We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
33
96
82
35
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
96
82
35
45
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 291 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I arrived at the Ariel Silva at about 1 AM with the help of a really nice Italian couple who were strolling along Canarregio street. I was lost, looking for another hotel. The room was clean, small but adequate. The bath was modern. There was air conditioning, thank goodness! The breakfast is excellent, and the daytime staff friendly and helpful.

The man on duty when we arrived was upset to have been awakened. But hey, it's a hotel, and you are there to do your job! We had to wait several minutes after a Japanese girl answered the door and said "Later!" I asked to use a telephone, and was told it wasn't possible ("It's not our emergency, lady!") The guy was rude to the point of being menacing and charged me another 10 euros for bugging him. Not the kind of service you want when you're exhausted, lost, and minus a cell phone! In the morning, when the owner came in, he was a lot more friendly, and walked me to the nearest ATM after his shift ended. All's well that ends well.

Room Tip: No elevator. Get a room on the first floor!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel.Convenient location right in the middle of shopping about 1.7 Kim's to the St. Marks square by foot.
Friendly staff and big Ac room. shower was too tiny .

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank manav b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is near to the St. Lucia train station. I think this is very important in Venice, because there are a lot of bridges with stairs. Therefore, depending on the location, you'll need to take a 'vaporetto', what is not good when you have your luggage. The room was good and clean, tough we had to face two levels of stairs (there are not elevator available), but I think this is the standard situation in Venice. The breakfast was good and staff was kind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our room was located in another building than the reception (about 10-15 minutes walk away). When we checked in, the guy at the reception gave us a map so that we could find our room. Without a map it would have been very difficult. Location of the room was quite good, it was located in Cannareggio area.

In the room air-conditioning worked well, but the room was little noisy (I guess it's a common thing in hotels in Venice). Sharing a bathroom with another room was not a problem for us. Towels very very thin. Light in the ceiling of the room did not work, luckily there were two small light on the bed side tables. The room was ok for the price, breakfast was not included. Check out time was at 10.30 a.m.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a shared bathroom which you could hardly move in, couldn't stand up straight in the shower because its under a staircase and the roof slants in the shower. Shower didn't work, it was either boiling hot or nothing, completely flooded every time it was used. Had to sit on the toilet on an angle or knees would touch the wall in front. On the second evening we came back to find shower lever completely broken off and when we reported it to the guy on reception he started yelling and seemed to blame us for it being broken. When we arrived there were no working lights in the room, the towels were table cloths, there was only white sheer curtains on a window that faces the street on ground level, there was heaps of street noise outside the window all night with ppl pushing their market stalls up and down the laneway. Breakfast was terrible, stale white bread rolls and perculated coffee while the staff made themselves nice coffees from their machine for staff only. We found a lot of the staff very rude.
Venice is an expensive city to stay in & this place is cheap but next time ill spend a bit more because this was by far our worst hotel experience in Europe so far.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews