We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy solution well located near railway station and boat vaporetti”
Review of Hotel Caprera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Caprera
Ranked #170 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a short holiday with overnight at hotel Caprera which is a five minutes' walk from the railwaystation and in a quiet Calle so we could rest very quietly after strolling around the four days long. Staff and management is very polite and absolutely available to suggest touristic solutions. Buffet breakfast is various and rich. Bedrooms and dining room are not very large but extremely clean and simply practical.
Cost/quality ratio absolutely favourabl.
A very nice experience we would like to repeat.

Room Tip: No lift so the first floor is the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Raffaella187849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 452 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

My hotel room was VERY simple/basic, but the hotel has a fantastic location (walking distance from the train station) for someone staying only one night. The owner nicely pointed me towards a bar for a beer. Overall, well spent money for one night in Venice.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank rumore0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel is just off the main tourist street. Very easy to find...walking distance off the main glass bridge. The staff was friendly and spoke English. The room was small but very clean and bathroom was not dark. The breakfast was very good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best location in Venice: close the to train station (no bridge to cross) and to the bus station (one bridge to cross). It's on a dead end street but only 100m from the main canal square. Sleep quality was extremely good compared to other Venice hotels located on busy pedestrian street.
Basic, clean room, ok staff, nice italian style breakfast included. WIFI was good in my room. No elevator however.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Alberto and his mom are very friendly people and the Hotel Caprera was extremely clean, but we froze.
We were in a room on the top floor. A cold front hit while we were there and we had no heat. They tried hard to get the heater to work, but couldn't. No other rooms were available. We had to sleep with our clothes on and under two blankets and a bedspread.
Our terrace overlooked the alley where the neighbors had their laundry hanging.
Also, every time we flushed the toilet, a horrible smell came out of the bidet.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel during cool weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCedarPark_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

After reading the generally positive reviews, I booked and stayed here for one night in March 2013. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the train station. Unfortunately the room smelled of cigarette smoke. When I complained, the front desk manager came up, sniffed, and told me it was just the smell of the wood paneling (??) even though the room reeked and there was a used ashtray sitting right there on the table. Would also not go to the restaurant across the street the staff recommends for dinner....Povoledo. My dish had pieces of literally uncooked (not al dente, but raw dried and crunchy) pasta, and the whole place felt like an overpriced tourist trap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Chickies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel was little difficult to find when we arrived at night, but once we found it, we were quite happy. There were three of us travelling together and this hotel could easily accomodate us. The room was quite large and clean. The hotel staff were very nice, spoke clear english and were extremely helpful. I felt very safe. They were very patient as well when the scared Canadians ran downstairs during the night because of the water alarm.
The included breakfast wasnt as good as we had been used to in previous hotel stays in Italy, but it did the trick. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_Hughes_Keene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
#181 of 387 in Venice
283 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adriatico
Hotel Adriatico
#221 of 387 in Venice
475 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#127 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 387 in Venice
1,034 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#189 of 387 in Venice
386 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#219 of 387 in Venice
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprera

Address: Cannaregio 219, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $100 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Caprera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caprera has been managed with care and attention by the same family since 1953. It was completely refurbished in 2005 guest rooms are clean and simple. Rooms with air conditioning and a private terrace are available on request. Start your day with a buffet breakfast available from 08 until 10.ILLIMITED and FREE WiFi Internet!!!We're located in the Historical city center just 200 mt away from the Vaporetto (water bus) stop, where you can catch boats to St. Marco Square in 15 minutes. In the surrounding area of Cannaregio you can visit the Jewish Ghetto, the Frari Church, and the School of St. Rocco and many other attractions.We're located in a strategical position because in maximum 10 mins you can catch any trasportations to the Airports, port or motorways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caprera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing