We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Venice B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Corte 1321

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corte 1321
Ranked #46 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Venice B&B!”
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Last fall we stayed in an incredible B&B in Venice, called Corte 1321. After several earlier visits to Venice over the years, we finally found the perfect place for us to stay. It is just over the Rialto Bridge in the real Venice, very close to the San Silvestre stop on the Grand Canal. Corte 1321 has, I think, only 4 rooms, but they are really large and beautiful, unlike anything we have seen there. Somehow they have mixed modern and traditional, with touches of of the eastern with western, giving us a feeling of easy luxury, without any pretension or faux. Corte 1321 is part of an old Moorish pallazzo, where we entered an amazing courtyard (you have to see the photos!) and up one flight to our room. I found myself just standing by our windows at different times of the day or night, gazing down on the brick and tiles of the courtyard,
Most mornings we sat in the lush and fascinating courtyard to eat our great fresh breakfast and were often able chat with one of the owners, an American mother and daughter. This was also a great advantage That we did not have on our other visits. Amelia, the daughter, has been there for years and gave us many suggestions for walking routes in areas we had never seen in the real neighborhoods. She also set us up with a "secret" tour of the Doges Palace that included many fascinating rooms, including Casanova's cell.
We considered this place a great find - loved being off of the beaten path, but close to everything and, frankly, hope that it keeps its reasonable prices and availability - because we will
come back again for sure!

  • Liked — location, beautiful comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — It was all good!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jraySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    48
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
110
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2007

My wife and I had been to Venice before but this was our first stay in this B&B. The setting is lovely; off the beaten track but not hard to find. At night it was very quiet, despite the proximity to the hubbub of Venice.

Room was clean, well laid out and thoughtfully decorated. The experience is all the better for being uncomplicated. Breakfast was served in our room (I gather it can be served in the courtyard at warmer times of the year) and was made up of locally sourced fresh produce. The owner provided maps and access to a library of materials to plan your stay. The bed was very comfortable and all the fittings worked.

The owners are very accommodating and allowed us to leave our bags on the last day whilst we wandered some more around Venice. Upon our return we found a gift of a bottle of olive oil; most thoughtful.

Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank stamourp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2007

Having stayed at Corte 1321 recently (last holiday season) I have to say that my stay was wonderful and I certainly disagree with MJSalerno of Pasadena, and agree with the rest of the reviews on this site.

The b&b is located in a 15th century palazzo, which means that, like the rest of Venice, is wears a patina of hundreds of years, the ubiquitous peeling plaster and exposed brick that is characteristic of the city. This should not be confused with slumminess; this is Venice, old and weathered and filled with amazing character and detail.

For example, outside the b&b, near the entrance, is a small shrine to the virgin, the kind that you see all around the city. This one is immaculately kept; we happened on a Saturday afternoon to see the old man who takes care of it voluntarily. He is a pensioner and has several pet projects in the area that he "superintends". His pride and sense of ownership are characteristic and touching.

What makes Corte 1321 both charming and unique is the glimpse it gives into the interior life of "real" Venice. The courtyard was the center of a bygone way of life, the "pozzo" -- or well -- was the water source. The ground level of these palazzi were always filled with storage rooms (maggazini) and workshops. There is a workshop today, but it does not "surround" the courtyard, it runs along one side, shaded by trees and shrubs.

Corte 1321 is surrounded by real life Venetians with children and dogs and lives. I find that much more interesting than the generic, often cramped and prohibitively-expensive hotels which are the same almost everywhere. Usually people who stay at b&bs are looking for a closer connection to the real life of the place. One of the things most people seek when they come to Venice is an "authentic" experience. Corte 1321 certainly provides that.

And, in addition, the bathrooms are modern, immaculate, roomy, the rooms are beautiful, spacious, and tastefully decorated. This is the sort of place I hope to find in each of my travel destinations: unique, steeped in tradition, and modern in its amenities.

  • Liked — location, amenities
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lorenzo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

For at least a year the thumper rule applied... nothing good to say, ect... But, the truth is, even though there were moments when the proprietors tried to be good at thier job, the negatives far out weigh the positives.

Except for the very sad story that this mother and daughter explain led to open them opening this B&B, I would have written earlier. But, for the sake of my fellow TripAdvisor community members I have to report my stay harshly.

First the good:

#1 The rooms are fantastic, sleek, stylish, obviously designed by someone with talent... just look at the pictures.

#2 Cheap

Now the bad:
Honestly, the positive reviews of Corte 1321 are a mystery to me. An exhaustive list of the negatives would take some time; instead here are three greatest hits.

#1 The INCREDIBLY loud teenage neighbor girls that sit and laugh and argue in their windows until late late into the morning... and I mean RIGHT outside of the guest windows. (I mean like reach out and touch them close)... and what's with the, "kill the tourists" graffitti (in Italian of course) right outside the entrance?

#2 The workshop that surrounds the courtyard is LOUD.

#3 The general dirtiness and unkept-ness of the courtyard. This is not a property where the owners are constantly working to make improvements... it’s not a property where people are constantly working at all. All in all, except when the in ones room, everything about the area and the building screams slummy. Lots of flowers, lots of paint, and lots of constant attention would help… a lot.

But as it was when we were there, this is a very part-time venture for the owners.

I'm sorry to be so brutal... this was difficult to submit, but this place was a h-u-g-e dissappointment.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

This was GREAT!!! Amelia (owner) is fabulous......and her mom is a sweetheart. BTW-they speak perfect English! My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying 2 nights in the yellow room (biggest-I think). It was extremely spacious- especially the bathroom. The bed was very, very comfortable. The pics are right on the money. There is no deception here. One of the perks of Corte 1321 is the outdoor patio. This is where breakfast is served. At night time, the setting is very romantic. We had a bottle of wine one evening and it was perfect.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We look forward to returning to Venice and we couldn't picture staying anywhere else but Corte1321.

BTW- this was our last stop of a 2wk (10days in Italy). As for Venice, it's the perfect place to end your vacation.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank CaribeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

The B&B is found off a small street and behind several doors. Instructions for getting there are clear and accurate but still challenging with Venice's nooks and alleys when going there the first time. The room was tastefully decorated, comfortable, and modernized. The owner was extremely helpful and attentive. Breakfast was great. If you like big hotels on the canals then don't come here, but if you like a little getaway near to everything but hidden away then this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BruininEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We just returned from a two week trip in Italy and we stayed in the Corte 1321. It was wonderful - Amelia was great and she helped us with dinner reservations, and she let us keeps are bags there after we checked out. The courtyard is beautiful and the location is perfect. The pizzeria down the street is great - we ate there twice. When I return to Venice I will definately stay at Corte 1321!

  • Liked — Clean, nice people, great location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayamesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
B&B Rialto Dream
B&B Rialto Dream
#87 of 468 in Venice
30 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Angeli
Ca' Angeli
#11 of 468 in Venice
797 reviews
Santa Croce
Palazzo Odoni
Palazzo Odoni
#13 of 468 in Venice
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#45 of 468 in Venice
244 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#19 of 468 in Venice
575 reviews
San Polo
B&B Rialto
B&B Rialto
#179 of 468 in Venice
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte 1321? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte 1321

Property: Corte 1321
Address: Campiello Ca Bernardo | San Polo 1321, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly Ca'Bernardi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of the charming boutique hotels in Venice, Corte 1321 Bed & Breakfast stands out for the elegant but relaxed atmosphere that permeates common and guest rooms, gathered around an enchanting private courtyard. Each room is embellished with original furnishings and enhanced by rich warm colors. Our guests can choose from the selection of rooms that best fit their style. You will be welcomed into our space by a charming private courtyard filled with green plants and dotted with colored flowers. An ancient water well and original stone pavement provide an old world feel. Table and chairs invite travellers to sit down and relax in the inner sanctum of our 15th century Venetian paradise. When weather permits, we serve a lovely continental breakfast outside with fresh fruits, breads, yogurt, cereal, cakes or pastries along with freshly brewed coffee/tea. In the colder weather, we serve this fine breakfast in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corte 1321 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte 1321 Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing