planet mistakenly said the terraces on 3 sides of the building had canal views, this is wrong, there is no way any side of this building would have a canal view. The location was nice, an easy walk from the arrival point at Piazza Roma and an easy walk to the Rialto bridge. If you need a place to stay and this is your only option, that's fine, but you can do better if you book ahead somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becca1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed in room 5 (en suite double room) on the second floor for 2 nights & I now think that Hotel Alex is a little gem. However it is still a one star hotel, so the following needs to be stated:

NEGATIVES:
- uncomfortable bed
Our double bed was made of 2
twin beds put together, which
therefore created a gap in the
middle. One materass was ok, but
the other one lost its shape ages
ago..
- Noisy. You can hear everything
that goes on outside your door &
as it is an old building with no
double glazed windows, you can
hear everything that goes on in
the street too, starting from 6:30
am (we managed to sleep until
late anyway, though!)
- You can only pay by cash.

POSITIVES
- Great location, right in the middle
of Venice.
- Old, charming building.
- Ample rooms. Plenty of space.
- Very clean!!
- the owner (an elderly lady) is
really lovely & helpful.
- Great views from the windows.
- 120 Euros per night, which is a
moderate rate for central Venice in
high season.

I can't comment on the breakfast, because we never made it.
Overall a good experience. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Hotel Alex is a delight. Our stay was for 7 nights, which my husband booked directly via phone with the managers.
We were late arriving due to flight delays but this was no problem. Mario greeted us in a professional manner and explained the basics - breakfast etc.
We stayed in an en suite room on the second floor for our first night with views of the street and canals at either end.
On our second morning we were requested by Velia, the most delightful woman, to change rooms. We were a little dubious about this so my husband took a look at our new room, and we were not disappointed and were relocated to a room on the third floor, again en suite with a great little balcony still overlooking the street.
The hotel has great charm and our room was cleaned daily to a good standard. Every day on our return we were greeted with a pleasant chat with Velia. By the end of our stay we were sad to leave as we felt so welcome.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Venice with a touch of old venetian style. Yes there is no air con (although there are fans in the rooms) and the furniture is classic not modern, but that just adds to the charm. You have to remember that you are staying in a 1 star hotel...it isn't the Ritz and thank goodness for that!
The location is superb for exploring...with Chiesa dei Frari literally just round the corner and only a 20 minute walk to San Marco. Oh, and a small supermarket is right outside the hotel, great for drinks and a little mozzarella and tomatoes!
We intend to return to Venice in the future and will again stay at Hotel Alex.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SZaurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

In Venice accommodation is expensive. I paid in holiday season 50 Euros (single) without breakfast so I wasn't expecting much and it is a rather run down hotel. Top floor (stairs only) room for one person with shared bathroom. Room was small but clean and bed comfortable. I had a small outside balcony which was okay for close roof top views. Provided with a towel and bed linen on bed, Extra pillow and blanket in wardrobe, washbasin and a bedside lamp. Centrally located with a small supermarket across the road and a good restauant for an evening meal also across the road. An easy 10 min walk to train and bus station. More than 30 minites by vaporetto to S. Toma from Piazalle Roma (water bus area). You can leave heavy luggage at bus station or train station as walking is essential and some bridges are steep.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iluvtotravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#91 of 384 in Venice
575 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#179 of 384 in Venice
306 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#124 of 384 in Venice
510 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#86 of 384 in Venice
1,064 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#115 of 384 in Venice
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex

Address: 2606, S. Polo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alex 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing