We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #190 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful lobby, great breakfast. Rooms were a bit smaller than ones we had stayed in earlier in the trip. Very efficient on use of electric. Clean rooms, great location to train station, water taxis, street vendors, restaurants, shops. A hustle bustle at early morning and evening with everyone coming and going through the train stations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bgoddaluvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    380
    244
    80
    59
See reviews for
165
467
48
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kindersley, SK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel was in a great location.....5 minutes from the bus and train stations. The hotel was very modern in its technology for using the room key card to operate the lights, shower, etc.....Room was very clean and had everything we needed. If you are planning on watching TV, there is not a large selection of channels, but this is not why we came. Internet is not included (cost is 3 Euro per hour in the lobby). I would go back to this hotel if I was in Venice again. There was a little bit of noise from the room above us, but nothing too major.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miravz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the belle Époque for 2 nights as part of our European tour and had the best of time Felt like royalty in my very ornate room - silk brocade curtains & bed cover with Rococo bed, armoire & furnishings Best part was a Juliet balcony overlooking the water where you can watch the world go by It was close to everything & the vaporetto is close by. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Despite some advice suggesting not to stay in this area, we found it very convenient. We traveled via Ryanair, took the convenient bus, and immediately found this hotel. We were able to check in and check out our adorable hotel room. It's a little rough around some of the edges, but it was clean and was decorated elegantly. Very Venice. The Murano Chandelier and the little night-stand-alcoves were my favorite. The breakfast room is beautiful and they provided a nice tasty variety for that meal so we could immediately begin sightseeing upon our departure. The bed was a little hard, and I really should have asked for a better pillow, but whatever. That was my own fault for being lazy. It's Italy, it's Europe. So, small is ordinarily what you get. We had a window to the courtyard, and opened it in the October evening to have a cool sleep. Was nice. Plenty of space for us. We just had backpacks. But if you have a larger suitcase, not the easiest to carry it to this floor, you will likely have to carry it up some steps, even to get to the elevator.
There were some toiletries too, if you needed them. I use the hotel shampoo to wash a pair of socks or underwear, so the little packets were handy for that. Tiny shower. Don't go here if you are overweight much. Hubs and I are pretty skinny, so didn't make a difference to us.
Didn't use the internet, but a couple doors down is the restaurant 'Brek' which if you just buy something (1 E glass of vino!) you can use their internet. I had my iphone so it was easy. I would go back here, if it was the best deal I could get. It seems like everything is always booked and always expensive.

Room Tip: We took what we got....it was a busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RADeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Location was excellent. Breakfast was pretty solid, could've used more variety but did the trick. Room required a tight climb up a narrow stairway, bathroom cramped but i didn't need too much space. The challenge was the mosquitos that kept me up virtually all night. Overall, I'd recommend it for the price and location. It didn't wow, but I didn't expect it to. Front desk was helpful. And walls are rail thin, and listened to couple talking and laughing much of the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slim577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Once we got over the startling red and gold bordello look of our bedroom, we settled in and found the room functional and roomy enough for our three night stay. Breakfast was fine, no hot food, but cereal, fruit and rolls, cold meat and cheese, good starter for the day. Close to the station and ferry, so it was easy to plan trip around Venice to see the sights. Generally the staff was friendly at reception although the older balding gentleman who was on the desk in the afternoon was decidedly unhelpful, rude and at times ignored you! The female reception staff were friendly, kind and very willing to help.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What I liked? It was super close to the train station and water taxi stations and easy to find. The easy to find part is a real plus in Venice. It was clean, quiet and reasonably priced. The bathroom was modern, and breakfast was a free start to the day, even if just for coffee. Our room was small, but my traveling companion and I kinda like each other so that was ok :) Is it close to St. Mark's Square, etc? No, but the leisurely strolls there and back were always pleasant...I bought a dress out of a shop window, we had a nightcap with several strangers at a smoothie kiosk, we would buy a piece of fruit or a slice of pizza... (But be sure to venture over the bridge into the less-travelled heart of the island, too.) If four- or five-star hotels, doting concierges and pillowtop mattresses make your trip, then don't stay here. If you'd rather save some dollars for a great meal or lots of Prosecco or some Murano glass, I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stilliwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#248 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#108 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#230 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#268 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: Canareggio 127/128, 30120 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belle Epoque overlooks Lista di Spagna and offers rooms in tipycal ambience who dates back to 1700. The furniture recalls the venetian style in two colours: red or green and feature Murano glass chandeliers. All the rooms are equipped with soundproof, bathrooms in white marble with shower, air conditioning, satellite television, safe and internet connection. A panoramic elevator will take you up to the floor to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing