We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We have very different opinions. Mine: gorgeous. Romantic. We had the canal directly below our window, and I loved listening to the gondoliers go by. I will excuse a lot in the name of charm, so I overlooked the incredible noise in the morning (garbage boats, perhaps?) and at night (you're essentially living with an Italian family). Eleonora and her husband were fun to talk to. There's a computer hookup in the breakfast area so you can check email. There is a beautiful fresco over the breakfast area, and the floors are 400 years old if my memory serves. It's a special place.

Here's my husband's thoughts: No tv in the room. There's wi-fi but we had to wait for Eleonora's huband to access it, and he wasn't home. There's a flat-panel TV but it's in the living area and was being used by the family. Lots of noise.

But as we all know, husbands can be wrong. It's a great value and a neat experience if you're open minded.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank roady76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 846 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2005

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and couldn't be more pleased. By Venetian standards, the room was massive, the bathroom even larger and the location COULD NOT BE BEAT. It was a 7 minute walk to St Mark's Square due west of the square in a very quiet area. Just a note for those that book a room here, the sign on the door is very tiny. You MUST download their map, take it very literally, and take it with you to find the place! It is the building right before you cross the bridge to the Theater. Squint to see the plaque.

The owners were very helpful and recommended dining options that were not touristy (dinner at L'Osteria de Santa Marina, for example, was superb, and there were mostly Italians eating there). The room was quite clean with a view onto a canal (see photo). The bathroom was very newly updated with shower and bath, and had substantial water pressure (sometimes a problem in Venice)l. Breakfast was an seemingly endless supply of croissants., fruit, cafe and the like. Eggs are extra, but for those that don't know, eggs are $7/dozen in Europe, so it's understandable. We would have liked to stay longer, but they were completely booked. Book early! Do not hesitate on this one.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bitsandpieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2005

i found "al Teatro Bed & Breakfast" just by chance, booking rooms for our trip to italy.. we went there and we had such a great time that now i consciusly recommend it!!!!... the owners are excellent hosts, the place in general is very cozy and extremely clean, and the room in particular (we had the amber room) had everything we needed, even gondoliers at morning singing o sole mio from the canal down our balcony, as we woke up and prepare for the healthy and abundant breakfast served by eleonora... around the B&B all is quiet, but just around the corner you can feel the vibration of beautiful Venice...

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank acarocid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2005

The Al Teatro Bed and Breakfast was the highlight of our three week trip to Italy - you could not ask for better accomodations in Venice: centrally located behind the Teatro La Fenice and close enough to main thoroughfares to both San Marco and the Rialto but located on a quiet charming street off the beaten path, bedrooms that overlook canal popular with gondoliers (the "Amber room" has a terrace so you can sit and listen to the gondoliers singing on days when you are too tired to go out), and the owners Eleonora and Fabio are extremely helpful and accomodating - they have great prices and a a helpful website: Bedandbreakfastalteatro - I highly, highly recommend Al Teatro!

7  Thank azar1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Canada
13
Reviewed August 17, 2005

Room: Very clean. Very quiet. Very well situated and a good ratio quality/price.
Hosts: Very nice.

We greatly recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2005

I stayed here in April with two friends and we loved it. Eleanora is very welcoming; she booked us tickets for the opera (just across the canal from Al Teatro), suggested restaurants and was very encouraging whenever I tried out my rather basic Italian. The room we had was large and spotlessly clean, with a great view overlooking the canal. Al Teatro is perfectly situated, just a few minutes from Piazzo San Marco.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Relton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed August 8, 2005

This was the high light of our three week holiday in Italy. B&B Al Teatro is run by delightful hosts Eleanora and Fabio. Our lovely bedroom overlooked three intersecting canals and allowed us to enjoy some excellent gondoliere singing. The room and adjoining bathroom were clean and sunny. We were two adults with two children ( 11 & 13 ) We ate breakfast under an authentic (400 year old ) painted ceiling fresco. Breakfast was excellent and included croissant, fresh fruit and excellent coffee. The location was quiet and yet close to Piazza San Marco. It was also very easy to reach from the nearby vaporetto stop "Gigli". We felt welcome in their home and got to know their three adorable children. Both Eleanora and Fabio went out of their way to help us locate ( and book for us ) reasonably priced trattorias for dinner. We felt integrated into a Venetian way of life. We regretted not staying longer with them and plan to return here again in the future. They really made our stay memorable!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,962 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residenza Corte Antica
Residenza Corte Antica
#1 of 476 in Venice
432 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#4 of 476 in Venice
174 reviews
Castello
Residenza de l'Osmarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing