We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Leonardo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leonardo Hotel
Ranked #316 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was pleased with the room, but would have preferred a breakfast option. I had some difficulty finding the hotel. If you focus on the street numbers it is easy, but otherwise it is in a quiet alley and not obvious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We appreciated the friendly and helpful service. Rooms are small but very comfortable and like new condition. It is only five minutes from the train station and underground. There is free wifi in the lobby. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it seemed to be well used.

Room Tip: It was very quiet on the street behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Leonardo my last night in Venice. I was traveling alone and I'm just happy that I didn't have to stay here for more than one night.

The room was like a prison cell. No toilet, and a hole of a room. There was only a Fan in the corner and it was not air conditioned. There was no where in the hotel to go to get cool so I just went to a restaurant for most of the night. When I returned the guy at the front desk was upset that I hadn't turned in my key! Apparently I was supposed to leave my key with them but no one told me and also, No way. I then tried to watch a bit of TV but the TV didn't work.

The worst part is, as of now I paid twice. When I arrived, the woman at the front desk said I hadn't paid. So I paid in cash 47 Euros (2 Euros for the city tax). That night I checked my bank account via WiFi at the McDonalds nearby and saw that I had already paid. I addressed this with the staff and they said they would re-fund my bank account. As of now I've paid 90 Euros for the WORST stay ever! They have been good about sending an email to say that they will refund and I will see if it works out.

If you are a hardened solo traveler, it's fine but otherwise I'd stay away and make sure you don't pay twice! It's really NOT worth paying twice for.

Room Tip: Go to a differnent hotel. I really enjoyed Ca Del Dose near San Marco but was trying to save money o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WiscoGirl_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We loved our stay in Venice, this hotel is located just off a busy street and is in close proximity to two different water bus stops. The room was clean and the staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hohkyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Hotel was in the heart of Cannagerio District, and walking distance from the St. Maria Train Station (with light luggage). The lobby and rooms were clean and bright, a bit off the main street which meant a quiet room. Friendly staff,gave us a map and highlighted most important monuments of Venice.
Cons: since this hotel is set back from the main street there is no view and no air circulation in the rooms, in the hottest months this could mean difficulty sleeping, opening the windows will not help as this will allow the mosquitos full access. We were bitten several times during the nights we spent at this hotel, an inroom fan might have helped with the heat, we asked and they didnt not have any for us to use. Overall a nice hotel, I would stay again in more milder weather. Good value.

Room Tip: Wouldnt not recomment this hotel in summer months, lack of air conditioning and no window screens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angear77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Amazing hotel!!! The owner, owner's wife and son are the friendliest people you will ever meet. Very clean, great location, very hospitable, speak English, Italian and Spanish +others as well. Will accommodate requests. Made our vacation truly special and unforgettable. Without question-- we will go back and stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Only a 10 min walk from the train station,
Great location! friendly district loaded with supermarkets and pubs.
Female staff were very friendly and had our room ready in no time.
The room was big- with an extra bed, a closet and a private bathroom+shower.
Very clean, very comfortable.
If you're traveling on a budget or just like staying at B&B's Leonardo Hotel is your place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#341 of 385 in Venice
276 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#336 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#324 of 385 in Venice
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#262 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#193 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#268 of 385 in Venice
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel

Address: Calle della Masena 1385, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $50 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Leonardo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing