We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda ai Bareteri e B&B Allegri
Ranked #20 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a fabulous time in the heart of Venice. We felt so central to everything and every day started with a relaxing and delicious breakfast. The staff was so helpful and friendly and always wanted to help us in any way. I would definitely stay here again and happily recommend to anyone lucky enough to be visiting Venice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 628 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Locanda ai Bareteri. Due to its central (yet in a quite side street) location this hotel allowed us to explore all of Venice's famous attraction by walking only a few minutes. The staff was super friendly and took much time to help us finding our way around and give useful recommendations. The breakfast was tasty and the room very spacious and nicely decorated (very nice bathroom!). We would always come visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nouria68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This B&B was very good in many ways. The location is as good as it gets. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful in many ways and times. This included meeting us at the airport water ferry stop close to midnight. And again for my wife when she got lost in those little streets of Venice. You have to be able to walk stairs. The room was to the bare essential side. It was clean with a good bathroom, wi-fi and a/c.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similiar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drs115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in the hotel, we were on the top floor (no lift, but no big deal ) and could see over to the 3 domes of the Bassilica. Breakfast is continental, fruit, yoghourt, rolls and jams/marmalade. The location is just great, close to the Rialto bridge so its easy to get to from the ferry points and only 10 minutes slow stroll down to St Mark's Square. There are plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants close by and it only takes a few minutes to get lost in the alleyways and find others tucked away round corners.
The room was large and the old Italian furniture meant it was the largest bed I had ever slept in. The room was cool, quiet and a really great place to sleep after being out and about in Venice walking all day. Television in rooms? Why would you want one? You are in Venice one of the most beautiful cities in the world. So keep TVs out of rooms. I would happily recommend this hotel, it's quiet, clean, has friendly staff and it is in a really great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the bareteri. The location was perfect and the staff were friendly and very accommodating. The only drawback for some may be the stairs that have to be walked to get to the rooms. There is no elevator. I thought it was good exercise!!
Will definitely recommend to all (great price) and will return!

Room Tip: We had the room on the fourth floor and it was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moncala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here for the pre carnival weekender meaning for 2 nights considering the small period of time we were about to stay we obviously needed a central hotel...basically this was it !!! all the events were just a few minutes away as most of them were at piazza san marco and rialto ....the only thing i would recommend is having a tv in the room !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edera_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here last year, for 5 nights, paying a total of EUR 850, or EUR 170 / night. When we reserved, we were aware that this was more than other reviewers had paid, but since we were very keen on a large, smoking room, we didn’t quibble much.
First the pros. Bareteri was always prompt with their communication & responses, via email. The housekeeping staff was continuously above average, which was a big relief. The Bareteri offers a fantastic map of Venice, with good directions. And most importantly, the Bareteri is excellently located.
Just a small tip... if you’re arriving by train & getting the ACTV Vap. from S. Lucia Station, you must remember to get off at the *first* Rialto dock. There are two & if you get off at the second, there will be a bridge to navigate with luggage. However, if you’re coming or leaving by the Alilaguna to/from the Airport, then your only choice is the second Rialto, since the Alilaguna only stops there. Inspite of this, there is only one bridge to get across in order to reach the Hotel. Once you see the Bata shop, you know you’re on the right track; it’s just down the road from there. The other tip is that if you want to get to St. Marks, you need to make a right when exiting the Hotel, walk a few steps towards the canal, cross a small bridge, walk down the Mercerie (shops, shops, shops), and come out under the Clock Tower. For Rialto, you make a left when leaving the Hotel, past the Bata shop and then onwards past more shops. As mentioned, this place is brilliantly located.
Now to the cons... a longer list. We were on level three. Level one is a private residence, level two is the reception, with three (i think) other rooms, then another flight up to our room. Our hearts just fell when we entered the room. It was the tiniest room we had ever seen, even by European standards. You want to steer clear of this room, located exactly above the Reception. There was just a terrible use of the already very small space. A huge desk, almost wall to wall, which when used meant that the second guest could not get across the room, except by rolling over the bed. A walk in cupboard! Really? In a space this small, what a waste! After we put our luggage down, there was only the smallest sliver of space left. This is inspite the fact that we had repeatedly requested a large room & we were willing to pay extra for it! Now I understand that aesthetic sense varies, but other than a pretty curtain, all else was also very tacky! There was an extra duvet / rug that resembled one you get on the highway motels near Delhi, cheap lace doilies, mismatched bedcovers, just not pleasing to the eye. And a blue bathroom, with shabby plastic mirrors... a fair size overall, but with the smallest little shower cubicle... so there no scope to drop your soap, since you’ll come up draped in the shower curtain. Plus, no effort has been made to keep a very small room brightly lit... minimal light making it even more dingy & depressing. There were no windows in our room, but a floor to ceiling doorway to a tiny, one-person, balcony type thing. AND we were attached to the Housekeeping cupboard / space, sharing the same outer door, so there was the noise factor, when the Housekeeping began work each morning. Ofcourse, there is no telephone / intercom to complain, so your only option is to climb up & down the flight of stairs for every little thing that doesn’t work or isn’t right. No elevator & no television!!! In all fairness, we knew this in advance, but were surprised to see that a Hotel that had surveillance cameras up everywhere (including one just outside our door), could not afford to have televisions in the rooms. There is no view to speak off, unless you want to peek into someone else's house, which unfortunately also meant that someone else could look straight into your room. Overall we were very unhappy with the room and felt extremely cheated, with what seemed like the very worst room in the place!
The staff was more or less pleasant, although our ardent request for a room change was flatly denied. We mostly met with Nicolai. Whilst helpful, he had a sort of nervous energy which made us a little awkward. We were helped with *some* of our luggage on the way up and all of it on the way down. We didn’t try the breakfast at the Hotel, so can’t comment there.
Overall, I would say that a room here is worth about EUR 100-120 / night, at best, even by Venice standards. There is just not enough facility provided to merit a higher cost. We would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the room right above the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aarya_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Locanda Art Deco
Locanda Art Deco
#23 of 482 in Venice
143 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#18 of 482 in Venice
999 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#12 of 482 in Venice
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#16 of 482 in Venice
789 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#6 of 482 in Venice
203 reviews
San Marco
Ca' del Nobile
Ca' del Nobile
#39 of 482 in Venice
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda ai Bareteri e B&B Allegri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda ai Bareteri e B&B Allegri

Address: Calle di Mezzo, 4966 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $84 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 200 meters from S Marco square and 200 meters from Rialto bridge It is located in the heart of Venice, halfway between Rialto and Piazza San Marco in Venice Haberdashers, 3 minutes from the Rialto and 7 from the San Marco. The "Locanda" is spread over 5 floors (no elevator) consists of 6 rooms (large size) divided between double, triple and quadruple rooms and a breakfast room on the first floor. The structure is elegant yet informal meeting place for many artists who find in our guest house accommodation reserved and at the same time, central place to stay during their travels in the lagoon city. The rooms are equipped with private bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, some with mini bar (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda ai Bareteri e B&B Allegri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ai Bareteri Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing