We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #90 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and a great location”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Ca Dogaressa for 6nights. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and they made me feel welcome and comfortable. My room was clean and had everything that I needed. I looked forward to breakfast everyday not only for the wonderful coffee and croissants but also for the friendly smiles and 'buongiorno'. When the weather was sunny, breakfast by the canal was a wonderful experience, just watching Venice wake up.

I will definitely stay at Ca Dogaressa when I return to Venice one day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    256
    48
    13
    9
See reviews for
182
693
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A very easy and quick walk with your luggage (over only one bridge where you ail have to do is carry over the top part of it), then down a broad canal sidewalk right to the hotel. The entire walk is amass with grocers, clothing stores, meat & fish markets, variety stores, restaurants, souvenir shops,etc. This is the old and now new jewish quarter with some kosher places and behind the hotel the usual labyrinth of alleyways leading to everywhere. The rooms are adequate in size, bathrooms with tub showers, TV with CNN and beautiful traditional Venetian decor. Hand painted, guilded furniture, murano glass light fixtures, baroque patterned padded fabric walls, the
attention to detail is quite impresseive and a nice roof terrace as well to watch the activity belo on the sidewalk and broad canal, always busy with commerce & very nearby stations for the various canal boat-buses.. Breakfast, when weather permits, is served on the sidewalk right in front of the hotel, abutting the canal or in a
cozy breakfast room. Breakfast is not buffet but brought to you by very attentive staff with adequate selection. All front desk personnel are very friendly, helpful and genuinely concerned with your satisfaction. No elevator, so those with mobility issues should note the circular, carpeted staircase. All these fantastic attributes and a decent price to boot. In mid October I paid 150euro for a single with a 6% discount for paying cash, a fine price for the great rewards of this hotel in this mesmerizing city. Oh, and quiet too at night. Would return in a heat beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank convert94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for 3 nights in Venice this this hotel. You may get lost exploring Venice but definitely not while finding this hotel! I was expecting it to be difficult to find due to the maze that the streets of Venice create. The directions provided from the hotel were easily followed and we arrived in minutes. Was glad we walked rather then taking a water taxi which would have been an unnecessary expense! We had the junior suite and it was very large and beautifully decorated! Our widows faced the canal and the view was wonderful. We ate breakfast each morning at the tables set up outside although there was an indoor doing room. Who wants to do that when you can enjoy watching Venetians going about their daily life! There were three restaurants recommended to us and we got to eat at two of them and they were excellent! Reasonably priced with friendly service and delicious food! We loved being away from the crowds at night for restful, quiet evenings! Getting to the airport the morning we left was a breeze as well because there was a waterbus stop to the airport just up from our hotel. We had to leave before breakfast was set up but were offered whatever was available to take with us. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and stay here again myself given the opportunity!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scwmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is situated in a family neighborhood not far from the train station. Convenient but nicely out of the tourist mainstream. We loved walking in the neighborhood, seeing the families and little food shops, getting a sense of the non-tourist Venice. They include a lovely breakfast by the canal, the owner and staff were friendly and accommodating, the hotel is clean and attractive. Not a big fancy place, but our room was spacious and Venetian, and the bathroom beautifully refurbished and roomy. There is no elevator, but the staff helped us with our bags. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, and was quiet. Don't know what the annex rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a great hotel! My parents, my sister and I stayed here for just one night on September. The staff was always willing to help you from the very begining. We arrived very early in the morning after a very long trip by train. The manager let us take a shower and leave our luggage while the room was being ready. Breakfast consisted of croisants, juices, yogurts and coffee (capuccino, latte, expresso, americano) and the best part of it was that it was served right next to the canal.
Our room was a cuadruple room and it was just PERFECT! It was very spacious, clean and it had everything you need. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and a shower that had a shower massage panel which we really enjoyed after walking around Venice all day or going to the Burano and Murano Islands.
Overall, this hotel met all our expectations and went beyond that. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janagdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was a nice surprise. Like other reviewers mentioned, it is in a quiet neighborhood and after negotiating the crowds on the vaporetto and other places, it was a nice to return to back to the hotel. I stayed in a room in the annex and found it to be very comfortable. It was nicely decorated and even though there was not a full shower in the bathroom, it was not inconvienent to wipe down the water when done. Paolo and his staff were very pleasant ans made sure everything was just right. Being close to the train station was a plus. You can take a vaporetto from Piazza deRoma to a stop about a block away from the hotel. The cobblestones make it hard to to manuever your luggage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8tadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in a junior suite - our room was enormous and had 2 bathrooms. The location is perfect, right on the canal and the neighbourhood was so much more pleasant than some of the more central, tourist areas. We had a number of good bars and restaurants close by but also great little delis and the opportunity to watch ordinary Venetians go about there lives. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was adequate (some fresh fruit would have been nice) and very enjoyable eaten canal side. I would recommend this hotel to families (there is a park less than 10 mins walk away, a rare thing in Venice) and couples looking for a a more authentic Venetian experience in an upcoming area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#88 of 385 in Venice
979 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#56 of 385 in Venice
816 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#76 of 385 in Venice
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#86 of 385 in Venice
414 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#43 of 385 in Venice
200 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#160 of 385 in Venice
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Property: Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing