We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service!”
Review of Hotel Caprera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Caprera
Ranked #170 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The four of us enjoyed our stay at Venice. We were greeted by Alberto who was terrific. He recommended a great restaurant near the hotel where we had one of our best meals in Italy. He was also very helpful in showing us the map and how to get to places.

We had a quadruple room. The room was clean and sufficient for our one night stay. The only negative is the bed was a little hard and there are Mosquitos. All of us got bites throughout the night. Otherwise, everything was provided.

We would still recommend this hotel as the location was terrific. Only about a 5 to 10 minutes walk to train station, which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctanele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 452 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

One reason I chose this hotel was its proximity to the Santa Lucia railway station. Because of the poor map I had, I walked right past it and ended up walking the streets and asking directions until I finally found it. It’s not more than a five minute walk. From the railway station, go left into the street: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna, you’ll see a sign for Hotel Spagna on your right hand side and a sign for Hotel Adua directly behind it. Between these two signs, on the left side, is an alley only a few feet wide. When you look inside this alley, you’ll see the Hotel Caprera sign.
The breakfast was good with fresh croissants and excellent coffee, fruit, cereal and yogurt. There is no elevator but in my case, the extremely helpful front desk person just grabbed one of my bags and helped getting it to the third floor.
The single room was small but functional with pleasant looking furniture and a bunk size bed. The cleanliness of the bathroom and the shower was disappointing. I found hairs that were not mine. I also had problems with tiny little mosquitoes that came in through the open windows.
I had to make some modifications to the IP settings of my laptop in order to connect to the internet. The front desk has a sheet with instructions.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, although the hotel is several stories high. Staff is willing to help getting y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudolph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location close to the station meant I could easily and quickly get my luggage from the station to the hotel on arrival and to the airport by boat when I left. The staff were friendly and helpful (in spite of my total lack of Italian). They took my bags upstairs to my room which was small but clean, comfortable and pleasant. The ensuite was also terrific. I liked staying in an old building with double windows in my room which I could open. It is an easy walk to the tourist sites and the area around is also interesting to explore. The price was very reasonable for Venice in September. The breakfast room has basic cereal, yoghurt and croissant (cornetto in Italian) which was good in the morning when I didn't go out (but I like the Italian way of going to a coffee bar and there are several close to the hotel).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanRice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Though the hotel is situated near a touristy area, by taking a turn down a side street you're immediately in old Venice. Comfortable, warm and friendly staff, and the included breakfast make this stay a great option for those traveling to Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenFBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. It was very clean, and comfortable. It was located 5-10 minutes walking distance from San Lucia train station. Breakfast was ok, with all the essentials to start you off, but if you're looking for ham and eggs, you won't find it here. We learned that the Italian folks prefer to dunk sweet bisquits into warm milk for breakfast. The staff was very welcoming and extremely helpful. It is just off of the main drag-Lista di Spagna, which was bustling from morning until late into the night, however, we found it to very quiet. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The installations in my bedroom was so good, the only anoying thing was the noise out of the street. But in Venezia this is normal. The train station is so close, you can walk for a few minutes and arrive there without a problem.

Room Tip: Choose some room near the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristianersbrpoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great Hotel close to terminal station. We left early in the morning using a train, and just left the hotel 15 minutes before the train departure. Really helpful staff, helped us with luggage and information of the area.. Bathroom and room was clean.

Room Tip: Not elevator, so if you are traveling with luggage select a room in lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcediel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
#182 of 387 in Venice
283 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adriatico
Hotel Adriatico
#220 of 387 in Venice
475 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#124 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 387 in Venice
1,034 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#190 of 387 in Venice
386 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#219 of 387 in Venice
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprera

Address: Cannaregio 219, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $100 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Caprera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caprera has been managed with care and attention by the same family since 1953. It was completely refurbished in 2005 guest rooms are clean and simple. Rooms with air conditioning and a private terrace are available on request. Start your day with a buffet breakfast available from 08 until 10.ILLIMITED and FREE WiFi Internet!!!We're located in the Historical city center just 200 mt away from the Vaporetto (water bus) stop, where you can catch boats to St. Marco Square in 15 minutes. In the surrounding area of Cannaregio you can visit the Jewish Ghetto, the Frari Church, and the School of St. Rocco and many other attractions.We're located in a strategical position because in maximum 10 mins you can catch any trasportations to the Airports, port or motorways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caprera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing