We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location to Train and Vaporetta - great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #65 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good location to Train and Vaporetta - great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked for 3 nights based on Trip Advisor reviews. This little boutique hotel was a wonderful surprise. We paid a little extra and booked the junior suite on the canal as we had never been to Venice before and wanted the full experience. Our room was spacious, well appointed with supplies and very clean. Decor was very Venetian and just added to the charm. With the wall of windows open you can hear the boats and noises of the people going about their daily lives. Shut the soundproof windows and there is peace and quiet. This area of Venice is definitely more local and we appreciated being able to experience the reality of Venice daily life as boats and people came and went with their supplies - all by water. The day staff was pleasant and gave us good instructions for traveling the water. I was not as impressed with the evening person; not very pleasant and never made us feel very welcome. The continental breakfast got us off to a good start each morning - fresh croissants, cereal, juice, yogurt and coffee, made as you like it. No lift but there is assistance with your luggage which makes this little 3 story hotel very manageable. Many good restaurants are a very close walk. Be careful on the Main Street at the bridge - do your homework on Trip Advisor first as many have poor food, up charges you can't understand and service charges. The Hotel is a very close walk to the Guglie Vaporetta stop and if you purchase the daily tickets you can hop on and off anytime and anywhere you like. After taxis in Rome this was a bargain! Understanding the Vaporetta system seemed intimidating but once we got past that and realized it really is only the same few boats going and coming we were fine. We arrived by train and planned to walk to the hotel but the streets made pulling luggage a little difficult so we employed a nice porter outside the train station for 20 euros and he took us right to the door of the hotel - best money we spent on the trip. For 15 euro each we booked the Aliluguna boat, at the recommendation of our hotel staff, which took us straight to the dock of the airport. Note: I did hear them send a couple to the Annex Building as we were leaving so I would invest in a phone call or email to be sure you are booked in the main hotel. Overall I was happy with the Hotel accomodations, the continental breakfast and the location. I was not as impressed with the staff.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite #5 on the canal is spacious and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    252
    46
    11
    8
See reviews for
180
677
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A great location hotel in Venice, booked initially as it had a high 4.8 rating on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint in terms of efficient booking, directions to the hotel and then directions to the main attractions.
The staffs were very friendly and although we stayed for only a two night weekend stay, we met 3 different receptionists. The hotel has the feeling of being an upmarket hostel, which is not intended to sound derogatory. Just a note that your stay will be comfortable but it’s not the main purpose of your trip.
The free breakfast was a nice touch as it set you up for a busy days sightseeing. Great value hotel and highly recommended for a great central location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at Ca'Dogaressa for 4 nights-room overlooked canal. Very clean & tidy. Staff very helpful - highly recommended. Breakfast was continental. Entrance is on the side. Located in a nice part of Venice.
Venice is without doubt the most expensive city in the world. Be careful of restaurants trying to rip you off with their 12.5% cover charge and added extras eg bread & water. Food was very disappointing and not the same standard or quality as in other parts of Italy.
Gondola rides currently 80 Euros but heard some charging 120 Euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 26Tezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Venice is an expensive city, so it was good to find this excellent hotel which doesn't break the bank. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and pleasant. The hotel is situated in a mainly residential area in the north of the city. It is very convenient for the train and bus stations. It is quite a long walk to St Mark's Square on the other side of the city, but I didn't mind that, as it gives you a much better idea of how the whole city operates. You can of course also travel easily by vaporetto, though that is quite expensive.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and was given one in a separate building from the main hotel, down the litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went for a two night break in feb 2012, with three family members in two rooms. Upon arrival, having booked two standard rooms, were pleasantly surprised when given free upgrade to superior rooms each with views over canal at front of hotel.
Rooms were very impressive, exceptionally clean and very well appointed. Lovely bathroom suites, fridge in room, safe in wardrobe, hair dryer etc.
Breakfast was continental and very nice.
Staff always friendly and keen to help in any way possible.
I would highly recommend staying here and would have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ca' Dogaressa for 2 nights in January. We arrived by train and walked to the hotel with our luggage. Once we arrived outside the hotel we were a bit worried/ concerned as the front windows were boarded up and started to panic a little bit. Upon further 'exploration' we realised the entrance was around the corner. Once we walked in we were warmly greeted and were shown to our room. The host assisted us in taking our luggage to the room which was greatly appreciated as there was no lift. The room was amazingly decorated and we really felt like we had gone back in time. We had booked a Junior Canal Suite room and would highly recommend it. The room was spacious and felt luxurious! We had breakfast delievered to our room on both mornings which was a typical Italian breakfast.

The location of the hotel for us was perfect. We caught the train to and from Venice and thought it would be a lot easier to walk to the hotel then navigate the different 'boats' with our luggage. It's on the other side of the island to Piazza San Marco but even then it is only a 30 minute walk and you get to explore the little alleyways on the way.

I loved Venice and believe staying at this hotel made it that little bit more special. I would definetly stay here again and would recommend to anyone looking for accomodation in Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Ca' Dogaressa. We booked a room, thinking it was part of the main hotel. However, when we arrived we were taken down the alley to another apartment-type building with two bedrooms and one bathroom (we were aware we'd be sharing a bathroom and this was fine by us, we didn't realise it was separate from the main hotel). Our first night's sleep was horrendous, due to the fact that the walls were paper-thin, you could hear every movement of the other bedroom AND bathroom, and unfortunately the couple staying in the other room were VERY noisy! The second night was much better as they had checked out! But hearing every movement in the bathroom is not particularly pleasant. We also felt short-changed as breakfast was not included (it would have been were we in the main hotel). It would have been nice to know this beforehand, as none of this was mentioned when booking. The staff were inconsistent - one man was lovely and very helpful, two other staff members were not particularly friendly or helpful. Having said all of that, we loved our stay in Venice and were very grateful to the hotel staff for letting us store our luggage on the final day after we'd checked out.

Room Tip: Don't book the 'shared bathroom rooms' - they are not part of the main hotel, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#90 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#52 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Property: Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing