We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our favourite memory from our days in Venice during our honeymoon was enjoying the breakfast prepared by the friendly staff at this hotel....sitting by the canal and sipping our cappuccino. Our room was small and simple, but it was decorated in authentic Venetian style. The hotel surprised us with a bottle of wine for our honeymoon - which we enjoyed on the rooftop terrace soaking in the romantic sunset. The location is close to the train station and away from the crowds. Thank you for the beautiful memories!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooshie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Ah, what to say about the Hotel Cà Dogaressa that hasn't already been said.

Well I won't bore you but needless to say this is a superb hotel in a fantastic location.

We bagged a fantastic rate having booked a last minute stay for one night. We were given the ground floor room which sadly didn't have any view to speak of but was appointed to an excellent standard.

For the first time in Italy we had a bath tub in a 3 star hotel. Almost unheard of but gratefully received!

The room was tastefully decorated in a classic Venetian style. It was generously sized with a comfy armchair to relax in.

As other reviewers have pointed out the bed is on the hard side. However, after a long day exploring the sights of Venice I had no trouble sleeping.

Wifi is free and fast, a minibar can be found in the room and international TV is on offer.

The rooftop terrace is a great, relaxing place to unwind and take in the views of the canal.

In the morning we were shown outside where tables and chairs had been laid out for breakfast alongside the canal. What a great way to start your day in Venice.

Before we left for a late night flight we were offered the opportunity to use a bathroom at the hotel in order to change and freshen up. We were even treated to a little peach Bellini. Very refreshing.

The hotel owner was friendly and very helpful. You can tell that the staff have a real affection for their guests and truly make them welcome. I would highly recommend this delightful hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank wowzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I should start by saying we got a half price deal but irrespective of this, this is a great hotel. Location is fine as long as you don't mind a little walk to the sights. Staff are friendly. Rooms are well presented and clean and actually generous in size. I think the place has recently been done up. The roof terrace affords a lovely view and if the weather is good, a great break from the crowds. I would highly recommend this hotel at full or half price!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew_Blackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked this hotel for the great reviews it received. The walk from train station is easy and although it is off the tourist path it is close to a boat stop that can take you anywhere in 15-20 mins. Boat service to Marco polo airport is also there which is great. The room is nicely decorated and spacious bathroom. Breakfast by the canal is just so romantic. Staff very helpful and nice. They even called a restuarant to let them know we're going there. The bed is a bit hard but that depend on peoples preference as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charbboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at the Hotel Ca' Dogaressa in late April. Our room (#8) was located in the back of the hotel up two flights of stairs. There's no elevator. We couldn't tell the difference, but our friendly, accommodating, well-informed and English-speaking desk clerk advised us that we'd been upgraded from a Double Classic to a Double Superior room. From what we understand, by Venetian standards, our room was quite spacious. As advertized, it was decorated with "Venetian Period" furniture, heavy fabric curtains, with marble flooring and walls in the bath. The ceiling, which mimicked the slope of the roof, was made of wooden plank boards and beams from which hung an elegant chandelier. Overall, it was very tasteful and functional.

The one thing that European hotels are notoriously lacking is adequate closet space. We had one tall cabinet to share, and part of the space was taken up by the room safe. By stacking our fresh clothes, and leaving our laundry in suitcases, there was no problem at all.

As some reviewers have noted, the bed was a bit on the hard side, but, from our perspective, that's much preferred to it being too soft. At night we let in fresh air through the big windows, the only drawback being the little biting bugs that flew in. We didn't enjoy a canal view, but the tradeoff was that our room was very quiet.

Staff was most accommodating, prepared to answer questions and provide directions. They even set up a table out front so we could enjoy a bottle of wine while watching traffic on the Canareggio Canal.

Breakfast was fairly minimal -- bread, cheese, cereal, yogurt...but no meats. We were perfectly satisfied with that, however.

By the way, if you arrive by rail (or even by cruise ship) there's no reason to take a water bus or water taxi. You can walk. If you do decide to take the water bus, and plan to move about the city during the day, purchase a full-day pass and save lots of money. The pass is also good for travel to Murano and Burano and other lagoon islands.

Overall, if you're looking for a clean, tidy, reasonably priced hotel that is in the city but away from the touristy venues, the Ca' Dogaressa represents an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back, with no canal view, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEEVEKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived from a three days trip to Verona - Venice. After a huge research for Venice hotels I have decided to trust trip advisor and to book in Ca dogaressa website. And I am not dissapointed at all. Fair people, professionals, hotel is value for money. Area is excellent with great restaurants for the locals. Don't even think about it.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Vkonst29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place is on a major side canal so it doesn't have the noise of the grand canal but it does have great breezes from the Canareggio Canal. Breakfast can be inside or outside, your choice and the outside is very peaceful and non-touristy. It is a bit of a hike to St. Mark's Sq but that way you do get to really see Venice. It is very convenient to the airport as the water bus boat goes right to the Guglie stop which is a almost in front of the hotel. The people who run it are extremely nice. We arrived early and they really worked on getting us into the room before the official time. The bathroom was large and spotless. The only negative really is that the bed was very hard. We were in Room #6. We opened the window at night in early May and it was very nice and quiet and breezy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,021 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,444 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $68 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing