We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #69 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first hotel stay in Venice. Overall everything was very good. My ten year daughter thinks it was excellent so we differ in opinion. The location couldn't be any better but I was a bit disappointed to learn that the lobby and restaurant are in a 15th century palazzo and the rooms are actually in a modern building connected to the lobby by a series of elevators. This can make getting to your room feel like quite a journey. We were upgraded to a full suite after booking a Jr. suite. The room was quite large with two bathrooms and again my daughter loved it. The decor was a bit too Elvis inspired for my personal taste but was overall very nice and spacious. The service was good and the restaurant has breathtaking views of the canal. The extensive 7th floor breakfast was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitzicmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, January 14, 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    178
    59
    21
    20
See reviews for
160
515
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This the 4th time we've stayed at this lovely hotel, right on the Grand Canal. It was our 20th wedding anniversary and also my husband had a special Birthday whilst we were there. Our room overlooked the canal and a bottle of Proseco awaited us in our room. It has an amazing rooftop terrace where probably one of the best ever buffet breakfasts is served. The extremely helpful head concierge, Paolo is just wonderful and knows anyone who is anyone in Venice and can achieve the impossible, Michael, another concierge is very helpful too. By chance we passed by the opera house one evening on our way back from dinner and spotted that my favourite opera "Carmen" was showing the next evening and the hotel were able to get tickets for us (not cheap but nothing is in Venice and it was my Husbands Birthday!) a wonderful evening which more or less rounded off a wonderful trip. Since having been to Venice on honeymoon we have returned every 5 years and are already looking forward to going back in 5 years time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was very gracious of you to praise our facilities, staff and service at IL PALAZZO.
Please rest assured that your kind compliments have been passed on to our Team Members
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at IL PALAZZO in the years to come!
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport coast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my second visit to the Bauer Il Pallazo, and interestingly enough, I had basically the same room, only 2 floors up. The one thing that I absolutely love love love is their breakfast buffet service on the rooftop. It is delicious and has the most awesome view of the Grand Canal. The service there is a hundred times better than the service anywhere else in the hotel. On my first visit, I thought that maybe it was just the Venetian attitude that was borderline rude, but now that I have been to Venice twice, I realize that it is really the Bauer that has generally a rude front desk staff and the Canal-front restaurant has an extremely rude staff as well. The location is breathtaking, but if you enjoy being treated like a second-class citizen, don't bother...

Room Tip: My friends had a room that was in the corridor connecting the old part to the newer part which faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cydsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, January 14, 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Although we had intended to go somewhere completely different for my nasty landmark birthday, I saw the reviews and photos for Il Palazzo, the 'only one left' note flashing beside the deluxe suite, abandoned all reason and hit the 'book now' button.

All I can say is well done me!

We chose to arrive the economy way, which involved a two minute walk from S. Marco water bus stop to a tiny, unobtrusive door which we only noticed because of the rectangle of red carpet! For 110€ one can get a water taxi from the airport to the front entrance, fantastic but that's several bottles of Prosecco on the terrace. We did go back that way, though.

I'd noticed that some reviewers weren't keen on the sheets. With this in mind I approached the bed in our beautiful suite with some interest. Linen may not be as soft, initially, as cotton, but it's infinitely superior when it comes to keeping one cool in the night. I would prefer a slightly narrower double bed, rather than two singles made up separately and pushed together. It slightly takes the shine off the romantic break when you're separated by two clumps of bed linen and a potential sharp drop towards the carpet!

I'm afraid that's as judgemental as I can be. The staff were charming and infinitely helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace could be dragged out until 11am or so with coffee and, yes Prosecco! The restaurant was lovely, as were the waiters - when a table closer to the water became available before we'd been served they offered to move us across. Okay, it wasn't cheap but we don't do this very often. Our room - 253 - had three tall windows looking over the water; we couldn't see Santa Maria della Salute but that's what the terrace is for. We could, however, hear the gondole setting off and returning with their cargoes of tourists who had stumped up the extra for an on-board singer.

There will always be people who want to moan about trivia but we utterly loved our few days at Il Palazzo and are already planning to return for the next scary landmark birthday!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It was very gracious of you to compliment our facilities, staff and service at IL PALAZZO. Please rest assured that your applause have been passed on to our Team Members
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at IL PALAZZO in the years to come!
Yours sincerely,
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was fabulous very welcoming, the room we had was very clean. the bed and bedding was excellent and I'm very fussy. The pillows were a little rubbish but a phone call to housekeeping and extra better pillows were provided. The hotel is centrally located for all the sites of Venice. Visit Murano and Burano where I tasted the best pizza I have ever had. Two small downsides to the hotel are the restaurant which was way over priced, the food very average and the service was diabolical. After that we asked the concierge for a good restaurants and he didn't disappoint. Al Forno was very good for traditional Italian. Also for a 5* hotel you should get complimentary water every day not just the day you arrive. Make sure you book the personal water taxi from the airport it is so worth the extra euros. Overall I really enjoyed the hotel and would definitely return there.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the side and was noisy from about 6am every morning - however we had a busy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGetterGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bauer Il Palazzo. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback but also constructive comments which can help us improve our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the near future. Should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be delighted to personally make arrangements that would assure an entirely satisfactory stay.

Yours very sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent location for a hotel right on the Grand Canal overlooking the lagoon as well as near Piazza San Marco. Starting the day on the 7th floor terrace for breakfast was wonderful. Panoramic view while eating delicious food! Staff at the hotel were most gracious at all times: starting with the front desk, dining staff for all meals, room staff. Antique furnishings in the large rooms, comfortable bedding, well-appointed bathrooms, bottled water in the rooms.....what more can you ask for to help you enjoy and explore a magical city like Venice. Stayed for six days enjoying meals on the terraces. View out of room was limited but other spaces in the hotel made up for it! Expensive but well-worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, January 14, 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our stay was nice. Lobby beautiful. Breakfast well done lunch at restaurant very good. Back deck area nice view Location good the desk staff were helpful, caring and spoke English well room was quiet . Poor window view but we did not stay in room much

Room Tip: We were in 464 it was fine but window view was very limited of building next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such a raving review of your stay.
I am both grateful and pleased for your remarks and look forward to your return visit.
Yours very sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Property: Bauer Palazzo
Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bauer Il Palazzo is one of Venice's most luxurious hotel. It is an authentic 18th century palazzo with the most spectacular vantage point in Venice - close to St Mark's Square, facing the Grand Canal and overlooking St Mark's basin. The 82 luxurious rooms including 38 suites, many with balconies or terraces, have been recently restored with the finest fabrics, gilt mirrors, carved stucco ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. Located on the top floors of the historic palace guests have the option of staying in one of Bauer Il Palazzo's re-designed rooms or executive suites. The interior design concept of the guest accommodations on the 6th & 7th & 8th floors is quite distinct; each room is decorated in a unique sleek style, with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Il Palazzo Venice
Bauer Il Palazzo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing