We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #56 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked this at the last minute due to the cheap price and rave reviews. It only takes about 10 minutes to walk to the hotel from the train station, which was handy. The man who checked us in was so friendly, he carried our suitcases up the stairs, gave us advice and information on the Carnivale, and, realising we were late risers, offered to give us a wake up call when we checked out. The hotel itself is beautiful, clean and very secure. It is also close to everything, which was great since you have to walk everywhere in Venice. Best hotel I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    236
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
171
638
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time in Venice, Italy and found this hotel exceed my expectation. Location was very easy to find (very close to waterbus Guglie stop). The receptionist was very helpful, friendly and even upgraded our room. Breakfast was very pleasant (nice croissant with variety of yoghurts, tea selections and cereals) for a small hotel. No problem with sleeping as the room was clean. Will definitely stay in this hotel again for future visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Majuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel covers all the bases of convenience, charm, value and comfort. We booked late for a short off-season visit, and I was honestly shocked at the low rates (I was looking at nearby hotels that cost up to twice as much), and wasn't expecting it to be anything like the pictures. We certainly didn't get the fanciest room in the house, but we did get damask walls, a chandelier and lovely antique furniture, along with all the necessary mod-cons, and all impeccably clean, if not the newest. The continental breakfast had a lot of choices, and it was lovely to have the option of breakfast in bed for no extra charge. The location is away from some of the bustle, but you're still on a canal and a reasonable walk away from the action, and the proximity to the train station and the vaporetto is a huge plus. The bar next door is pretty nice too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakistan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One word...excellent.
This hotel in venice was such a great treat. we were coming froma small hotel from paris and though the price of this one was way lesser than teh one in paris, the hotel was absoultely beautiful.
the room, green room was beautiful and so royal in evryway. Even teh bathrooms wer e great and cleana dn the rooms were really spacious. The staff was courtesous except of one guy.
the hotel has teh ebst location with not too many tourists around and still very well closed to teh trains tation as well as saint marks square.

loved it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taniaimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked for 3 nights based on Trip Advisor reviews. This little boutique hotel was a wonderful surprise. We paid a little extra and booked the junior suite on the canal as we had never been to Venice before and wanted the full experience. Our room was spacious, well appointed with supplies and very clean. Decor was very Venetian and just added to the charm. With the wall of windows open you can hear the boats and noises of the people going about their daily lives. Shut the soundproof windows and there is peace and quiet. This area of Venice is definitely more local and we appreciated being able to experience the reality of Venice daily life as boats and people came and went with their supplies - all by water. The day staff was pleasant and gave us good instructions for traveling the water. I was not as impressed with the evening person; not very pleasant and never made us feel very welcome. The continental breakfast got us off to a good start each morning - fresh croissants, cereal, juice, yogurt and coffee, made as you like it. No lift but there is assistance with your luggage which makes this little 3 story hotel very manageable. Many good restaurants are a very close walk. Be careful on the Main Street at the bridge - do your homework on Trip Advisor first as many have poor food, up charges you can't understand and service charges. The Hotel is a very close walk to the Guglie Vaporetta stop and if you purchase the daily tickets you can hop on and off anytime and anywhere you like. After taxis in Rome this was a bargain! Understanding the Vaporetta system seemed intimidating but once we got past that and realized it really is only the same few boats going and coming we were fine. We arrived by train and planned to walk to the hotel but the streets made pulling luggage a little difficult so we employed a nice porter outside the train station for 20 euros and he took us right to the door of the hotel - best money we spent on the trip. For 15 euro each we booked the Aliluguna boat, at the recommendation of our hotel staff, which took us straight to the dock of the airport. Note: I did hear them send a couple to the Annex Building as we were leaving so I would invest in a phone call or email to be sure you are booked in the main hotel. Overall I was happy with the Hotel accomodations, the continental breakfast and the location. I was not as impressed with the staff.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite #5 on the canal is spacious and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A great location hotel in Venice, booked initially as it had a high 4.8 rating on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint in terms of efficient booking, directions to the hotel and then directions to the main attractions.
The staffs were very friendly and although we stayed for only a two night weekend stay, we met 3 different receptionists. The hotel has the feeling of being an upmarket hostel, which is not intended to sound derogatory. Just a note that your stay will be comfortable but it’s not the main purpose of your trip.
The free breakfast was a nice touch as it set you up for a busy days sightseeing. Great value hotel and highly recommended for a great central location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at Ca'Dogaressa for 4 nights-room overlooked canal. Very clean & tidy. Staff very helpful - highly recommended. Breakfast was continental. Entrance is on the side. Located in a nice part of Venice.
Venice is without doubt the most expensive city in the world. Be careful of restaurants trying to rip you off with their 12.5% cover charge and added extras eg bread & water. Food was very disappointing and not the same standard or quality as in other parts of Italy.
Gondola rides currently 80 Euros but heard some charging 120 Euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 26Tezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#92 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#45 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
#38 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#97 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
#10 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,371 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#71 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Property: Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing