We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a very conveniently situated hotel with charming and welcoming staff. Because there are very few rooms, it would be wise to book early, but we did manage to get a cancellation.
Breakfast in the summer is beside the water, in a wonderful environment. All you want to see is within easy reach, but the pressure of tourist numbers is absent and the nights are therefore extremely peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saintvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Grand and well furnished rooms in a convenient but quiet location. Easy to get to the airport and good base for exploring Venice. Breakfast served out the front by the canal makes this a lovely place to stay. Our room wasn't particularly big and didn't have a view, but was clean, tidy, well furnished and well air-conditioned. Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended as place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is about a 7 min walk from the main train station with only one bridge along the way. This was a great feature of the hotel, considering how much the water taxis cost. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was decorated nicely was very clean and comfortable. we loved our stay at the Hotel Ca' Dogaressa!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiCanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a standard room. Ground floor, just behind reception, but with a clever double-door, it was quiet inside. There was no view, and not much daylight in the room, but as others have said, we were in a base-rate room. We used the lack of view as motivation to go outside!

Room was quite spacious by 3-star standards, even had a tiny twin hide-a-bed that would work for a child/youth. It was nice to have the single sofa for sitting, more than I'd expect in a standard room really. The roof terrace was great, and WiFi worked up there (but not so well in the room).

We asked about adjusting the A/C and Paulo, the hotel owner, said 'of course, just understand Celsius' so we were relieved to have the temp to our liking. The bath was fine, though of four hotels this trip, this was the only one with the older sit-and-shower style. It worked well enough, and the tub is long enough that I, at 6'2", enjoyed an evening soak after a long day of touring. Didn't care for the very floral soaps.

Bedding was fairly typical narrow beds next to each other, we re-made them as twins to have a little more personal space - we're used to a king at home. I found the bed much too hard, my partner liked it. Ah well, that was true for most of our trip. Paulo promptly provided extra pillows on request (though only one was fluffy, the others more typical Italian hard pillows).

Breakfast on the canal was lovely. Huge glass of real OJ, frequent refills on the cafe Americano, with latte caldo in a little pitcher (or have a Cappuccino or espresso, your choice). Rolls and brioche were fine, and yogurt. We saw some kids having cereal, and we probably could have asked for more bread, but with the huge Italian dinners we'd been eating all trip, a smallish breakfast was fine.

The Canareggio neighborhood was wonderful. Very quiet and scenic, but also a neighborhood where locals actually live. We liked that. And a fairly easy walk from the train station on arrival. Excellent for getting to the airport is the 4.1 or 5.1 vaporetto to Piazzale Roma airport bus. Only 4 euro extra on the 24 hour or longer vaporetto passes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My sister in Australia raved about this cunningly concealed hotel. Lovely clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff; it's a family business with the personal touch. We are going on a cruise and have booked in for another couple of days when we return.

It's off the main tourist trail but especially well located with a walk to the train and bus or two stops on the waterbus. The waterbus stop at Guglie is about 100 metres and we used it from the airport too.

Thank Taurus25
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in a large room with a canal view for two nights. There were three of us sharing and for few nights it was enough as we only slept there. the room would be very good for a couple if you can afford it! Prices in Venice are crazy! The location is great. We loved being close to the main attractions and the train station. We did walk a lot and took water bus. it was quite and beautiful. Rooms are fresh and clean. Practically new bathrooms. Breakfast on the canal in front of the hotel is lovely. its very simple and could do with an addition of some fresh fruit, but otherwise enough. if you looking for main entrance, its to the side in the alley.Staff and owners are great and it is really a one big happy family. Will definately stay there again if back in Venice

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in August 2011 (not October). This hotel was really something special. (Maybe it's because we booked early and got an upgrade to a room overlooking the canal!) Spacious room with terrazzo floor including jade coloured flecks. Soft, textiled walls (yes mattress soft walls - I've never seen this before!). Dramatic Venetian style bed (clean linen and pillows) with classic Venetian glass lighting fixtures/chandeliers. Large room with a living area opposite the bed. Plenty of room to spread out and open both cases. About 3-4 windows overlooking canal. Very good bathroom (spaciaous, clean and modern). Quiet and comfortable room which you could darken easily. Free wifi. Location is excellent as it's slightly away from the hussle and bustle but still in the heart of Venice - easy to walk everywhere. Professional and friendly staff, Daniela was the manager's name. He went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed. He patiently helped us print tickets from an online ferry booking we made. Breakfast is ok but you eat beside the water which is a nice highlight in summer. This hotel has a marked Venetian atmosphere, including the decor, which is done tastefully and is not dated or musty at all. It's a small hotel with all the modern trimmings. Such a memorable and lovely place to stay. Excellent value for money. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the green colour themed room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,021 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,442 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $68 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing