We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean & Quite, however not for Young Singles”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2006

We had arrived to Venice one suitecase short, as it was taken on the train; but that did not deter us from having an absolutely wonderful time in Venice.
Al Teatro is a great location, and once you figure out the streets in Venice, you are very close to the Hot Spots.
The staff were nice, but I wouldn't say they went out of their way to help us, especially with our luggage situation. They pointed us in the direction of St. Marks, and it was up to us to find the police.
Also, we were told we can come and go as we wish; however when we arrived late after dinner & drinks, we received the cold shoulder the remainder of our stay. I would say they are not used to accomodating young singles, and because of this we wouldn't stay there again. But with that said, if you are an older couple, more quiet than this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SaraGM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 850 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2006

Wonderful area, close to the vaporetto, which is great when you have cases, even though on wheels. Room with balcony was clean, comfortable and spacious and great looking over the small canal with the occasional gondolas. We went 1st week in September so wasn't sure about the "smell" of the canal....no problem. So now have visited Venice many times, different months, winter summer spring...all beautiful.... must visit again next year, hope to make it during February....and would definitely stay at this B&B..especially if Im on my own. oooops nearly forgot to mention the Breakfst-excellent, Valentina, Eleanora whole family very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank PattiMONKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

We are a family of 4 from Mauritius who stayed for 3 days in Al Teatro in July 2006. Do not hesitate to go there, the house is very nice and Eleonora and Valentina are such wonderful persons, very helpful. The place is clean, breakfast excellent and the situation ideal. We had the room with balcony facing a small canal, with lots of gondolas passing silently. We loved it and highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MaOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We join the legions of fans of the Al Teatro B & B. This small property (3 rooms) is personal, spotlessly clean, and perfectly located in a quiet spot across from the New Opera House that is still only minutes away from great shopping, restaurants, and St. Marco’s (Mark’s) square. The rooms themselves are extremely clean, cheerful, have nice natural light and comfortable beds. The air-conditioning units are fantastic, a big plus during a July which broke heat records. The bathrooms are modern, have great water pressure and space to spread out. We stayed in both the green and the amber rooms, each having their advantages.

As others have mentioned, this is Eleanora’s home, but I never felt uncomfortable or as if I were intruding. Eleanora is helpful and knowledgeable, a great resource about the nuances of Venice and Venetians. Al Teatro was always a comfortable and welcome respite at the end of what can be the chaotic energy of Venice. We only ran into other tenants at breakfast—which was the perfect way to start the day with a wonderful selection of cereal, fruit, cheeses, meats, bakery products, hot drinks to order and the company of other travelers. Additionally, Eleanora provides a cooler with extremely moderately-priced drinks and snacks, a perk we thoroughly enjoyed and used.

Al Teatro is easy to find once one has the lay of the land of Venice, but our arrival was a bit stressful in terms of figuring out how to park, catch the correct vaparetto (we did not), and negotiate the narrow streets of Venice, so we ended up calling for help once we arrived. Eleanora kindly sent Valentina after us, and in minutes we were at Al Teatro.

We highly recommend Al Teatro B & B. The price/value for the rooms is very high.

Here are a few pointers that might help a first-time traveler to Venice: Park in one of the main parking structures on the island if you can afford it (Rick Steves recommends parking off the island, but the small savings doesn’t seem worth the hassle to me), then walk across from the structure (we parked at Trancetto) and catch the vaparetto as Eleanora directs. Get familiar with the vaparetto maps, and don’t panic if you walk down streets and get lost, this is the fun and adventure of Venice. Around the next corner you’ll find your way. Be sure the vaparetto you board is going the entire way (we caught some that didn’t), and that it is going in the correct direction! Also, be sure to double-check the fare with any water taxi you board … Eleanora ordered one for us that was supposed to be 50 euros, but when we arrived at our destination the driver told us the “tariff” was 65 euros. At that point one has no choice but to pay.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Litlove39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We had a wonderful time and loved the room. (All the rooms are great but the balcony room is incredible!!!)

We would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here because of the room, the location and the great breakfast.

Peter & Laura
Canada

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

We arrived late at night with Eleonora waiting up for us thank god!

Her instructions were impeccable, very easy to locate by water bus.

The room was simply stunning, everything we had hoped for, the cleanliness and attention to detail was exceptional.

The breakfast was lovely, far more than these Kiwi stomachs could handle.

We spent two nights here but could have stayed forever!

The property is very quiet but very close to everything Venice has to offer.

Excellent value for money, especially in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Flaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2006

My family (2 adults and a teenager) stayed at this B&B for just one night. It is in an ideal location. We used it as a base and walked all over Venice. Overall we had a good experience. Here are the details:
Positives:
- Location
- Great price
- Free Internet
- Very good breakfast (fresh fruit, croissants, and sweet breads)
- Our room had a balcony which was nice; my husband compained that when the door was open you could smell boat fumes, but I enjoyed seeing the gondolas pass by and one gondolier was singing - that was really romantic (what I pictured Venice to be)
- Clean room/bathroom
- Kept our luggage well past check out

Negatives:
- Mixup with our reservation (athough it ended up not being a big deal); months after we reserved, the hosts e-mailed to say that they couldn't accomodate us; this was one week before our trip; we scrambled and found another B&B; then the hosts e-mailed us to tell us they made a mistake and they could accomodate us after all
- We didn't find the hosts to be particularly welcoming or friendly; they answered questions when asked and that's about it
- We've stayed at lots of B&Bs before, in this one you definitely feel like you're staying in someone else's home. Outside of your room, there is no common area. Example - we came down to the breakfast area at 8 (breakfast is at 8:30) to use the Internet, but were told that they needed the room to set up for breakfast
- B&B is located in what looks like a large appartment building; the first impression is not great; when you first walk into the building you see a dingy room with old furniture and you definitely smell the canal. That was alarming; however, we later figured out that the first floor is not occupied (it might flood too which would explain the smell).

Overall, I'd stay here again and would recommend it to others because of the location, clean room, and good price. My husband is not as sure though.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love2TravelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,914 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
1,998 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 387 in Venice
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residenza Corte Antica
Residenza Corte Antica
#1 of 479 in Venice
444 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#4 of 479 in Venice
190 reviews
Castello
Residenza de l'Osmarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing