We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Carefull !!”
Review of Ca' Angeli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ca' Angeli
Ranked #10 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My views from room 21, from bathroom window - a brick wall !! From bedroom window - A brick wall.

Very rude staff, and not at all helpful. Be aware this is not a complete hotel! Its the top 3 floors of a shared building almost like an apartment block.

Plenty of proper hotels in Venice at a cheaper rate with better value

Room Tip: Book an alternative Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexLoumeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAANGELI, Owner at Ca' Angeli, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide two feedbacks.

We are very sorry if your stay with us hasn't been satisfactory but after reading both our last 2 reviews (clearly wrote from persons who stayed in the same room) we believe that things have been underlined with the real purpose to damage us.

First of all, we would like to inform that we are used to treat the same way both guests who pay a discounted last minute room rate and whom who pay more.

1) You booked a Last minute room and you paid 89,00 € (Euros) for the two of you with breakfast included from Booking.com.
If you wanted a room with a better view in Venice and on the Grand Canal, the price would have been higher but we are sure you already know that.
2) The City tax is clearly stated as Not Included on Booking.com. You also stated that you paid it online at the time of the reservation but this doesn't correspond to reality.
At the check out, we also provided you with an official "brochure" from the venetian Government stating why tourists have to pay for it but you refused to read it besides not paying that.
3) We are aware it is hard to reach us especially if guests don't make sure to have all the instructions we always kindly provide via email (we sent you an email 30 minutes after having received your reservation confirmation, complete with instructions on how to reach us and payment informations).

We always accept feedbacks especially the negative onces in order to improve our services but, this time, we would like the other Tripadvisor users to decide whether yours have been constructives or if they’re clearly steered to mislead from the reality.

Thank you again for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 830 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

After a very long two weeks in the Dolomites mountaineering we though we would finish it off in a lovely Grand Canal Hotel in Venice. Unfortuntaly, the service we was about to receive was not to live up to the reviews as seen on Trip Advisor and Booking.com.
After arriving in Venice at 7pm with maps ready we set off for our hunt to find Ca' Angeli, already knowing that from other reviews to was hard to find. After 2hrs, still no luck so we called the hotel. The receptionist couldnt direct us so we passed the phone over to a local. Even he couldn't understand the directions!!! Eventually at 9.30ish we found it.
Room was very basic and not what I had expected for the original asking cost of £225!! (very glad it was discounted otherwise we would have not stayed there!) Very quiet room.
Bathroom was lovely, very clean and well equipped. Only downside NO HOT WATER! Spoke with reception and said new pump fitted and to leave it on for a couple of minutes but to no avail.
Good location, not far from main attractions etc.
Breakfast room is stunning with good views. Breakfast was good, nothing amazing. Very grumpy woman serving breakfast. Whatever happened to service with a smile?
Checking out: Checked out with Mattel (?) tried to explain no hot water in room but he got up and angrily rushed to room to check for himself!? Came back and guess what, no hot water! He apologised.
Asked for payment in CASH ONLY as we were only staying one night...this was not made aware when booking (we only booked 8hrs before arrival in internet cafe so no access to internet thereafter as were travelling) this really does need to be made clearer before people book. Tried to charge us for Visitor tax however we had already paid it when booked online!
Paid by card eventually and he put the 5 euro tax in himself.... Why cash only? Is it so don't have to put through books?!

Otherwise very lovely hotel, well decorated but will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAANGELI, Owner at Ca' Angeli, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide two feedbacks.

We are very sorry if your stay with us hasn't been satisfactory but after reading both our last 2 reviews (clearly wrote from persons who stayed in the same room) we believe that things have been underlined with the real purpose to damage us.

First of all, we would like to inform that we are used to treat the same way both guests who pay a discounted last minute room rate and whom who pay more.

1) You booked a Last minute room and you paid 89,00 € (Euros) for the two of you with breakfast included from Booking.com.
If you wanted a room with a better view in Venice and on the Grand Canal, the price would have been higher but we are sure you already know that.
2) The City tax is clearly stated as Not Included on Booking.com. You also stated that you paid it online at the time of the reservation but this doesn't correspond to reality.
At the check out, we also provided you with an official "brochure" from the venetian Government stating why tourists have to pay for it but you refused to read it besides not paying that.
3) We are aware it is hard to reach us especially if guests don't make sure to have all the instructions we always kindly provide via email (we sent you an email 30 minutes after having received your reservation confirmation, complete with instructions on how to reach us and payment informations).

We always accept feedbacks especially the negative onces in order to improve our services but, this time, we would like the other Tripadvisor users to decide whether yours have been constructives or if they’re clearly steered to mislead from the reality.

Thank you again for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Venice is one of my favourite cities in the world (this was my 4th visit) and this time I wanted to stay in a hotel on the Grand Canal. I wasn't disappointed. Ca' Angeli is in a great location. Our room (#3) had a canal (not Grand Canal) view but that was ok. A Grand Canal view would've been a lot more expensive. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was fine. We were lucky in that the wifi signal was good in our room. As other reviewers have stated, the breakfast is excellent and the views from the breakfast room are excellent. The staff are also very friendly and accommodating. A big thanks to the woman on the reception desk during the day (I apologize for not remembering your name). You made us feel very welcome. I thought the location was also excellent - didn't find it hard to find at all. The map was easy to follow. In fact I liked the fact that the hotel was in a quiet area, down a few lanes etc. I suppose my only niggle are the little signs everywhere that tell guests what not to do. I felt that I was back in school and that this was a detraction from the otherwise elegance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarryP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Ca' Angeli for two nights and the location isn't bad as its a five minute walk from the Rialto Bridge. The hotel does have a receptionist 24/7 but the main one usually works until 6pm-7pm the other times they have someone there that may not be able to help with specific questions.

The rooms were adequate size and seems a bit dated. The major problem was that the rooms do have an ant problem, we saw a couple in the washroom the first night, which we did not think was a big deal but the second night we saw many ants on the furniture and even the bed. I'm unsure why there were so many inside the building.

The breakfast is good portions with a variety of options including yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice, cereals, pastries and toast.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rapsrealm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's a bit of a labyrinth to get there, but they explained it very clearly in words and by map, so we didn't have a problem.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. As others have said, they have a nice breakfast layout (but no hot food other than hard boiled eggs), with a lovely view from the breakfast room (and, apparently, from some of the sleeping rooms, though not from ours).

For the price you're paying compared to other Venice accommodations, I'd say the value here is very good.

One note of caution: the wifi doesn't work in at least two of the rooms (the room we had, and the room next to us). You can easily get the signal in the common areas. But if you need wifi in your room, check to make sure you don't get one of the rooms in the wifi's blindspot.

Room Tip: Wifi doesn't work in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in Ca'Angeli at the end of our 2 weeks in Italy. Ourfamily of 4 had stayed at a different Venice inn the first night of our trip, which was located close to the train station, and then chose Ca' Angeli for the end of our trip just to mix things up. Although we liked the staff, breakfast, and central touring location (near Rialto Bridge), Ca' Angeli itself was rundown, and the room was spacious but rundown. Given the prior good reviews on Trip Advisor and through Rick Steves, we were disappointed about the condition of the carpet, bed linens, and mildew over the shower in our bathroom. These are all fixable, and the staff, location, and breakfast still allowed us a good visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesz2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just got back from Venice yesterday. We loved this hotel - great communication and easy booking, hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful, and the hotel itself was beautiful. The attention to the comfort of their guests was impressive, as were the sumptuous breakfasts overlooking the canal. The hotel is a close walk to many attractions and also to the San Silvestro vaporetto but seemed like a quiet welcoming oasis. The rooms were extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 385 in Venice
2,225 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
#14 of 385 in Venice
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 476 in Venice
1,120 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#4 of 476 in Venice
181 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Bonvicini
Ca' Bonvicini
#5 of 476 in Venice
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Angeli

Address: Calle del Tragheto de la Madoneta San Polo 1434 | San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $82 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Angeli 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the last century, this house belonged to Angelo Scattolin, a famous Venetian architect, Chair in Architecture at the University of Venice, professor at the Academy of Fine Arts and Overseer of St. Mark's Church between the 1960s and 70s.In his house, he blended the classic Venetian styles with solutions which were already paving the way for modern architecture: respect for tradition and innovation are combined with a simple, rational style in the rooms and furnishings, reflecting the light and charm of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Angeli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing