We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was ok but wouldnt recommend.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mignon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mignon
Ranked #120 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel was ok but wouldnt recommend.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend on valentines day for 2 nights. The hotel was small but was very clean and tidy. downfall was the smell. It was coming from the bathroom and was disgusting. But considering we where in venice we expected that. The heating in the room was broken. But i didn't complain.. The breakfast wasn't up to much at all. We didn't bother having anything and had breakfast out. Location was great not far from the main attractions. Would definitely visit venice again but would try a different hotel. Staff where friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    153
    48
    12
    10
See reviews for
88
150
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilok, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed in the Mignon hotel in June 2012 for three nights. My first impression of the hotel was that it was quite small - like all hotels in that part of Venice, I suppose. The rooms are also small, but there was sufficient space to feel comfortable. The hotel staff was very kind and professional. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirageManF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

At first glance this hotel seems great. The reception staff were friendly, and the location within a short walk to the major attractions is admittedly very good. However, there is a long list of reasons why I would not recommend staying there. If you travel outside the hottest months of the year, the aircon will not be switched on even if you feel uncomfortable. You also will not be offered an electric fan in your room. Your only option is to open the window and risk the inevitable mosquito invasion! Obviously you don't go to Venice to watch tv, but it would be nice to be able to catch up on the news in the morning. Unless you speak Italian, don;t even bother turning the TV on as there is nothing for you to watch.

If you fancy a quick siesta in the late afternoon after a long day of sightseeing, forget about it. The church bells on the corner of the street chime every 15 minutes from 7am until 11am. Even after they stop chiming, be prepared to hear every sound that goes on in the hotel as the walls are paper thin. We could hear the man in the next room urinating! Not very pleasant! Even if the rooms were quiet, the beds and pillows are rock hard and very poor quality. All-in-all, an awful place to sleep. Breakfast was basic, with rock hard stale bread, but I suppose it filled a hole.

The worst part of our experience came after we sent an email to Booking.com to complain. The first reply from the hotel ignored the majority of our issues and merely said we should have complained at the time (which we did...only to be met by a shrug and a half-mumbled explanation). We emailed Booking.com again to say we weren't happy. The next reply from the hotel was nothing short of rude!

"Hotel Mignon would like to make it clear that all the points have been answered to your complete satisfaction. We understand that, from your point of view, your stay was far from your satisfactory, but there are not ours failures. No compensation will be paid out."

So, according to them we purposely didn't enjoy our stay, it was our fault we were hot, and our fault the beds were uncomfortable!

Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: Chose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Hotel Mignon in Venice last week, and loved everything about it.
My room was tiny, but I did not mind because it was absolutely clean, pretty, user-friendly, with everything I needed. The breakfast was generous and delicious, with plenty of choice such as: salamy, ham,mortadella, hard boiled eggs, various breads, cereal, yoghurt, teas, fantastic coffe, etc.
Quiet at night and church bells woke me up in the morning. Very lovely!
The staff in the reception area were outstanding: friendly but polite and professional.
Will stay there again, when in Venice.
Totally recommend it!

Room Tip: If you mind room size, see if they can give you a larger one. Quiet middle of building room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotels on Venice island are mostly old and not that big and not cheap and this hotel is no different. Our room was nothing special but it was clean and served its purpose. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was basic but adequate. The major plus for this hotel is the location - its away from the masses but in a great neighbourhood to wander and only 20 minute walk to St Marks. I would stay here again on a return to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Easy to find and close to all the main sights (but then venice isn't that big) a great place to explore from. Greeted by the duty manager who was really nice and spoke excellent English, we were given a map with the main sights circled and he quickly circled the church where Indiana jones was filmed when we mentioned visiting it. The room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was just what was needed with a good selection to fill us up until lunch. Would definitely stay here again, a big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here in January and found it welcoming, comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. My room was a good size and meticulously decorated to a very high standard: rich fabric wall-covering and co-ordinated furniture. The continental breakfast was also good. It's located down a narrow back street, within earshot of the bells of Santi Apostoli, and signposted from the piazza outside it. It'is less than five minutes walk to the Rialto bridge and markets, although the area immediatelty around the hoel is just as Picturesque.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#131 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#166 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#102 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mignon

Property: Hotel Mignon
Address: SS. Apostoli, Cannaregio 4535, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mignon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Rialto Bridge, St. Mark's Square and Ca' d'Oro, Hotel Mignon is a small, charming 3 star hotel in the heart of the real Venice. Between Strada Nuova and Campo Santi Apostoli, ambiances and spaces modelled after 18th century Venice, 15 inviting rooms and amenities essential for top quality 3 star hotels, breakfast included and a professional, courteous staff, make Hotel Mignon one of the most popular hotels in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mignon Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing