We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location only”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #190 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The quadraple room was very very very very small and we had no space to move around the room .We had to virtually walk over the bed to go to the bathrooom.There was not even space to arrange our luggage.Breakfast was very bad and internet had to be paid for.Receptionists were not helpful .Hotel could certainly improve as far as cleanliness and renovation are concerned.
The only thing we appreciated is the location....just a short walk from the vaporetto stop, the train station and the bus station

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well it is Venice so if you want to stay in the latest refurbished hotel this is not for you but if you want to stay in a true Venetian Hotel then this place ticks the boxes. The Hotel and rooms have a typical Venetian feel to them, are spacious enough and then have modern contemporary ensuite. Price wise and all things considered it is great value for what generally can be an expensive city. If asked... I would say that I would stay here again.
I had read a review that the staff were abrupt but we stayed for a couple of days and experienced 3 different staff members and each one was very helpful. Great young lady on reception who rang up places to try and book us into tours and gave great recommendations on which ones were a rip off and which ones where of value.
Location wise I thought it was great. It's less that a five minuted walk to the main train station, which was great for us as we arrived by train, and then out the front of the station are all the water bus stops for straight down the main canal. The street the hotel is on has some great shopping and fantastic authentic Italian restaurants so get lost for a day in the side streets.
Hotel breakfast was more than adequate to get you going for the day.
Now there is one thing I highly recommend you see and that is on the ground floor bathroom the handbasin is an aquarium. Worth a photo for a laugh.
Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: I think If you are elderly then there are lifts but I would suggest not staying on the top floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank APHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hotel Belle Epoque is a great choice if you want to be close to the train station. We were spending one night there - and had to be at the cruise terminal the next day at noon. Check in was slow and the gentleman that works nights is not particularly pleasant. The desk was VERY busy - and I had to wait several times to try and get a wifi code (a small charge for this as well) They were in no rush to get you checked in - but the phone started ringing in our room by 11:05 am for check out! The rooms were very clean, and decorated for garishly - but were nice and very "venice!" We had two twin beds and a hideabed for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. It was just fine for us - the bathroom was very nice. We did not have the breakfast so can't comment on that. In the morning - it took us about 20 min to walk to cruise. Overall - Venice is very expensive - we felt this room was a good value for where we needed it to be. With canadian conversion - the room was $240.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Havekidswilltravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

When I arrived I'be been informed that my room was unavailable due some hidraulic problem I was sent to a worse hotel (Hotel Spagna) where I had to climb stairs (two floors) with no help with all my luggages. Next day I returned to the hotel and they finally gave me a room. When I complained that was unfair to pay for a hotel and receive a worse one they just said that the manager was not available and they couldn't offer anything. When I insisted they confessed that actually there was no hidraulic problem but a overbook, said that this is very common and I should feel luck to get a hotel so close. Then I wrote down a complain to the manager. Two weeks now. No answer. Horrible Experience. It's a great scam because just a few people are reallocated per day so their global evaluation isn't so low as it should be. Are you feeling lucky?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eduardo_Aguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very bad place... Room was old, smelly, full of flying and biting creatures,( please take anti insect spay or something with you, if staying at this place, really ) decor was looking good some 30 years ago, now it's not that impressive, I shall say.. Breakfast very poor, After 3 days of staying there, we just didn't eat it anymore ( cappucino and a croissant would be your best option ) Reception staff - Ok, but no more than that! only good thing was location, very close to coach/ train station, but would not stay here again and would never recommend to anyone
Venice was great, anyway!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serg i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My short stay at the Belle Epoque was pleasant, the breakfast buffet was good in its variety, and it was very enjoyable to receive cuppucino along w the pastries. I felt personally that the hotel staff could afford to be a little more friendly, I was made to feel like an imposition in his computer time a couple of times when I needed the reception staff's attention and assistance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank lioncityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pros:
We stayed here July 2012. We were coming in and going out of the train station and this is literally right beside it - 50 meter walk so very convenient.

Lovely decor in the reception area. En suite was very nice. Decor is old school with fabric wallpaper.

Cons:
Losses a point as the bed was twin beds put together but not uncomfortable.

Staff were generally good but one gentleman could have been friendlier but that kind of thing does not really bother us - he was a small bit rude to one of the other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#187 of 387 in Venice
536 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#105 of 387 in Venice
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#235 of 387 in Venice
697 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#125 of 387 in Venice
866 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#272 of 387 in Venice
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: Canareggio 127/128, 30120 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $65 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belle Epoque overlooks Lista di Spagna and offers rooms in tipycal ambience who dates back to 1700. The furniture recalls the venetian style in two colours: red or green and feature Murano glass chandeliers. All the rooms are equipped with soundproof, bathrooms in white marble with shower, air conditioning, satellite television, safe and internet connection. A panoramic elevator will take you up to the floor to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing