We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in the heart of Venice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda ai Bareteri
Ranked #20 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the heart of Venice!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Absolutely fantastic!

We were met at the Rialto Alilaguna stop when we arrived very late on the Friday night by one of the staff members. He walked us back to the hotel and still took the time to show us everything about Venice on the map, which we used throughout the weekend!
This was my second stay at Locanda ai Bareteri and it was as good as the first. The first time I was a solo traveller, this time I returned with my mother. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring Venice, midway between the Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square.
The coffee at Breakfast is excellent (what more could you expect in Italy!)
We were given an amazing recommendation for a local Venetian dinner at Osteria alla Botte on the Saturday night which was very traditional and super tasty.
And, to get back to the airport, we were recommended a quicker and cheaper way back to the airport.
We did so many of the things that were suggested on the night that we arrived (and in particular loved our 50 € cent gondola ride!)

I will be back in Venice again some time I am sure, and will definitely be sure to stay again at Locanda Ai Bareteri.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the same level as the dining room, so one of the rooms on the higher levels may be pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat_kolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    173
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
145
309
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just returned today from a two-night stay at ai Bariteri, and I would highly recommend it. The location is unbeatable for a quick trip to Venice - right in the bustle of the Rialto to St Mark's path, but on a quiet alley (any decent map of Venice can help you find it easily!) The staff was so friendly and the room was spacious and VERY clean. Do get off at the Rialto stop if you take the waterbus from the airport. It's a 3 minute walk from the stop - very convenient! We had nice, cool weather while we were there, so did not use the A/C, opting to leave the windows open. If street noise is an issue for you, ask for a room on a higher floor (warning - no lift!) or one that faces the smaller, quieter street. We loved our stay here, and would come again. Very reasonable rates for location, room size, free WIFI and sweet breakfast.

Room Tip: If street noise is an issue for you, ask for a room on a higher floor (warning - no lift!) or one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Bit of a struggle to find the hotel on arrival at St Marks square, would have been lots easier had we got the orange Alilguna line to Rialto, however that is another review, mentioning unhelpful staff and a free for all when it comes to boarding!
These are words that I will not need to use with the staff of this hotel. The instructions provided on booking were very good and helped us to find the hotel fairly well. As I said, had we got off at Rialto we would have found it a lot quicker.
The room (204) was extremely basic, with a comfortable double bed, a desk and a wardrobe, that's it. No drawers, no TV and no chairs, other than the one at the desk. Air conditioning was spot on and very welcome when returning during the heat of the day. The bathroom consisted of a sink, bidet, toilet and shower. I often say that the hotel I stay at is just somewhere to sleep at that's it, well this was definitely within my description. However, do not read this as a bad thing. The room was very clean, recently decorated and fit for purpose.
The two guys we spoke to at the hotel were very helpful and polite. Nothing too much trouble.
The breakfast was also basic but pleasant. Help yourself to yoghurt, fruit, jams and prepacked hard toast type bread (sorry do not know what you call it). Coffee or tea was brought to you along with a croissant and bread rolls. Personally I got a little fed up with it after day 2 and we skipped breakfast on the last day, preferring to eat out instead.
The view from our room, well, wasn't really! We looked at the windows and walls of another building some 12 foot away. But remember, this is Venice, a room with a view is going to cost a lot more than I would want to pay.
Free wifi and the breakfast, together with the price and the location meant this was a great buy and somewhere I would consider staying again should we return to Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The location is excelent, if you want to stay next to all the confusion Venezia can offer to tourists.

But the managers are extremely kind and take great care to provide a clean, spacious and agreable locanda.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerioguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Needed gps to find the place, but Venice would test even the best mapreader's limits!! Great location near Rialto and St Marks. Very helpful staff, big rooms for an Italian city hotel. Handy to come back to for freshening up. Great shower, big shower head. No lift, no staff present between 8pm and around 7.30am. good value for it's location, you won't spend much time in hotel anyway. If staying a short time in Venice, I recommend staying somwhere between Rialto and St. Marks.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streetspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Recently stayed there. Air conditioning did not work and spent several nights in the heat without air conditioning. Additionally, the management and staff were extremely rude and did not fix the issue. I highly advise not to stay at this hotel. It was a terrible experience and the hotel next door was much nicer and cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew321123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Me and a friend stayed here for three nights and would definitely stay here again! The location was perfect, we were right in the middle of everything but tucked into a quiet side street so it was never noisey. Our room was clean and airy with powerful air-conditioning. Breakfast was lovely - a selection of fresh fruit and croissants, with a choice of twinnings teas and coffee. The staff were also very helpful and friendly - they let us store our suitcases after check-out and looked up water bus time tables for us. Definitely reccomended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#22 of 468 in Venice
883 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#19 of 468 in Venice
576 reviews
Castello
3C
3C
#9 of 468 in Venice
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#21 of 468 in Venice
439 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#3 of 468 in Venice
114 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#17 of 468 in Venice
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda ai Bareteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda ai Bareteri

Property: Locanda ai Bareteri
Address: Ponte dei Bareteri / Calle de Mezzo 4966 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 200 meters from S Marco square and 200 meters from Rialto bridge It is located in the heart of Venice, halfway between Rialto and Piazza San Marco in Venice Haberdashers, 3 minutes from the Rialto and 7 from the San Marco. The "Locanda" is spread over 5 floors (no elevator) consists of 6 rooms (large size) divided between double, triple and quadruple rooms and a breakfast room on the first floor. The structure is elegant yet informal meeting place for many artists who find in our guest house accommodation reserved and at the same time, central place to stay during their travels in the lagoon city. The rooms are equipped with private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, some with mini bar (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda ai Bareteri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ai Bareteri Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing