We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Dona Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dona Palace
Ranked #67 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Dona Palace for three nights. The staff was kind and helpful and made all of our dinner reservations throughout Venice. The included breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

As mentioned, the location is perfect for easy access to the Doge Palace and the Grand Canal. Yes, the pictures may be from a previous grander stage of the hotel, but the rooms were clean and functioned well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much that you took time to leave a nice review about our Donà Palace Hotel. We were glad to read you enjoyed your three nights stay with us and that our staff was kind, helpful and made all of our dinner reservations throughout Venice. Also, we understand you have also liked our included breakfast, our central location, your bedroom (its cleanliness, most of all!). We hope to welcome you again... always at the Donà Palace of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 939 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in late September , 2013.We arrived by water taxi from the dock near the airport; a lovely ride with many water taxis available. This is expensive, around 110 euros. I had made water taxi arrangements through the Doña Palace--this was more expensive and he was an hour late and needed to be called by the port master. If you can take a taxi, do so, it is very much a part of a Venice experience, but make the water taxi arrangements on the spot.
What a shock to walk into the crumbling reception room from the From the canal. The tiny courtyard was nice, but unkempt. I was welcomed, lukewarm greeting, and asked for my passport and the money for the water taxi that they had arranged. Later, a nice young man ( Adriano) gave us help and was very informative. The bellman took me up to the wrong room, and I finally settled into a dilapidated room (very small) with questionable bedding. To their credit, the bathroom was redone and quite nice.
Breakfast was included and very satisfactory. The best point for this hotel was its location one block from Plaza San Marco. I have been in Venice four times. This hotel was recommended by a travel agent I did not know. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we usually get good reviews about our hotel and our service, therefore we would like to thank you for your comments and will go through them step by step.
WATER-TAXI. Yes, it is expensive. A transfer booked through our Concierge is € 10.00 more expensive than taking a water-taxi on the spot... however our Concierge reserves one private motor-boat that waits for you. And that has a cost, much to our regret. The airport tranfer is to be paid for once you check-in, as per the informative transfer-form which we email to our guests requesting this service.
COURTYARD. As you have noticed we have a lovely garden over the little canal: our porters take care of watering the plaints and cleaning the area: we are surprisingly amazed you found it unkept. Our guests usually say the opposite... as you and everybody can read from other reviews.
BEDROOM: we are sorry it was not of your like. We cannot recall wether you contacted our Front Desk to ask for a change. We are more than pleased to give you a choice of rooms, if we have some available.
On the other hand we are VERY glad you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff, our buffet-style breakfast and our central location (we are one stone's throw from San Marco's Square, as we like to specify). Thank you very much for your custom and for you detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay here, hotel location great, nice little outside area backing onto canal, lovely just sitting watching the gondolas go by, very quite, buffet breakfast was adequate,deluxe room and bathroom very clean

Room Tip: basic rooms don't have a view of the cvanal we had a deluxe room which was bigger but with no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDJLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for taking time and leave a nice review about our nice Hotel Donà Palace! We are glad you enjoyed our central location, our courtyard over the little canal, our buffet-style breakfast, your bedroom (its cleanliness, most of all!), and the quietness of the establishment. We hope to welcome you again! Thanks for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Location 4.5/5
Facility 3.5/5
Cleanliness 3.5/5
Value 3.5/5
Decor 2.5/5

Generally good hotel, great location, easy to book online. Room was good , beds were terrible. (Unless you like hard mattresses), staff was accomadating. Would recommend if your looking to be in San Marco. A 3.5 start hotel.

Thank xlippery
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so very much for you review and for your custom: we hope to have the privilege to welcome you again to the Donà Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Dona Palace for 2 nights in early September. When we arrived at the airport we made the mistake of taking water taxi that dropped us off at the St Mark Square stop and had to stumble around to find the hotel. When we left we hired a private water taxi that picked us up at the hotel and took us to the train station. Hotel is very close to St. Marks and a few minutes to the Rialto Bridge. Breakfasts were very good, especially the coffee. From our window we could see and hear the gondaliers serenading their customers in the canal below.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we have just read the review you left on Tripadvisor: now, that is what we call a nice review. Thank you so much! We hope to welcome you again in the future. We remain at your disposal and thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel has a great location within easy walking distance of St Mark's and the Rialto Bridge. ( assuming you don't get lost) definitely. Worth being dropped off by water taxi at the back of the hotel at their private drop off point. This is into a small courtyard garden where you can sit with drinks and watch the gondolas go by. Special mention for the reception who were all excellent, I have never stayed anywhere where they have been so helpful.
The rooms were a really good size as well and although some areas were a bit tired for a 4* the rooms were such a good size it made up for it, although the twin beds are a bit on the small size.
The breakfast was a bit hit and miss, great coffee but the juices tasted as though they were made from a powder and some mornings were a bit low on supplies.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ajb693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
we have just read the review which you left on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you for the nice words you spent to describe the Dona Palace and to cassify our establishment. We especially understood you enjoyed your stay, appreciating our private motor-boats landing-stage, central location, own small courtyard garden and the helpful receptionists. We hope to welcome you again... always at the Donà Palace, of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a beautiful hotel and in an excellent position to see all the sights Venice has to offer and two minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge and Saint Marks Square. The reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are lovely with a vast array of choices. The hotel has a terrace where it is lovely to sit with a glass of wine watching the gondolas go by. The room was traditionally furnished, and although not large was very clean and comfortable with a beautiful marble bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WheresClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam?
'excellent'?
Well, EXCELLENT is the adverb we would use to describe the review which you very kindly left on Tripadvisor: everybody now, including our potential guests, can see it, read it and understands what we have to offer! Starting form our very central position: we are one stone's throw from San Marco's Square. And then our friendly staff, our buffet-style breakfast served on the 2nd floor of our 15th Century palace (which was one of the former residence of rich and powerful Donà Family, in the glorious past of the Serenissima Republic of Venice!). And our rooms, our new bathrooms, our views. Thanks for your custom... and we sincerely hope to be able to have the privilege to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 387 in Venice
1,051 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#166 of 387 in Venice
452 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#72 of 387 in Venice
1,056 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Palace

Address: San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#121 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $157 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy, elegant, luxury boutique hotel, the Donà Palace is a four star property overlooking the Rio at the Doge's Palace with its famous Bridge of Sighs, just a few steps from Europe's largest drawing room, Saint Mark's Square. The Hotel Donà Palace's exclusive setting in the historic heart of Venice is favoured for its priviledged position. Though close to so many important Venetian landmarks, the hotel's luxurious lodgings and accommodation have a refreshingly intimate quiet ambience, blending perfectly with the reflecting warmth of Venetian gothic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing