We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel very close to Rialto bridge”
Review of Hotel San Salvador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Salvador
Ranked #107 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Before even arriving, we had good communication with the staff (Stefania and Ambra). They will give such good recommendations and advice. We arrived for a late check in at the main hotel. Both the main hotel and the annex building (where we stayed) are up a steep flight of stairs (no elevator).

We were escorted over by the night manager to the annex room. He knew very little English, but he taught us how to use the keys for the different doors. There was a central living room with sofas and a dining table just outside our room. In our room, there were two twins together to make a king and an extra twin. It was a spacious room with high ceilings. The bathroom was extremely small. The towels are very thin and not very absorbent and the soap and shampoo were in little rip-open packets.

It is an ideal location so close to Rialto bridge. Very close to water taxis, vaporetto, and walking to St. Mark's square was 10 minutes. There is no breakfast included, but we knew that before hand. There is a Coop grocery store (just ask where) about 5 minutes walk away (towards St. Mark's square) that opens from 8:30am to 8pm daily. Go there for cheaper drinks, water, and snacks. Also "Q food & more" is just around the corner for a great snack option- donuts!

The free wifi internet worked great! Caution, the A/C does not turn on until after June 1st. Our first night was very warm. It cooled off the second night. There is no scenery, but you are right in the middle of the action. Right next to the Disney store!

I would stay here again, when the A/C is turned on. Ciao!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 440 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night earlier this week and were very pleased with it. Room wasn't big but it was sufficient for a couple with a few luggages. Room was very clean and hotel is ideally located near to the Rialto bridge. What topped it all off was the warm hospitality of the hotel staff (Ambra) who were very helpful with all our questions and gave us many pointers to maximize our stay given we only had one night in Venice. Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone going to Venice

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Santhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night, and it was perfect. Only 2 minutes from the Rialto bridge and 5 minutes from St. marks square. The receptionist (unfortunately I didn't catch her name but she runs the place with her sister) was so friendly and took the initiative to give us great tips for making the best of the time we had in Venice. The room was very clean, airy and the bed was comfortable. We stayed in the annex just a few streets over from the main hotel but it was no problem! We checked in early and they brought our bags right to our room so when we came back that night we could just relax after walking all day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would love to stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bankruptbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location, just 2 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge. The staff are always welcoming and give great advice for places to eat etc. My room was small, but very clean and comfortable. If I ever manage to afford to go to Venice again I will certainly stay here - I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: My room was on Calle Stagneri side and was a bit noisy due to the lively bar / trattoria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during the Easter long weekend 2014. It is located very close to the Rialto bridge and Vaporetto stop and is an easy to find. My single room was small but functional and comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and had useful advice that helped to make my visit to Venice more enjoyable. The hotel does not serve breakfast but there are several cafes on the other side of the Rialto that serve breakfast overlooking the grand canal for 6 euros. Very good value for the price of the room. If you want a clean, simple, and centrally located hotel, this one is an ideal place to base yourself for a visit to Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bxlcanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel San Salvador is a clean and economical hotel, only 100 meters from the Rialto Bridge.

Stefania was very friendly and helpful. She gave useful tips to us during our 3 day stay at Venice.

She went out of her way in helping us whenever we sought her help.

Rooms are small but very clean.

I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalitdutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. The hotel is a typical Italian hotel, so don't expect spacious rooms and bathrooms, but you will get amazingly helpful staff and great tips on where to go and where to eat. The location means you can walk to most places and get out and see the sites. An amazing place to stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#99 of 387 in Venice
853 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#126 of 387 in Venice
456 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#109 of 387 in Venice
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#146 of 387 in Venice
953 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#82 of 387 in Venice
473 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Serenissima
Hotel Serenissima
#97 of 387 in Venice
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Salvador

Address: Calle Galeazza San Marco, 5264, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#116 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $89 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Salvador 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Salvador is a small 2 stars hotel, located in the tiny alley called Calle Galeazza in San Marco District, 1 minute by foot from the Rialto Bridge. All rooms are quite small, No smoking, basic or standard, nicely decorated. San Marco Square is 5/10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Salvador Hotel
San Salvador Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing