We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Nearby Hotels
$289
$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)
$186
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$524
$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$391
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$198
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$187
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$809
Londra Palace
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveler rating
514
241
23
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
241
23
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfish marketsmall alleytucked awaymodern artjewish ghettomodern hotelguglie stopcannaregio districtstay in venicewater buslocation is greatwould definitely stay here againstaff was very friendly and helpfulmin walkgoogle mapsquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 794 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Ca Pozzo is in a fantastic location. Within easy walking distance from the station and easy to follow the main thoroughfare around to San Marco and Rialto. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts were always happy to help when we had questions

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Proprietario at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

thanks for coming...see you very soon nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Close to the station, tucked away in a nook, this is a place that belies the way to the inn. You cross a bridge, come to a non descript alley and then walk a few yards to this modern chic place. We were there for 3 nights and found the hotel and the room to be very airy and clean. Rooms are large and even have a mini fridge inside. The staff is courteous and helpful and the breakfast was simple but filling (Usual collection of pastries, cold cut meats, cheese, juices and coffee). We enjoyed our stay and would probably go back their again given a chance.

I did read some reviews around the smell and water logging. While I can see that high tide could pose a problem in getting to the hotel as it is very close to the canal, but I would be surprised if that is not gonna happen to the best of them that lie by the canal. The fish smell is present but definitely not overbearing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRI_ABH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Please do come again it will be a pleasure to have you here again. I really want to thank you for the comment concerning the smell and the high water as it will help our clients understanding that they are part of being in Venice and as you quoted " they are present but not overbearing".
all the best
samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Don’t let the dark, fishy-smelling and dingy corridor outside leading to the hotel gates fool you—once inside the premises are thoroughly clean and modern and free of any odours. A true boutique hotel in the sense that it’s very focused on functionality. The room is surprising spacious with lots of storage. A nice touch is the complimentary water & Cokes in the fridge. The bathroom has a fully enclosed shower—a godsend for us after spending the first half of our Italian trip in hotels with only a half shower partition or no shower curtains/partitions at all. The breakfast buffet was quite acceptable with a decent selection. The hotel is located within a 15 min. walk from the train station and the walk itself is not overly difficulty. It's approximately a 20 min. walk to St. Mark's Square. Wifi is free with decent connection speeds. Great value if you prefer staying on the island! A strong recommend—we would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 101 and were very happy with it. No need to lug our luggage upstairs as the room is located on the ground floor. It's very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank areocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Owner at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

many many thanks for staying with us! Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The way to this hotel will flood during high tide or whenever it rains. The water will get up to your calf. There was no warning from the hotel about this. You cannot go in and out of the hotel without getting wet if not wearing knee-high boots.

There is a fishmarket right in front of the hotel and the odor is very strong and fishy. You will get nauseated going in and out of the hotel because of the smell.

This hotel is definitely overrated even though the rooms are nice with modern amenities. It's not worth getting wet from the flood or getting trapped in the hotel where you cannot go out or come because of the high water. The stench from the fishmarket is so strong that you don't want to stay here.

We paid over US$220 per night but it felt like a cheap motel in a flooded area with a smelly fishmarket nearby.

Avoid!
Evitare!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomvince2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello,

it is true that the way to the hotel is flood during high warter (only the way to the hotel) and that when there is high water the smell is not pleasant but unfortunately venetians are used to high water and try to face it with a smile by wearing boots.
All venetian people beg pardon to all our tourists that have to face it but presently we cannot stop it.
Moreover we had a very long winter period with rains. High water + rain are not a good combination.

We are always suggesting our clients to wear a pair of cheap boots to face this calamity. By wearing boots you can easily go everywhere otherwise venetian people should be trapped in their houses for at least a couple of hours when there is high water.

thanks for the compliments paid to the rooms we know that we are located in an inner courtyard and the fish market outside the sotoportego is not a nice welcome but we hope that , once in our courtyard, our clients will enjoy the peace and design of our inn.

please do come again to visit us maybe you'll find that venice is not only high water or maybe next time by wearing a pair of boots you will even enjoy high water which, most of our tourists consider a funny experience to live.

samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I would actually give this hotel 4.5 stars. We chose this hotel because the photos show a more modern hotel than most others in Venice. We were not disappointed, the hotel is very nice, clean, and recently updated. Bathrooms were especially nice. The location is awesome because it's not a far walk at all from the train station, is right off the main road that can take you to Rialto and San Marco, but is also set in Cannaregio which means you can head one street over and be in a much more quieter part of Venice away from the tourists. There's also a water bus stop very close to the hotel which is great if you're heading to/from the airport as there is an Alilaguna boat that will take you right there in 40 mins. There is a fish market right outside the alleyway you walk down to get to the hotel so of course there is a slight fish smell, but that is a glimpse of Venetian life and it didn't bother me at all. My only complaint was about noise. The walls are pretty thin (we stayed in room 203) so I felt that I had to stay quiet, however everyone seemed pretty respectful so we didn't hear a ton of noise. Also our room faced apartments so we could hear the people cooking, talking, singing which wasn't terrible, but I didn't feel comfortable leaving my windows open even though the weather was very nice. But they've installed very thick windows that block everything out so that was good. Overall I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Ms Lauren,

thank you so much for writing your review! Sorry about the noise as you saw we are located in a nice courtyard, in the heart of a marvellous quiet area , the ghetto area, off the bitten track but surrounded by flats.
Sometimes neightbours are not respectful! sorry about that!
However we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope we will have the honour to have you here very soon
all the best
nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews