We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious, Immaculate, Convenient ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #78 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The superlative adjectives could continue. We feel so blessed to have found Ca' Dogaressa on Tripadvisor, and are pleased to echo the glowing reports. Paulo and Danielli were more than helpful, it seemed they anticipated our needs simply by looking at us!
Why stay anywhere else in Venice? Cannaregio looks on the map like "far north Venice", but the entire city is small and to experience the charm amongst the overwhelming reality that it is a place now more for visitors than traders, you must spend time a bit away from the RRstation-Rialto-San Marco axis, and this a great choice to do just that!
Our room became a welcome home for a much too short three days, especially memorable as unseasonable high tides meant wading home barefoot two nights through 10" of water to the comfort of a clean room and soak in the tub!
The breakfast was European, what else?... When in Venice, do as they do.
We expeessed concern about getting back from a concert in the flooding tide, and Danielli proved to be the perfect concierge, calling the sponsor and arranging an exchange to a better concert at a closer venue!
Paulo pointed out not only the nearby restaurant of choice, but also those to avoid.
As others have said, the vaparetto is close, which is great both for getting to sites and catching tha Alilaguna to the airport, but don't pass up the opportunity to walk around Cannareio more tha to the closest stop.

Thank Hollyrik
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Overall this hotel was a good choice for us. We loved being in a quiet location yet on a large enough canal to watch the boat action. Our room was exactly as pictured and we loved the venetian details and modern bathroom. Only fault was the thin walls, such that you can hear every word at conversation level.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Ca Dogaressa is a beautiful little boutique hotel in the old Jewish Ghetto in Venice. We had a first floor suite overlooking the canal. Wonderfully comfortable room. The owner Paolo is a hands on pro, this is a very well run property. Free continental breakfast went far beyond the norm, served canal side every morning by smiling staff. This was a 4 or 5 star value at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Take a first or second floor suite, it's worth every penny for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just 10 minutes walk away from the Venice train station. This hotel, owned by Paolo and his family is the perfect for an affordable and decent stay in Venice. My sister and I shared a beautiful room on the ground floor next to the Reception (No noise came through), which was very lavish, with very traditional royal like decor. The bathroom had all the essentials with a shower and bath. The morning breakfast consisted of fresh juice, tea/hot chocolates, croissants and bread, which we enjoyed daily in the morning near the canal in front of the hotel. Helpful, english speaking staff and well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Butterfly_ACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just had one night to spend in Venice during our visit in March this year.. and we couldn't have chosen a better place. Absolute value for money, lavish rooms and great location. Perfect combination.

The place is just 10 mins walk from the venice railway station and pretty easy to locate as well. We reached an hour before the checkin time and they were happy to keep our luggage while we had a feel around the place..

The hotel is on one of the smaller canals.. but there is sufficient activity all around including a lovely little coffee shop right below.. great setting. The rooms were immaculately clean and well maintained with an antique look. We had a problem with the bathub not draining quickly, but we were there only for a night so that dint bother us much.

The place also has breakfast.. (basic), but if you want to explore there are a lot of places around where you can have breakfast. There is a water taxi stop just 2-3 mins from the hotel, in case you want to reach the airport or other places on water.

We got one of the best rooms in terms of view and would definitely come back to this place whenever we visit venice again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnupG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm giving this score to CaDogaressa hotel because of its cleanliness and good location. It is a little expensive but taking in count the price of everything in Venice, the price of this quality couldn't be less. We stayed in the main building and for my wife the rooms were really lovely.

The best part of our stay was the breakfast in front of the hotel... Beautiful!

Unfortunately, this is my second time in Venice and I don't think I'll be there again... All what you want to see is possible in 3days there, and that city is ridiculous expensive.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ca' Dogaressa on our first trip to Venice this past January. The hotel gave us excellent directions from the train station when we booked the room directly with them and we had no trouble finding the hotel at night. It was an easy 10 min. walk from the train station and I felt safe walking at night in the area, which is along a quiet canal.
The staff spoke English and was very helpful. We stayed on the second floor and although the room was small it was spotlessly clean with a double bed. The room decor kept with the ornate Venice theme, but was nicely done in sea greens, white and gold. The bathroom was sparkling clean and looked to be freshly upgraded. Although outside it was a bit chilly in Jan. the room temperature was very comfortable.
The staff was very helpful and told us where to buy tickets for the water bus. The #1 water bus station is only a 10 min. walk from the hotel. One morning we wanted to leave early, prior to the time breakfast was served, and they were kind enough to offer us an early breakfast, they even brought us cappuccinos before we went out on a chilly morning. The breakfast was basic but good, the croissants were delicious and orange juice refreshing.
On the morning we were checking out they offered to store our luggage for the day so we could enjoy site seeing without having to carry luggage about all day. Very thoughtful.
We certainly enjoyed our stay at Ca' Dogaressa and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. We would also recommend this hotel to friends and family who would like to stay close to the heart of Venice at a clean, affordable hotel with excellent service.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#92 of 387 in Venice
1,034 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#91 of 387 in Venice
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 387 in Venice
464 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#53 of 387 in Venice
2,341 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $69 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing