We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tripadvisor contributors were right again, recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Ranked #55 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor contributors were right again, recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

It took me several hours to go through the opinions on some hotels in Venice. I decided to book "Ca' Dogaressa" in view of the many good comments that I read. I booked the best room available (#1, the Green Room, over the Cannaregio Canal) for €120 per night and I was very well impressed by the size of the room, its cleanliness and the beautiful views over the canal.
On the map it looks a bit out of the way, but I can assure you that is well connected, only 10' walk from the railway station and with the Guglie stop of the boat-bus just yards away.
The service is friendly and efficient. The TV in the room has English, French, Spanish, German and even Chinese channels. The WiFi is good (ask for an plug-adapter at the reception).
The only two things that I consider can be improved were: the lack of a screen in the bath-shower and that you can hear every step of the people occupying the upper room. Maybe a thick carpet may prevent the continuos "toc, toc, toc" of our neighbours heels and a simple clear screen may prevent the shower water splashing the floor and becoming hazardous.
The breakfast, although simple, was sufficient.
I did not look at the other rooms, but -definitely- my Green Room was worth the price I paid.
We had a king-size bed and a double sofa bed, so a couple and two children can easily sleep in this big room.
It has a mini-fridge in a cabinet and a safe-box in the wardrobe.
The bath-room has a hair-dryer, toiletries and plenty of towels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phayaoThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    239
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
172
644
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

It's so comfortable here I never want to leave, the staff are all friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and elegant and it's a joy to come back to after a long day out. Will be back for sure!

Stayed November 2011 with friends

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Another great find through Trip Advisor. This hotel is particularly handy if you arrive by train. It is about 10 minutes walk from the station, close to the canal transport stop and close to many restaurants. We spent a couple of very pleasurable days just wandering though the lane ways of Venice. The city is small enough that you will always find the main canal and you can just catch the water bus "home"
Our room was quite small, but perfect for two and great for the price. it was very clean and beautifully decorated - even a glass chandelier! The manager is very friendly and helpful, which certainly lends a homely feel. The free wifi worked well and the included breakfast was basic cereals, toast and croissants, with excellent coffee.
We were in two minds whether to include venice in our itinerary since we are not really art fiends and don't really like tourist traps, however we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Hello everyone,
This is a hot recommendation this excellent hotel. My wife and I have 4 nights in February 2012. Tastefully decorated rooms and old-fashioned. Timber staring at the ceiling, a chandelier hanging overhead. Maxim. Standard-sized room, big bed and a small cupboard, modern bathroom with shower, toilet, bidet and sink tasteful and modern and always clean. Each compound there is wireless internet access. Breakfast is served downstairs to choose whether or room on request. Hotel staff friendly and welcoming. Respond and help with any request. Although the hotel was selected under pressure of time but we enjoyed everything in it.

Room Tip: Rooms quite identical, the only difference is that there are rooms with canal view but are also more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We found this hidden gem through tripadvisor. The hotel front seemed a little daunting however it is great inside. The man on the desk was very accommodating making the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corporatetraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Very nice small hotel, few people. Good service (personal thanx to the manager, who is friendly and helpfuly) and very close to the city ​​center.I advise everybody to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobo_Bloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hidden motel was in a great location, it was particularly lovely to eat breakfast (included) by the canal. Unfortunately the walls are very thin and we were kept awake one night. It was very convenient that we were able to check out at 5am with no problems. It was a short walk to the train station and close to some lovely restaurants and boat stops.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonMarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#48 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Property: Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing