We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel san salvador. small can be beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Salvador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Salvador
Ranked #103 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“hotel san salvador. small can be beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Yes, the rooms are small and the furnishings a little shabby --but clean and well serviced every day. The bed is probably the best I have ever slept on in a hotel. The shower was small, but dependably hot and easily adjustable. The fridge was not full of expensive drinks, thoughtfully leaving room for your own favourites. Television with more chanels than anyone could want, with a good picture. Noise can be a bit of a problem, but this is Venice and close proximity to other buildings makes this almost unavoidable. Even with double galzing and wooden shutters it can be noisy. Bring good earplugs. However, the noise abated at a reasonable hour. Stefania and Ambra were the most helpful hostesses one could wish for with lots of advice during the recent Aqua Alta. They put up with my basic Italian and helped when asked.. About 10-15 minutes from S. Marco, 3 minutes from Rialto. Yes, breakfast would be good but a few steps away are many bars with great coffee and croissants. Would definately go back.
Thank you Stefania an Ambra, you are good ambassadors for Italy!

Room Tip: We were in room 16 and no major problems. I would like to know more about the annex. May be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    161
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
39
240
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ok the good bits: 1) Very convenient location. We did not get lost, the instructions on the website was pretty clear and the Disney store is hard to miss. Also very close to Rialto bridge so if you do get lost in the street maze of Venice there are always signposts back to the Rialto. Lots of good eateries nearby and 10-15 min walk to St Marks square. Vaporetto stops right at Rialto bridge.
2) Excellent customer service. Thank you Stephania/Amber for being so helpful & happy. They gave us great advice as to where locals eat & we had a great time exploring Venice in search of these delicious eateries.
The 'bad': 1) Rooms: small room and very small bathroom. We were on top of a pizzeria and opposite a pub so Saturday night was quite noisy. There was an aircon but no remote so we slept with the windows open but soon discovered the noise and mosquitos were prohibitive.
Overall great location & customer service but maybe you could do better with the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The girl at the front desk is charming and spoke good english. Besides her it was not a good experience. They had the AC off for a visit in late sept so we had to open the windows. Many other guests have written about the location in a hidden dark alley. This alley has mosquitos at night and our room happened to be above a bar. It was loud and we woke up covered in bites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently spent two very comfortable nights at the San Salvador annex. I did have trouble finding the main hotel and was pretty frustrated by the time I arrived but the friendly reception from the gal at the desk won me over. She then grabbed my bag and lead me to the annex one street over. My room was large, charmingly decorated and very clean. Since this 'street' ends in the canal it is not a throughway and is very quiet. The only downside was the construction work going on right outside my window. This was only a factor on the morning I left as they did not work on the weekends but if I were staying during the week the noise would have been a problem. The location right off the Rialto Bridge is very central and though its a touristy shopping area its also really easy to walk almost anywhere. For Venice the price was pretty good but would be a better value if they were able to include breakfast. Still for a clean, secure, spacious and charming room with super friendly service it can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Despite having directions from both the hotel web site and the booking site, it took us at least an hour to find it. And when we did....ouch! It's down what can only be described as a small, dark alleyway and up a steep flight of stairs. The room was the size of a decent closet with no safe. Night attendant does not speak English. Daytime female attendant speaks excellent English and is extremely vivacious and helpful. The wi-fy that the hotel advertises as being in the "business center" is in a non -descript building at some distance from the hotel--a building that I frankly would not set foot in. We are not in any way hyper critical or difficult to satisfy. We've traveled all 7 continents and have been in 43 countries, but this is one hotel we won't soon forget....unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank winshoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The highlight of our stay here was the staff. They are incredibly hospitable, friendly and helpful. If you have ANY questions about where/what/how they will help you.
At first, we found it hard to find, but if you come over the Rialto bridge and take a sharp right at the Disney Store down the alley. If you get to a restaurant, you've gone too far. We had this problem in general Venice, it's a tricky place to navigate.
Location is in the heart of San Marco, like I said, just off the Rialto. We found it to be too touristy for our liking and spoke to people who had found hidden treasures on the outskirts of Venice.
The rooms are a little dated, and the showers small, but absolutely fine for you to rest your head at night. There is no restaurant in this hotel which didn't bother us, but others may want a breakfast option. There is a mini-bar available in the rooms which was resonably priced.
In the adjacent alley, there is a great restaurant and pub - 'Mambos' and 'The Devil's Forest' if you don't fancy venturing far.
A small hinderance that you could experience is being locked out of the hotel during the day. There is only one member of staff manning the desk at a time and sometimes, they will have to pop across to the sister hotel. Therefore, there is nobody to let you into the building as you hand keys in at the reception upon leaving.
Overall, a friendly place to rest your head after a chaotic day sight seeing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a lovely hotel. The sisters who run this little hotel were so polite and friendly. They took the time to chat and inform you of the best sites and places to visit. The hotel is literally 70 metres from the Rialto bridge. Due to its location there is not a lot of public walking past one side so it's fairly quiet, however on the other side is a bar and restaurants, however the room we stayed in had perfect sound proof windows. The room was extremely clean, and it was cleaned every day. The bath room was small but more than adequate. I must point out that all hotels in venice provide cotton type sheet like towels, so I took my own travel towel.

The decor was lovely and it was a great choice for the price and location. Although,breakfast isn't served there are plenty of cafes etc nearby that cater for this.

Over all it was fantastic and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Should you see any bad reviews on here, it maybe because the reviewer is either too picky or has unusually high expectations!
It can not be faulted!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliboulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#158 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Salvador

Property: Hotel San Salvador
Address: Calle Galeazza Sestiere San Marco 5264, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#62 Family Hotel in Venice
#117 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Salvador 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Salvador is a small 2 stars hotel, located in the tiny alley called Calle Galeazza in San Marco District, 1 minute by foot from the Rialto Bridge. All rooms are quite small, No smoking, basic or standard, nicely decorated. San Marco Square is 5/10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Salvador Hotel
San Salvador Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing