We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b & b”

Palazzo Duodo Gregolin
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Duodo Gregolin
Ranked #298 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great place to stay! More like staying in someone’s house than a B & B. Amazing authentic furniture and house. Prime location, you couldn’t ask for a better location. Very easy to get to from the Rialto bridge boat stop. If you are looking for a great Italian experience this is it. Breakfast was great too! Not for someone who likes corporate hotels, more for the boutique, unique traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This apartment is beautiful, and Andrea is a very accommodating host. Carefully follow his instructions, as navigating around Venice is not done easily, and make sure to call him before your arrival. The apartment is furnished beautifully, and there is a high attention to detail in its decor that is true to Venice. We stayed in the White Room, which was suffice for a couple. There is a safe in the room, which was useful for storing personal items. Breakfast was good, and the maid was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deschweizify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This B&B is really on th spot, in the middle or almost next door to all attractions of Venice. Charming rooms, nice hosts and accomodation. The mornings were not very romantic when motor ships, without singing Gondoliere but with yelling drivers, curved around the channels. By he way, breakfast was "very lean" including Nescafe instead of real italian coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the central location and authentic decor of the Palazzo Duodo Gregolin. Halfway between the Rialto Bridge and the Piazza San Marco, a true Venitian adventure starts right outside the front door. We were greeted by the son of the owner, who came to meet us at the waterbus (though we had already found out own way to the B&B). The sitting room and dining room gave us the feeling of being in the home of a successful Venetian family. Our room was the smallest of the three they offer (the White Room), but it was comfortable enough. We had the chance to see one of the other rooms, and would have been very happy had we been lucky enough to be booked into one of the two with a canal view. The breakfast included meats and cheese, along with croissants, fruit, yogurt and jams, and very good coffee. The owner was very genial, and offered to assist us with any reservations or requirements we might have. One fault was the towels, which are dried on a hot roller machine, with the effect that they become hard and scratchy - bearable but not ideal. In all, this one complaint pales in comparison to the very favorable impression left by this property as a whole. We would be pleased to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennC6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This B&B is conveniently about 300 meters from the Rialto stop and down a side alley. You have to pay attention to the street numbers to find the place. We only saw Andrea, the owner, once -- at breakfast, the day after we checked in. His wife arranged to be present when we arrived and checked us in. Other than that, and early mornings when Helena is cleaning, the B&B is deserted. They make it very clear that they are accessible by cell phone and that you can call a sister hotel through the phone in your room if you need assistance.

The B&B accepts credit cards - unlike what the previous reviewer stated. We made our reservations through venere.com.

The B&B is on the fourth floor - they call it 3rd floor in Italy.

The beds are very firm - we had a king sized - which was really two twins pushed together. The room was quite large and the bathroom was large too. Our room was green. I don't know if that's what it was called. It overlooked a canal (not the grand canal) that had tons of gondolas and singing gondoliers going by all day, especially in the evening.

Wifi is available for a fee, but I recommend going downstairs and around the corner to the nearest restaurant/bar/cafe which has free wifi and ordering an espresso and enjoying it there, It would be cheaper.

The stairwell is very dark and we never figured out how to turn on the lights. It's also exhausting to climb after a long day --- one level seems not quite the same as the other leading us to trip every time!

Breakfast is fine. Croissants, yogurt, bread and cereal. Tea & coffee & orange juice & milk.

The only complaint I had was that the towels were very rough --- like they had been line dried.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otsthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for three nights in August 2012. We are a family of four with children aged 10 and 15.

We did the bookings over email and Andrea the owner was very responsive and a very nice and helpful host. He kept on saying that we were guests at his house. Note that Andrea accepts payment only in cash. The directions to the B&B that he emails are very helpful.

The location is perfect. 10 minutes from both Rialto and Piazza San Marco. It is on the top floor of the building with a small elevator. The elevator can only take two people at a time.

We stayed in the Red Suite. It has one bed room with a double bed and a second bed room with two single beds and an attached toilet. Note that the B&B provides towels, but does not provide any toiletries. Our children did not find the single beds comfortable. Also, the air conditioning unit is in the main bedroom. The smaller bedroom does not have its own air con unit.

Complimentary breakfast consisted of croissants, yoghourt, cereals, juice, ham and cheese. WiFi was provided by a third party vendor for a fee.

The housekeeper Helena is really helpful.

When we asked Andrea for directions to the nearest Laundromat, he graciously asked Helena to run our clothes through the washer/dryer that is used for the B&B's own use and did not charge us for it. That was a real nice gesture.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calcuttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My friend and I booked in on Easter weekend, a few days before joining our tour on the mainland. Andrea was a most courteous and helpful host! The rooms were gorgeous beautiful antiques, centrally located between San Marco and Rialto. Just the taste of old Venice we were looking for! We met other guests who on their second stay there and wouldn't stay anywhere else. I hope to get back some day soon too! Thanks, Andrea and staff!
Glenda (and Lyse)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#284 of 479 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#159 of 387 in Venice
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laguna Residence
#289 of 479 in Venice
49 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,935 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#122 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Duodo Gregolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duodo Gregolin

Address: San Marco, Calle dei Fabbri | Ramo Duodo 1014, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Duodo Gregolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing