We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurb”
Review of Hotel Dona Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dona Palace
Ranked #71 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having been spoilt at L'Accademia in Verona ( qv ) first impressions of this hotel were not good : an undistinguished entrance, cramped reception, badly-worn carpets and a ( typically ) small double room with little storage space.

After a two-night stay though, the hotel's location, helpful staff, charming breakfast-room and jetty onto the canal more than made up for the above.

Housekeeping could be better, but the refurb seems to have started with the long past-it carpet being replaced gradually.

Room Tip: The canal outside is a very busy one i.e. noisy. The better rooms overlook it, but you may be payin...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much that you chose the Donà Palace after your Verona experience. We hope that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that all of our staff is at total guest's disposal for any questions or doubts about the hotel, the bedroom or the services which we provide. Please also note that we have changed all of our carpets. We remain at your service and hope to hearing from you again, in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dona Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 814 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fantastic location. Close enough to the major sites but tucked away a bit on a canal allowing some peaceful moments. Staff was wonderful! Room allowed views of the canal and of the street with ample shopping and restaurants nearby!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank acbruno719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for the lovely review about our nice Donà Palace Hotel: we hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Thank you TripAdvisor! i actually did not like several of the hotel suggestions that my travel agent suggested so i jumped onto TripAdvisor and did my own research! thank goodness I did. The Dona palace was a perfect choice. The location was close enough to St. Mark's Square without having to deal with all the noise and hustle-bustle. Marco at the Reception Desk was always friendly and helpful...the room was old world and lovely with a fully modern bathroom. The complimentary breakfast each morning was lovely and the staff very accommodating. if you are looking for old-world charm, plenty of shopping area and great location...then the Dona Palace is a great choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you for your nice review about our Donà Palace! It gives us so much satisfaction to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose our establishment again for your next holidays in Venice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lovely situation very close to St Marks square overlooking canal of Bridge of Sighs. Staff very good, amenities good and beds very comfortable. Booked via B A with flight. Fabulous holiday. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kafrin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much that you took time to leave such a nice comment about our Hotel Donà Palace! We work a lot with British Airways and we are sure they are confident about the service which we provide to all of our 'clientele'. We hope to be able to accommodate you again, in the near future, and to look after your stay in Venice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I will start by saying we had a wonderful stay in room 23 at Hotel Dona Palace. The location was 3 minutes from San Marco and 8 minutes from Rialto Bridge and had a great number of shops and restaurants just outside the door on Calle Larga San Marco. The Hotel staff was very accommodating for the few requests that we did have and always greeted us nicely, even with our horrible Italian. The Hotel has a great courtyard with a canal entrance.
The included breakfast with warm eggs and ham, assorted meats, cheeses, yogurt, breads, and pastries and made to order espresso drinks was a welcome addition. At busy times the food would run low but was always replaced. Our room included a large jetted tub and separate shower with 2 vanities.

The only things I can say bad about the hotel is that some of the furnishings and flooring are needing to be replaced now. We had two sofas in our rom that had cushions so smashed, you were hitting the frame when you sat down on it. It looks a bit shabby for the price to see worn carpets, broken tiles and dinged walls. I do have to say though, our room was always cleaned properly and it never felt dirty, just used.

Over all, we had a good stay and would definitely return to the hotel if renovations are done. Otherwise we have another place more preferable to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
we have just read your review about us and we would like to thank you! It is always nice to see that our guest enjoyed his stay at the Donà Palace, enjoying the wonderful location, our nicely decorated bedrooms, our staff, our buffet style breakfast. We took very good note of what you typed in your review and we are now pleased to inform you that we have changed the carpet throughout our rooms and corridors. We hope to meet you again, perhaps in the near future, always at the Donà Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Dona Palace Hotel with 3 of us sharing a very large triple bed room in comfort. Hotel is well located, very central to St Marks Square, Hotel staff were polite and helpful and would definitely recommend. The Hotel has a nice little courtyard area to sit by the canal and have refreshments and watch the gondolas pass by. Reception Staff provided a couple of excellent restaurant recommendations: Da Mario Alla Fava - a 10 minute walk near the Rialto Bridge and a couple we found ourselves: Alfredo's take away pasta bar (5 mins from hotel ) - just the best fresh pasta i've ever tasted and Ristorante Planet where the Gondaliers have their lunch! - excellent fresh Pizza and salad and welcoming staff. 4 days is definitely not long enough to see all Venice has to offer so will return and wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the Dona Palace.

Room Tip: Room 46 - excellent size for a triple share.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukcute0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you so much for placing such a nice review about our Hotel Donà Palace. We were particularly happy to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your triple room, our private garden overlooking the pretty Canal of the Canonica, our friendly staff and its restaurant suggestions. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of meeting you again... always in Venice... always at the Donà Palace! Have a nice Sunday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a lovely few days at Dona Palace in Venice. Position was just perfect and for arriving and departing easy to get taxi to and from door to door as have access on canal. Staff were really attentive and very helpful. Breakfast had very good choice in dining room and nice setting if you got up early enough to sit out on balcony overlooking the canal. Lovely seating area at back of hotel with own jetty. Watching gondolas pass by. We booked a suite on second floor which was corner overlooking canal and courtyard backing onto the canal. Very large and nice decor although, only a minor point was telephone missing in bathroom....bit unsightly, very clean and comfortable bed. Overall perfect position just at back of St Marks. Though wouldn't recommend the bar opposite as food not v.good. Would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Sir,
guest's satisfaction is our mission and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience in Venice and you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We hope we'll have a pleasure to welcome you again
Our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,012 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,860 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#164 of 385 in Venice
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#46 of 385 in Venice
1,213 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,045 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#84 of 385 in Venice
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Palace

Address: San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $157 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy, elegant, luxury boutique hotel, the Donà Palace is a four star property overlooking the Rio at the Doge's Palace with its famous Bridge of Sighs, just a few steps from Europe's largest drawing room, Saint Mark's Square. The Hotel Donà Palace's exclusive setting in the historic heart of Venice is favoured for its priviledged position. Though close to so many important Venetian landmarks, the hotel's luxurious lodgings and accommodation have a refreshingly intimate quiet ambience, blending perfectly with the reflecting warmth of Venetian gothic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing