We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caprera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Caprera
Ranked #156 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for a quick visit to Venice and thought it was the perfect location. It was a short walk from the train station and in the middle of lots of shops and restaurants. Our room was clean and comfortable and included breakfast. Although they say that you can only get wifi in the lobby, we were able to get it in our room on the third floor. This hotel was a bargain for Venice, and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    204
    59
    9
    3
See reviews for
126
144
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Clean and big rooms, great breakfast for just € 5 per person. (breads, croissants, milk, coffee, tea and juice) extremely confortable. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: For those who carry heavy luggage get to first floors, there's no lifts on the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

For our family of 4, this was a great find! European hotels are very different from American standards, so when you get past that hurdle, you'll be fine. The hotel is like 2 blocks from the train station which was wonderful and super easy to find! It's down a little alley way (but most of Venice is alley ways) not too far down the left right out of the station. The room had a queen (2 twin beds pushed together) and twin bunk beds. Though the room was very basic, it was very clean and breakfast was nice and the people there were very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and were very thankful to find it and it's location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilesmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed in Venice at the end of September in what felt like unseasonably hot weather. The hotel was fine and seemed clean but the service was basic and my husband and I were rather caught out on the first few nights by the mosquitos that came to feast on us. Wifi was available but only in the lobby which was disappointing and there could have been more information - we weren't told about breakfast at check in so assumed there wouldn't be any! The breakfast was fine. Service was prompt but lacked warmth. A real plus for the hotel was the location close to the train and bus station (only a short walk over the modern bridge from the bus station) which was preferable to trying to get luggage on the vaporetto! However, the path down to the hotel was being worked on when we visited and there were a few choice smells emanating from beneath the ply board covering the work!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We just came back from a 4 nights/ 3 full day visit to beautiful Venice. The hotel is situated close to the Ferrovia "boat station", very handy to take the boats in almost any direction. Size of the rooms is small but still reasonable, very basic. No airco in our room, so we had to sleep with the windows open and the noise starts around 7am, so if you dont get a room with airco or if you dont bring ear plugs don't expect to sleep too much. Breakfast hour was very short from 8 till 10am only. Breakfast was simple but they diligently topped up anything that was running off quickly. Choices were some croissants, cereals, yogurts, jams, small triangular cheese and some juice. Thats it... and coffee/milk. I found it very expensive for a 2 start hotel, but couldn't find something cheaper and nice, since in Venice everything is so expensive. For a 2 start hotel doh the quality of the service/rooms/breakfast was not bad. I would try to book a hotel as soon as possible (months if possible) to get something better for the same money, we were a bit late booking (only 3 weeks in advance).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirianFDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I was initially concerned that it would be difficult to find this hotel, given the nature of the streets in Venice. However, with luggage and all, we got to the hotel within 5 minutes of walking out of the train station - you basically turn left once you exit the station, stay on the left side of the street, and turn left again into an alleyway when you see an '@' sign on the left side of the street, and voila! The hotel was quite nice and cosy. The room itself was clean and had all the basic necessities. There was also an adequate selection of breakfast choices (but only go for it if your booking already includes breakfast). Only minor disturbance was the free wi-fi, which only worked (for us, at least) when you're in the lobby. Our room was on the 3rd floor so it was a bit of a pain having to go up and down and stairs every time we wanted to use the internet. Then again, we weren't in the Venice to use the internet! I also didn't see an elevator in the hotel (although this could be my oversight) so fingers crossed that if you have a lot of luggage upon arrival, you get a room on the bottom floor. Given the location, I would happily stay there again the next time I'm in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyPengu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August and although the rooms were small, they were very comfortable and clean. You couldn't hear any noise from the streets, so this was another positive. No elevator, but only 3 floors so if you get on the 3rd floor like we did, it really wasn't too bad getting the luggage up the stairs. It was a little difficult to find when we first arrived. Breakfast was very simple, croissants, cereal, packaged cheese, yogurt.. We would stay here again as the price was reasonable and the location was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Adriatico
Hotel Adriatico
#197 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#155 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#168 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#214 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprera

Property: Hotel Caprera
Address: Cannaregio 219, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#79 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Caprera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caprera has been managed with care and attention by the same family since 1953. It was completely refurbished in 2005 guest rooms are clean and simple. Rooms with air conditioning and a private terrace are available on request. Start your day with a buffet breakfast available from 08 until 10.ILLIMITED and FREE WiFi Internet!!!We're located in the Historical city center just 200 mt away from the Vaporetto (water bus) stop, where you can catch boats to St. Marco Square in 15 minutes. In the surrounding area of Cannaregio you can visit the Jewish Ghetto, the Frari Church, and the School of St. Rocco and many other attractions.We're located in a strategical position because in maximum 10 mins you can catch any trasportations to the Airports, port or motorways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Caprera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing