We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, great breakfast, free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dona Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dona Palace
Ranked #120 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best location, great breakfast, free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't ask for a better location - literally just round the corner fron St Marks Square. Small intimate hotel situated in a small lane within easy walking distance of the ferry terminus. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff friendly, breakfast is plentiful with a good variety of food and choice of sitting inside or on the terrace overlooking the canal and finally decent free wifi. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby yet noise is not an issue. Go from the bustle in St Marks Square to the serenity of this delightful hotel. Delightful terraced area on the canal for light meals and drinks.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Lynne,
thanks for you nice review about our Hotel Donà Palace. We were pleased to read you enjoyed our central location, the spaciousness and cleanliness of our bedrooms, the friendly staff of our, the buffet-style breakfast and our complimentary wi-fi. We hope to welcome you again soom, always here at the Donà Palace hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    262
    55
    22
    16
See reviews for
118
388
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed @ Dona Palace from July 21st to the 24th
We had a hard time finding this hotel when we came out of the Vaporetto. You need to walk quite a lot! when we were looking at the map to try to locate ourselves, this Indian guy asked if we needed help and told us he knew were Dona Palace was and to follow him.
When he brought us in front of the hotel, which was only few steps away, he asked for money because he said he helped us!!! Needless to say he that he got nothing from us....

The location of the hotel is pretty great it's just 5 min away of St-Mark's square! It's not situated on a canal directly but when you descend in the garden you can see the gondolas pass from a side canal... One of the front desk clerk isn't that helpful he made us feel that we bothered him every time we asked questions ( the one with glasses ). The wifi pretty much is non existing...
They made us pay 60 euro per day for the 3rd person who was a child!
The hotel desperately needs some renovation it's falling apart...
It's a very good option to have the breakfast included we had some delicious cappuccino and chocolate cake!

Do not buy anything from the Indians that are on St- Marks square they sell some toys and the and the men that are from Senegal who sell some fake Gucci handbags... It's illegal the aren't supposed to be there!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Momo341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
needless to say we are extremely sorry you found it hard to get to our hotel and you experienced a little inconvenience with that Indian person you met on the way: you did well not to pay him anything! Finding us from San Marco Square is actually quite easy: underneath the Clock Tower you take the first street to your right (CALLE LARGA SAN MARCO) and the third street to your left (CALLE DELL'ANGELO)... and there you are. And, as you said, we are 5 minutes away from St. Mark's Square. We are now wondering which way you took to get to us... have you, perhaps, called us to ask for directions? Our Front Desk staff is more than pleased to help you. Wi-fi is actually available from everywhere in the establishment: and it is complimentary for all of our inhouse guests. The extra charge for a third person is normally Euro 80.00 per night: only babies under 2 years of age do not pay anything at the Donà Palace. Instead, we are glad you enjoyed our buffet-style breakfast, the cappuccino and chocolate cake we offer! Last, but not least, we would like to underline what you have correctly said: please do not buy anything from the vendors that crowd St. Mark's Square area. That is illegal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was close to St Mark's Square but away from the crowds. We occasionally heard the bells but there was no other disturbance. Caught the bus to central Venice then the water bus to St Mark's Square (bought a pass which had to be validated on first journey). Walked across square, under the clock tower, turned right and walked almost to the end and then left - just before the bridge - up a little alleyway. We had a very spacious deluxe room with excellent air conditioning - a bonus at a very hot time of year. The breakfast was good and staff helpful. We ate relatively early though and on the second day the breakfast room was becoming very busy as we left. Great place from which to reach lots of different attractions and easy enough for transporting our luggage. Had a lovely meal in the nearest restaurant but a very poor meal, at an over-inflated price, at one towards the square - I could have made the same meal for myself at about a tenth of the cost and it would have been better - so beware.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was spacious with a large bed and good airconditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Ann,
thank you so very much for quoting our onà Palace! It is always a great feedback to hear from our guests and read their comments about their experience at our hotel. Yours was very good: this means we do our job the way it should be done. We hope, then, to have again the pleasure of welcoming you to our beautiful palace! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This review will be based solely on the hotel but I will mention other helpful tips including the bad and the good about this place and Venice in general.

First of, do not bother getting a private taxi from the Marco Polo airport to the hotel and pay over £100. Save yourself a lot of money by booking coach tickets with ATVO, which is around 20 minutes to Piazzale Roma. While you are at the airport I would recommend getting a travel card to use the Vaporetto taxi boats. I was there for 5 days and got a weekly pass for 50 Euros... which is good value if you use it often. I believe each journey is around 7 euros each way (One of many very expensive things in Venice sadly). You can get it for lesser days though. Once you get to Piazzale Roma get yourself to the canal/river and find the stop for route 1 or 2 (Faster) that goes straight to the San Marco Vallaresso stop and that journey is between 29-40 minutes. From there the hotel is around 7 min walk through the San Marco square. The hotel has directions so check it before leaving as it will help. You already saved yourself around 50 euros by doing this rather than a private taxi (unless you have the money and don't care, good for you).

As for the hotel itself. It is in one of many alleyways in Venice, which is busy however from my room which was number 48 on the fourth floor, you can not really hear many things except for bells and sometimes the Gondola people talking lowed or singing maybe. The room was much bigger than I expected so I was already very happy with it. We had the canal view *shame there is no Balcony*. The room was very clean. The guy at the reception was friendly and had humour *gave me a mini heart attack when he said I wasn't on the system* he was very helpful and gave us good tips. The hotel is literally 1 minute or less from the main square that everyone seems to hang out around. The only bad things I could say about my room is that the WIFI was terrible. The connection was very bad, I had to lay down on the ground near the door to get some decent coverage and 2 of the days I was there it was not working at all. I asked at reception and was told that it does not reach floor 4 very well and that I should use floor 2 where breakfast is. To be fair, that is not ideal when you are tired after a very long hot, crowded day walking Venice and I wanted to use it while in bed. If they fix that problem, that would be great! The other very small cons are that some of the decorations seem worn out and need a revamp. I also did not sleep well because the mattress on the huge bed was two single ones rather than one big mattress so kept ending in a gap. The TV could do with some more English channels other than CNN and BBC News!!! Everything else was great.

The breakfast was very good, they had enough to please most people especially the desert. It is on the second floor and there is a little balcony that you can use to eat and enjoy the weather. It never was very packed so that is great.

That is all I can say about the Hotel. I would definitely recommend it although in my opinion it is very expensive for what it is but I have come to learn that paying a lot of money in Venice is normal so maybe it isn't.. plus it was July/August so prices double I'd assume. The other thing that annoyed me is an unexpected city tax I had to pay on check out that I had no idea about.. as if your wallet isn't being eaten alive by pricey restaurants and places.. you have to pay 8 euros for each night and that adds up when you stay there for a few nights. I am guessing this is a city and not hotel thing though.

Venice is a nice and pretty place to visit and I have fond memories of it due to getting engaged but the city itself gets seriously overcrowded with people and it's ridiculously hot in July/August. I would recommend coming at low season personally. Had me and my fiance not discovered Lido and went on a day trip to Verona, I'd have not had as much of a good time because of that. I would recommend heading to Verona if you are going for a few days and also make sure you check out Lido, which is 10 minutes by the Vaporetto. There is a very decent beach and you can cycle around the place (fun!!) also the surrounding islands of Venice are worth a stop. Don't hang around the square too long, it's a tourist nightmare unless that is your thing.

Room Tip: If you want a better WIFI connection than try to get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor otherwise i woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norman_bates_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Bates,
thank you so much for leaving such a nice and complete review about our Donà Palace. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
As you said, water-taxis are expensive, however very convenient: especially if you travel with lots of heavy luggage. A water-taxi ride from Venice Marco Polo airport costs Euro 115.00 approximately and takes you to our hotel door (we have got our own landing stage!) in 25 minutes.
If our valued guests prefer to take public transport, another choice could be the Alilaguna suttle-boat from the airport motor-boats landing-stages and San Marco Square. The ride costs Euro 17.00 per person and takes 1 hour and 15 minutes to get to San Marco Square. Then, of course, you have to walk with your luggage to our hotel, which is in CALLE DELL'ANGELO, a few minutes from San Marco Square.
And now back to your stay with us: we were pleased to read you enjoyed your bedroom, especially its spaciousness and cleanliness (this last thing is very, very important to us as much as it is to our clients!). No rooms, though, have a balcony at the Donà Palace, regrettably. Our staff is always happy to help and at full guest's disposal for any kind of inquiries or help he may need: one's holiday is one of the most important things to enjoy in life! Also we are glad you enjoyed our buffet-style breakfast. We sincerely hope to have again the pleasure of welcoming and taking care of you in Venice and always at the Donà Palace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay here. Great service and location. Great breakfast. A lovely place with funny little layout and close to everything. We will be back in April next year and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyVandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Jeffrey,
we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very much looking forward to meet you again next April. Have a lovely week-end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived by water bus from Marco Polo airport late at night after a long journey , and despite all my internet work to get accurate directions , it still took us a while to find the hotel . Google maps has the wrong street name for it .

So it was good to find a friendly face at reception and to be allocated a room on the top floor as requested . Our room was very spacious and had good views over the Venice rooftops over to the Basilica , and we were very satisfied . The bed was also very comfortable , and there was free WiFi and a couple of English TV channels .

The hotel is in a very convenient location near to St Marks , and you can walk to most attractions . Water bus stops are a 5 min walk away , and you can book a water taxi to collect you from the garden courtyard which backs on to the canal at the rear of the hotel .

Breakfast was very good every morning , and 2 of the tables are on the outside terrace overlooking the canal .

The decor is getting a bit tired in places , and its not a 4 star hotel , but we had a very comfortable stay and I would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

The restaurant across the lane , Rossopomodoro , is very lively with attentive service and good vale for money food . We ate here twice and would recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager. at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Gordon,
we have just read you review about our nice Donà Palace: thank you very much for taking your time to leave it. We are sorry that Google maps was not accurate, however for all the other Tripadvisor people reading the reviews we are located in CALLE DELL'ANGELO.
We were glad to read that our Front Desk Receptionist welcomed you with friendliness: it is always a great pleasure to to us taking care of a new guest! We are also happy that you enjoyed your bedroom, the free wi-fi, our buffet-style breakfast and the lively neighborhood with lots of bars and restaurants. We hope to be able to take care of your next venetian stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Thanks for a great stay, we didn't really like Venice (wall to wall people in July) although Hotel Dona Palace was our oasis providing an escape of the hustle and bustle. The staff were excellent, hotel very clean and a lovely room. Thanks.

Room Tip: We had room 20 - very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Tim,
we thank YOU for quoting our beautiful Donà Palace Hotel. We were very happy to read you enjoyed our services, your bedroom and the cleanliness of the room (something we particularly care). Instead, we are sorry you did not like Venice: well, it is true... during June, July and August it is a very crowded place to visit. May we suggest you to visit us on December, January, February or March? Winter in Venice is not as cold as you think and the city belongs back to the Venetians... wonderful and romantic... just like a sunset at your Brighton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#172 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#267 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#235 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Palace

Property: Hotel Dona Palace
Address: San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy, elegant, luxury boutique hotel, the Donà Palace is a four star property overlooking the Rio at the Doge's Palace with its famous Bridge of Sighs, just a few steps from Europe's largest drawing room, Saint Mark's Square. The Hotel Donà Palace's exclusive setting in the historic heart of Venice is favoured for its priviledged position. Though close to so many important Venetian landmarks, the hotel's luxurious lodgings and accommodation have a refreshingly intimate quiet ambience, blending perfectly with the reflecting warmth of Venetian gothic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing