We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca Formosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ca Formosa to your Saves list
Ca Formosa
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Castello 4857, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last month and had a nice time. It can get slightly tricky to find the place but if you have a map in your phone then you should be good to go. Do ask a couple of shopkeepers on your way to confirm the location. We reached the hotel in the evening and found a note on the main door with directions to go to the adjoining property. It was slightly inconvenient as we had traveled for about 12 hrs. We went to their other property Ca Malipiero and rang the bell. No one answered the door for the first 5 mins and then the door opened mysteriously. There was no one at the front desk and we kept calling out for someone with no response. Some guests staying there mentioned that the reception was on the top floor. Do keep in mind that they don't have elevators.

The front desk person was nice but could have been a little more warm. We explained us everything about breakfast, internet connection etc. The room was large, nice and cozy and good for the price. The bed was well done and clean. The bathroom was good sized and the shower had great pressure. Every time we flushed there was loud sound of the water getting pumped back in but it wasn't too bad as we closed the bathroom door. We are vegetarians and found the breakfast selection to be limited. It was not bad though, enough to keep us going until lunch. The lady who served breakfast was very sweet and extremely hard working. Maybe they can have some fresh fruits as well. The internet worked great just that they don't have wifi. So you can use it only if you have a laptop.

The location is excellent, easy accessibility to vaporetti, restaurants and gelato places. There is a palace next door, happens only in Italy! Do try this place if you are not fussy about amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pallaviumarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    27
    17
    22
See reviews for
20
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belluno, Italy
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After being so many times in Venice I think to have some experience regarding accomodations. I was a little bit scary by reading some negative reviews about this place and I decided to give a try. First of all when you choose to stay in a "locanda" ( I mean in a real locanda, not in a hotel called locanda ! ) you might be aware that most of the times we are talking about an old palace refurbished with a few rooms ( 5 to 10 usually ) usually located on a single floor. That floor is never on the ground floor or first floor ... on the contrary it is the upper floor exactly like in Cà Formosa. So if it is a problem for you to "climb" some stairs ... avoid that location. If you arrive after 13.30 you will hardly find anyone in the place : not a problem ... at 50 metres from the locanda you find another "residenza" ( type of locanda ) run by the same owners. You go there, ring the bell and someone will come to welcome you. Once you check in you are given both the keys of the main door and your room as well ... so you'll be totally indipendent. I found quite odd that some guests faced troubles to find the location ... it is quite easy if you follow the hotel indications from the vaporetto stop of S.Marco-Zaccaria. Just a 10 minutes walk ... of course keep in mind that in Venice YOU MUST WALK anyway !!! The room I got for 4 people was comfortable with a decent bathroom. It was funny that all was managed by a young and very kind Romanian girl who was doing everything in there : reception, cleaning, serve breakfast, collecting payments ! She might be paid very well indeed !!! Anyway no problems if you have to wait for 5 minutes longer ... when you are on holidays. On top of that I might say that ( differently from other places I had been staying in Venice ) I found the locanda very clean and the room rate very reasonable too. The location is excellet. But I have one suggestion for the owners : in order to improve the liking of the place, please make an effort to offer a better breakfast ! Personally I found it extremely poor. People need to collect energies in the morning to walk till ... enjoying some tasty "chicchetti" at noon. And - considering we are in Italy - many guests are expecting to get an authentic Italian coffee ( espresso ) and not a poor filter coffee ! Nowadays you can purchase a good coffee machine for a few hundred € ... and anywhere in Italy you can find excellent coffee roasting plan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The room was an excellent size with air conditioning and an excellent bed, and it had a large private washroom. Other than that it would be tough to call it a hotel. It was four stories up small winding staircases, there was no one at the reception desk and the cleaning staff actually checked us in, the only wireless internet was at their sister hotel down the street, and we saw only one staff while we were there. It was a nice place to stay as long as you aren't looking for many amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joiedevivre218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Only reason we stayed in Ca Formosa was budget limitation - we were booking quite late for the Carnival weekend, and didn't really have much choice...
So, we didn't get a real value for money - location 4 of 5 just because of relative proximity to Main Sq., breakfast very basic, no private shower, almost no heating (which for Feb was a big issue) and no additional blankets.
Next time we'll book in advance... and something else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olya_Sanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I reread some of the other reviews and understand why some people might not have given good reviews. But get a life here, we are talking about Venice...expensive, beautiful, easy to get lost in all those little streets yes. Was the hotel hard to find? Yes. Were there lots of steps? Yes (find a hotel in Venice that does NOT have steps!). All of this is part of Venice. Ca Formosa has the same owners as Ca Malipiero...we didn't mind going over there to get wifi, they have a huge lobby and it overlooks the Plaza, which was lovely. We got take out dinner several nights and ate there...our room was clean, big enough for 4 people and private bath. The breakfast was excellent...linen table cloths, lots of food choices (cereal, eggs, bread, pastries, coffee/tea/juice). It was next to the Palazzo Grimanni which we toured one day, an absolutely lovely place. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VaConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My biggest peeve with this hotel is the deceptive (not to say OUTRIGHT LYING) description. Firstly, we booked a King size bed room and got a tiny double. Secondly, the description says wi-fi is available and complimentary. This is an outright lie. There's no wi-fi at Ca Formosa. The owners offered us to go to their other property in order to use wi-fi. How convenient is that? Other than that, it is extremely hard to find this hotel; it is literary hidden and signage is extremely poor.

The only thing that saved our stay is the breakfast. The lady who cooks and cleans the room is very tidy and their coffee is probably the best coffee we had in Italy. A big hand to her, and a big frown to the deceiving owners.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I had booked Ca Formosa but we ended up having to stay in the attic at Ca Malipiero around the corner.

We had booked the 'economy room' here and ended up with the attic in their sister hotel.

Read my Ca Malipiero review for the story there since that was the actual hotel we stayed in.

I'd be very wary about booking a room at this hotel and i'd recommend avoiding the economy room because the pictures i added is what you'll get.

Room Tip: Avoid economy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#346 of 387 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Malibran
Hotel Malibran
#236 of 387 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Castello
San Lio Tourist House
San Lio Tourist House
#253 of 458 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Locanda Casa Martini
Locanda Casa Martini
#93 of 458 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
San Marco
Casa Arte
Casa Arte
#269 of 458 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Castello
Locanda Silva
Locanda Silva
#143 of 458 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca Formosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca Formosa

Property: Ca Formosa
Address: Castello 4857, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca Formosa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ca Formosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Formosa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing