We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel Great Room Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #68 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Great Room Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We normally tend to stay on Lido when visiting venice, but decided to go the whole hog this time.
We were given a 5th floor room with balcony and side view of the grand canal, decor was luxurious but the bed could do with a new mattress and pillows poor, a/c noisy so a good nights sleep was not on the menu. Bathroom with spa bath and lots of marble was nice but gold fittings a bit worn and tired. Housekeeping was excellent as was breakfast a very good extensive buffet with hot options if required. Prices for mini bar are rediculous we had one 500ml still water on arrival and were charged an unbelievable 14euros which i should have queried but i did not check bill until at the airport. The Bar prices are very similar and a spritz will cost you 14.50 euros compared to 3 and 5 euros in surrounding bars, but this is five star luxury. On the whole a nice hotel and great location.

Room Tip: ask for a room with canal view and enjoy Venice from your Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Bauer IL PALAZZO.

It is always a pleasure to receive guests’ feedback, as it allows both to improve our standards and to encourage or reward our staff.

I am sorry to note that you were not satisfied with some services which were found not to be up to the expected level and we acknowledge your constructive criticism. Nevertheless, it is a pleasure to note that you were generally satisfied with your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    178
    59
    21
    21
See reviews for
161
515
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great position by St Marks Square. Friendly, relaxed staff who were extremely helpful. Our very comfortable room was fantastic with an enormous roof terrace with views across the rooftops to the snow covered Dolomites in the far distance. Breakfast was the best I have ever had in Venice with a huge buffet with just about everything you could want. The restaurant overlooking the Grand Canal was very nice and we were sad not to have been there in better weather and to have dined on the beautiful terrace! Highly recommend. Not at all 'stuffy' for a five star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

It is a pleasure to note you were entirely satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed the courtesy of our Staff as well as the quality of breakfast , the interiors and views of your room.

Please let me know when you plan a trip to Venice in the future. It will be a pleasure for me to make special arrangements, assuring you and your family a most memorable return visit.

Yours very sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's amazing how things look when the rose colored glasses are off. Give a man a glass of wine, the blissful summer heat or some complimentary champagne and he will feel entirely different about a property than after a cold rainy winters experience in the same establishment.

Well we had the (dis)pleasure of spending such a night in this property during December 2012 and departed early - not because we enjoyed our experience.

Heat was inconsistent, roller shades wouldn't go all the way up, phones didn't work in certain rooms, distinct un-natural fraying of the finishes in the room and remarkably poor quality of decor for a suite of this purported caliber. The property felt in distinct need of repair. Venice is a bit of a Waterworld living on borrowed time.. what gives the city it's pedigree and charm and history are the hoteliers who try to suspend inevitability and deliver a crisp, pressed, five star experience in a place steeped in history and destined to fall apart eventually. I am truly sorry to report that this Bauer unlike it's named twin in Zurich is not up to the challenge and those guests accustomed to 5 star experiences will likely not find one here (all opinions our own).

The incessant heat of the winter climate system was so unpleasant it necessitated our opening of windows to cool to an acceptably hot night time temperature. If there was an A/C system no room staff ever offered to explain it to us. We felt decidedly on our own with cheap TV's finishes, cheap everything surrounding us. The staff were very cordial when explicitly asked for something but the experience just felt so "discount" in the rooms on the Palazzo side..

The city in winter was a bone-chilling cold which is no fault of the hotel, but the experience was decidedly poor -- mainly the quality of the rooms which were in distinct need of repair.

Our experience here unfortunately has sullied us on Venice and we will not be returning for at least a few years or until one of our friends reports a hotel with a better experience here. If this is as good as it gets for a 2 bedroom suite in this city we do not intend to return until they build something better. Very surprising here in Venice as we had great experience at Bauer properties in the past and genuinely were not looking for trouble here - but it found us anyway.

Terrible sleep quality was the crescendo here.. Crunchy, crinkly linens should be thrown away (a disrespectful shame-of-all-shames when the "Frette" store is literally 'right' across the walkway outside the hotel!!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank theLuckiestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are most sorry about your negative impressions. It sounds like the cold weather and bone-chilling temperature experienced during your stay cast a shadow on the whole experience. As you mention, the darkness of winter may compromise or alter one’s perception. Yet, many of our return guests choose specifically this period for its magical, almost ‘mystical’ allure. This said, we are happy to read that you appreciated the cordial attitude of our staff and our efforts to make you feel at home.
IL PALAZZO is a heritage building of historical significance with original antiques and artwork of great value. Furthermore, bed linens are of superior quality. They are made of 100% linen, not cotton. Crisp sheets made of pure linen are considered the non-plus-ultra in bedding standards. I regret this was not perceived as a note of distinction but, rather, as one of demerit. We hope you will have the chance of experiencing our hotel again during the summer months when it will be my personal pleasure of assuring my closest attention to your every requirement.
Yours very sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager Il Palazzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A Fantastic and luxurious hotel situated just a few steps from the main square yet very quiet. Our was amazing and not a bad size for the Venice standards (which are small in general) very finely and carefully furnished in the Venice style with great attention to all those many small details that make the difference when it comes to accommodation and what you would expect to find from in a hotel like the Bauer.
The location is one of the most important advantages of this property as you are just a steps away from most of what Venice has to offer a water bus stop is also close by and great for exploring quickly more distant parts of the Area. The breakfast was Good (considering the Italian standards) although if you are used to large rich buffets you may be a bit disappointing but if you have been around Italy before you wont.
We stayed a total of 3 nights and loved every second of it, A MUST if you are looking for a luxury hotel in Venice with attention to all those things that make you feel like you don't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panagiotis_Salapatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, December 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Bauer Il Palazzo, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and that we having been able to meet your expectations.

We would be glad to welcome you soon back again at the Bauer!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent location. Ensure you arrive by boat. Comfortable, quiet central location. Good service. Food and cocktails reasonably priced. Air conditioning adequate and room nicely furnished. Look for the secret mirrored doors to the Bauer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, December 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your kind comment about your stay at the Bauer Il Palazzo.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, as a member of The Leading Hotels of The World we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectation and to improve our services.

We are very glad that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent hotel, very well situated for walking, near St Marks Square, great for watching the gondolas and other boats from the outside bar area. Breakfast buffet, good choice. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, December 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Bauer Il Palazzo, your feedback is important to improve the quality of service and to enhance our reputation.

We really hope to see you in the next future to be able to show our improvement!


Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent location on the corner of the Grand Canal, a few minutes from St Mark's Square. We stayed in a deluxe suite which was of a good size (for Venice where space is in short supply) and very nicely decorated. Air conditioning worked well, bed was huge and there was no problem with noise. Great views of the lagoon from the breakfast room on the 7th floor.
Where the Bauer really wins, though, is the quality of service: friendly and attentive without being either patronising or obsequious. When booking dinner, I mentioned it was my wife's birthday. When we got back to the room that evening there was a complimentary bottle of fizz waiting. Couldn't get the bath plug to work on the night we arrived but told the porter to leave it till the morning (it was 10pm). Nevertheless, the maintenance man arrived 5 minutes later and fixed it. All in all just a very pleasant place to be. Sure, it's expensive but justifiably so. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, December 4, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind and detailed review of the Bauer Il Palazzo. We are delighted you spent a good stay with us and you appreciated the beauty of our hotel and its services.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Bauers soon where you can further explore our luxury amenities and award-winning restaurants.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Property: Bauer Palazzo
Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bauer Il Palazzo is one of Venice's most luxurious hotel. It is an authentic 18th century palazzo with the most spectacular vantage point in Venice - close to St Mark's Square, facing the Grand Canal and overlooking St Mark's basin. The 82 luxurious rooms including 38 suites, many with balconies or terraces, have been recently restored with the finest fabrics, gilt mirrors, carved stucco ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. Located on the top floors of the historic palace guests have the option of staying in one of Bauer Il Palazzo's re-designed rooms or executive suites. The interior design concept of the guest accommodations on the 6th & 7th & 8th floors is quite distinct; each room is decorated in a unique sleek style, with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Il Palazzo Venice
Bauer Il Palazzo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing