We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but close to everything”
Review of Hotel Caprera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caprera
Ranked #166 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

For a very reasonable price, this hotel is in a great location. It's off the main street so it's quiet but it's only a short walk to shops, restaurants, the train station and the water bus so all of Venice is within easy reach. It's not plush but comfortable with very nice and helpful owners/staff. I would happily stay here again when visiting Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 451 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from a four night stay in Venice and our stay at the hotel Caprera was just right for us. As expected we knew that we wouldn't be spending much time in our hotel as we had so much to see and do,however we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable we were made to feel by Alberto and his staff. The hotel was spotless and although the breakfast was not varied it was definitely adequate. Perfect position too.If we ever return to Venice this is where we would stay. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just a short walk from the train station. The hotel is in a small alley and does not face the main street. Good as it isn't too noisy. There is a table and a few chairs just outside the hotel and a great place to have your wine in the evenings. Room is clean and there is wifi. Breakfast was just alright but I would recommend this hotel to people visiting Venice.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Fuzzbuzz_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I don't usually leave reviews on hotels but on this occasion felt I had to. After searching the internet for a reasonably priced hotel in Venice I came across Hotel Caprera and so glad I did. Positives, about 5 mins from train station, comfortable bed, very clean bedroom and bathroom, maid service everyday, very friendly and helpful staff, close to restaurants. I would like to thank the staff and management for making our holiday complete and if ever in Venice again we would not hesitate to stay in Hotel Caprera again and will certainly recommend this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: Hotel approx 5 mins from train station. Hotel situated off Main Street. Stairs to rooms, may not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdeni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a small but full of character hotel. About 5 minutes from train station and a great place to get to all the attraction from. Plenty of restaurants and shops close by. Quiet alleyway. Our room was a good size with shuttered windows and a good shower. Breakfast wasn't great but it is a cheap hotel and there are plenty of places to get a better breakfast if you need it nearby.

Room Tip: We had a twin room with balconies and shuttered windows at front of hotel. Good size room. Noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Good position near the train station, but in a quite place.
The all staff is very kind.
The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel gives a very good value for his price.
An excellent hotel for visiting Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555AlessandroM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a great hotel for travelers on a budget who are looking for clean hotel, convenient to all of Venice via vaporetto, water taxi, or one's feet. It is especially convenient for those traveling by air or rail. It is less than a ten-minute walk along the busy Lista di Spagna to the Piazzale Roma, where the buses arrive and depart (including the quick transfer ATVO buses to Marco Polo and Treviso airports). The walk to the train station is less than that. Though I had read suggestions from others not to stay near the train station because of noise (and because elsewhere would be more charming), I would stay here again. We were not bothered by noise, and there was more going on in the evening in this area than in the rest of the city. (We walked back from St. Mark's Square on the last night of our visit, and the streets were almost totally deserted--and dark.) There are lots of shops, restaurants, snack / wine bars, and convenient ATM's in this area.

All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. Our early checkout (at 5:15) was no issue. We were encouraged to ring the bell to drop off our key, but the night clerk had set his alarm, so he was up and waiting for us. The breakfast was adequate, and the wifi was the most strong and reliable of the four hotels in which we stayed during our time in Italy.

The sleeping area of our room was small, as I expected it would be, but it was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. We had a little balcony with a view of the street, which made the room seem a bit bigger and very bright and airy. The bathroom was larger than we expected--about a quarter the size of the bedroom and very, very clean and modern. And honestly, that is the room where space is probably most appreciated if one isn't going to be spending a lot of time in the room. We also had a small foyer with a nice sized closet and small safe. The room decor is minimalist; the lobby area more vibrant. Though there is no lift, the stairs are wide, so getting luggage up and down was not an issue.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if stairs pose any issue, ask for as low a floor as can be accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#193 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#190 of 385 in Venice
377 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#185 of 385 in Venice
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#119 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprera

Address: Cannaregio 219, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $85 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Caprera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caprera has been managed with care and attention by the same family since 1953. It was completely refurbished in 2005 guest rooms are clean and simple. Rooms with air conditioning and a private terrace are available on request. Start your day with a buffet breakfast available from 08 until 10.ILLIMITED and FREE WiFi Internet!!!We're located in the Historical city center just 200 mt away from the Vaporetto (water bus) stop, where you can catch boats to St. Marco Square in 15 minutes. In the surrounding area of Cannaregio you can visit the Jewish Ghetto, the Frari Church, and the School of St. Rocco and many other attractions.We're located in a strategical position because in maximum 10 mins you can catch any trasportations to the Airports, port or motorways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caprera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing