We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residenza La Campana
Nearby Hotels
$465
$362
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$788
$381
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$350
$325
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palazzo Stern(Venice)
$583
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection(Venice)(Great Value!)
$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$313
$278
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$816
$790
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dona Palace(Venice)
$363
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
44
47
19
6
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
47
19
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady on receptionrialto bridgegreat locationhamthe room was niceboiled eggswalking distancestayed here for nightswould stay here againfirst floorst markshairdryerluggageapartmentshuttersaccheese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 132 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is our third trip to Venice and our favorite hotel, Le Isole was booked so we tried this place. First of all we initially booked the sister property to this one a short walk down the street from here. When we arrived at the other property the owner was waiting (he had emailed me about our arrival time) He graciously apologized that there was a major plumbing problem in the building. He quickly explained and offered the suite I am reviewing today. Funny little ditty though, you could tell he was frustrated with the plumbing issue and in his rush to explain while we were in the small side street in front of the door it shut and locked. "Mama Mia" he said, "my keys and phone are inside" A little like an Abott and Costello comedy routine. He grabbed my wife's bag and took us down the street to this place. Now he had no keys and the bell on the door he had forwarded to the other property so when he rang it his wife on the third floor could not hear. More comedy. He ended up using the phone at the pub right next door and his wife came and opened the door.
Now remember people this is Venice, old buildings, this one from the 1500's. Small narrow steep stairs. Our room was on the 4th floor with a 5th floor sitting room looking out on a busy Campo/Square. For Venice the room was very large, with cool period decorating.
When we are renting these kinds of places we want 3 things, location PERFECT, good bathroom LARGE, NEW, CLEAN and the best shower and water flow we have had in Europe ever, and a good bed this one was one of the better ones we have had in many trips to Europe.
The room includes a small breakfast which is a good way to start your day walking the city.
We loved this place and would recommend it to anyone.
BUT remember, lots of stairs, very quite, roomy with wi-fi and AC which is a luxury in most of Venice. We will be back to Venice and hope we can book in here again.
A little FYI we took a private water taxi from the airport. I gave them the address and they dropped us at St Marco square. This is NOT where you want to be dropped, this place is a quick 2 minute 1 canal bridge walk from the Rialo bridge. You want to get off at Rialo to come here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dieselcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We started our tour of Italy in Venice, and chose Residenza La Campana for its location and reviews. While it was the most expensive hotel of the 6 we stayed in, it wasn't bad for Venice! Even though the directions were very good, we had to stop in a shop for directions - right across the street! After lugging our bags up steep steps (with help, of course), we found our room small, but clean and comfortable, and very Venetian! The service was great and breakfast not bad (by American standards!). It was a short walk to the Rialto and San Marco, with many restaurants nearby, and an easy walk to areas away from these landmarks.
While verbal communication was a challenge, we both made it work, especially on the last morning whenwe discovered we had left an item of some value in the restaurant next door. Because it was Sunday, the restaurant was closed, and we had to catch the train to Florence. The hotel manager took it as his responsibility to go to the restaurant on Monday, the item was found, and he mailed it ahead to our hotel in Capri. Such care should not be underestimated! We are most thankful for our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillandKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Rooms in Venice are expensive. This one is more than I would normally spend but compared to the rest I shopped, a tremendous value. Even so, the facility is clean and well maintained. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean with a large shower. We even had a very nice loft in our room. It gave me a place to go in the morning before my wife woke up.

The front door of the inn is secure with an electronic hob needed to enter. The breakfast is good. Staff is friendly, although not the best English speakers I met in Italy. We still were able to communicate. They gave us a good map and told us how to get to the best spots. They also asked us what we wanted to see and made sure we knew how to get there.

Location was a little hard to find initially. The map at the vaporetto stop was wrong. I walked the wrong way. Place is marked, but no more than a door. Once we found it, we were very happy with the location.

There are steps involved. We do not mind and Enrico helped us get our bags to and from the room. Just know that if you cannot handle steps, this may not be your place.

Location is very convenient. Short walk to the Rialto Bridge and vaporetto stop. Short walk to St Mark's Square. Good restaurants close-by. Just across the Rialto Bridge is an area full of Venetian natives, cichetti and wine bars, and shops.

Just a suggestion...don't sleep in Venice with your windows open. Mosquitoes ate us up. Not a problem with Residenza La Campana as the air conditioning was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the loft
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rankin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Coming from the airport we took the Alilaguna waterbus to Rialto and went down the street of the hotel. It was initially hard to find, just a discreet door on the street, no other hotel signs. Then a couple of steep flights of stairs up to the reception. Our room was right next to the reception desk.

The room itself was perfectly adequate but on the small side. The bathroom was spotlessly clean though the shower water pressure was low and the temperature could have been hotter. The TV shows only Italian channels and reception isn't always great. The area is fairly quiet at night but by keeping the window open I was constantly bitten by mosquitos.

The staff were friendly and helpful, though there isn't always someone on the reception desk so if you need something at certain times of day this could be a problem. The breakfast was adequate but dull, the usual continental fare, no eggs, and reasonable coffee.

By far the best thing about this place is its location, just a couple of minutes from Rialto and 5 minutes from San Marco's, it really couldn't have been better. And the street itself is full of restaurants and shops and is pleasant to wander through.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedebicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Absolutely reccommended to everyone! The room was big, clean, with a modern bathroom and very closed to Rialto and San Marco, so perfect location to go walking around Venice.
The staff was really helpful with a lot of suggestions on where to have aperitivi, dinner and local area (not tourist). Breakfast was good too: croissants, eggs, jam, bread, Italian biscuits, tea, coffee, juice and more. Price is good (double room booked though Venere was 100€) and absolutely good value for the place and the location. I'll come back again at some point!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangiapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews