We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Mignon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mignon
Ranked #131 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A short distance from the Ca D'Oro stop on the Grand Canal, Hotel Mignon is located in a quieter area of Venice. While there is a small square around the corner to the hotel, it is not nearly as busy as the main tourist areas of Venice. There is a small sign pointing you to the entrance to the Hotel Mignon, and the door is down a very cute narrow walkway. Our room overlooked the walkway between the two buildings, and had the double windows to look out, although it directly faced other rooms. Some rooms had small terraces outside, while most only had windows open up to the building in front, Which is to be expected when the buildings are so close together. Breakfast in the mornings was nice, offering tea and coffee, along with croissants and cereal and other small meats to nibble on. Overall my stay at Mignon was fantastic, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    155
    49
    12
    11
See reviews for
89
153
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Over the years I travel back and forth to Italy for work and pleasure. Often I will fly into Venice, and stay for a few days to recover from jetlag.

Hotel Mignon is an ideal location for me tucked away off the well worn tourist track, yet only minutes walk and blocks to swim back into that sea of people if that is what you so wish...

I return to this hotel each visit, for the location and familiarity. It now begins to feel like "Family'.

The staff of Hotel Mignon I hold in highest regard. They are polite, friendly, helpful and very professional. (For the exception of one staff member).

The rooms are clean but very small however, and expensive, as is Venice in general. (Obviously the price will fluctuate with the differing seasons.)

The breakfast is simple, but the aroma is enticing on waking and if the weather is fine there is also a delightful 'piccolo' outdoor courtyard to enjoy your breakfast and to savoir that first Italian coffee of the day. ;)

As the hotel is tucked away from the main traffic, generally there is always a good night sleep, only the charm of the chiming clock in the near by piazza can be heard.

For the most part my communications and dealings are with the very cool and hip 'Flavio', again very knowledgeable and professional,and is happy to find a solution to any problems or issues you may have.

Hungry? Want to go somewhere the locals go in Cannaregio? Just a couple of blocks around a few winding corners from Hotel Mignon (you know how it goes in Venice) you will find a restaurant called "La Veccia Cavana" Great food, great wine, friendly and attentive staff. I also return to this same restaurant every year, and they too feel like family. Still can't find it? Ask Flavio at reception for directions. :)

If you are arriving from the Marco Polo Airport, your best solution for your arrival will be to catch a shuttle from the airport (about Euro 5,00) to Piazzale Roma Venice (terminal for car and buses) than you can buy one way ticket for Euro 7,00 or a 7 day for Euro 30,00 that will be valid for all the lines of boats in the town. From Piazzale Roma catch boat no.1 get off at Ca'd'oro station. When you arrive at Ca d'oro walk to the end of the narrow calle, take a right and continue on the main street called Strada Nuova. After 100 meters you will arrive at Campo Santi Apostol . You can then call some one from the Motel (only a minute walk away) to take you directly to the Motel. Sweet and easy when you know how.

Words cannot describe the joy I feel when I walk along Calle dei Preti and see the sign above me that reads "Mignon Hotel -> " ... ahhh I am home.... 'Torno a Casa' :)

Buon viaggio...

Enjoy your stay! I always do! :)

Room Tip: Rooms are small and if you have heavy luggage the stairs are an arduous undertaking. However they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GypsyMountainDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is located about in the middle of the Grand Canal route, but off the main path a few blocks in a quieter part of Venice. It is a great launch point for exploring, with many restaurants and shops minutes away.

The room itself was clean, but claustrophobically small, even by Italy standards. It was also the most expensive hotel in our 5-city trip, yet the least impressive. The staff was fine, and the breakfast was OK, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend on valentines day for 2 nights. The hotel was small but was very clean and tidy. downfall was the smell. It was coming from the bathroom and was disgusting. But considering we where in venice we expected that. The heating in the room was broken. But i didn't complain.. The breakfast wasn't up to much at all. We didn't bother having anything and had breakfast out. Location was great not far from the main attractions. Would definitely visit venice again but would try a different hotel. Staff where friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilok, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed in the Mignon hotel in June 2012 for three nights. My first impression of the hotel was that it was quite small - like all hotels in that part of Venice, I suppose. The rooms are also small, but there was sufficient space to feel comfortable. The hotel staff was very kind and professional. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirageManF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

At first glance this hotel seems great. The reception staff were friendly, and the location within a short walk to the major attractions is admittedly very good. However, there is a long list of reasons why I would not recommend staying there. If you travel outside the hottest months of the year, the aircon will not be switched on even if you feel uncomfortable. You also will not be offered an electric fan in your room. Your only option is to open the window and risk the inevitable mosquito invasion! Obviously you don't go to Venice to watch tv, but it would be nice to be able to catch up on the news in the morning. Unless you speak Italian, don;t even bother turning the TV on as there is nothing for you to watch.

If you fancy a quick siesta in the late afternoon after a long day of sightseeing, forget about it. The church bells on the corner of the street chime every 15 minutes from 7am until 11am. Even after they stop chiming, be prepared to hear every sound that goes on in the hotel as the walls are paper thin. We could hear the man in the next room urinating! Not very pleasant! Even if the rooms were quiet, the beds and pillows are rock hard and very poor quality. All-in-all, an awful place to sleep. Breakfast was basic, with rock hard stale bread, but I suppose it filled a hole.

The worst part of our experience came after we sent an email to Booking.com to complain. The first reply from the hotel ignored the majority of our issues and merely said we should have complained at the time (which we did...only to be met by a shrug and a half-mumbled explanation). We emailed Booking.com again to say we weren't happy. The next reply from the hotel was nothing short of rude!

"Hotel Mignon would like to make it clear that all the points have been answered to your complete satisfaction. We understand that, from your point of view, your stay was far from your satisfactory, but there are not ours failures. No compensation will be paid out."

So, according to them we purposely didn't enjoy our stay, it was our fault we were hot, and our fault the beds were uncomfortable!

Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: Chose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Hotel Mignon in Venice last week, and loved everything about it.
My room was tiny, but I did not mind because it was absolutely clean, pretty, user-friendly, with everything I needed. The breakfast was generous and delicious, with plenty of choice such as: salamy, ham,mortadella, hard boiled eggs, various breads, cereal, yoghurt, teas, fantastic coffe, etc.
Quiet at night and church bells woke me up in the morning. Very lovely!
The staff in the reception area were outstanding: friendly but polite and professional.
Will stay there again, when in Venice.
Totally recommend it!

Room Tip: If you mind room size, see if they can give you a larger one. Quiet middle of building room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#134 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#159 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#100 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mignon

Property: Hotel Mignon
Address: SS. Apostoli, Cannaregio 4535, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mignon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Rialto Bridge, St. Mark's Square and Ca' d'Oro, Hotel Mignon is a small, charming 3 star hotel in the heart of the real Venice. Between Strada Nuova and Campo Santi Apostoli, ambiances and spaces modelled after 18th century Venice, 15 inviting rooms and amenities essential for top quality 3 star hotels, breakfast included and a professional, courteous staff, make Hotel Mignon one of the most popular hotels in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mignon Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing