We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a JEWEL in the heart of Venice!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Corte Campana
Ranked #51 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found the recommendation for Riccardo's B&B in a Rick Steves article. As most of us travelers know, Rick does not steer you wrong. We are experienced independent travelers, but every now and then, you need some guidance from a travel pro. We were supposed to arrive at the B&B by noon, but fog, rerouting and other flight delays caused us to arrive around 7:30. Riccardo had passed us on the small "lane" leading to the B&B and turned around to ask if we were indeed Debbie and Skip. He had been waiting and sending emails and calling us to see if we needed help and if were were OK!!!! (Our US phone did not work in Europe). It was hot and steamy when we arrived and Riccardo kindly carried two of our bags up to the 4th floor as though they weighed nothing. Our room was huge with a great bathroom and a welcome air conditioner. For those who travel much in Italy, you'll know that rooms tend to be small, and bathrooms tend to be smaller -- not so in B&B Corte Campana. Riccardo is the most kind and helpful host that you could ever want. We'd been to Venice many times, but with the other guests he had great suggestions and tips.

It was such a terrific experience and the location was excellent - five minutes (maybe three minutes) from Piazza San Marco -- and then when you learn the back way out of the B&B, you get to the Riva degli Schiavoni near the Danieli hotel. It is so magical and mysterious as you explore the neighborhood, and our room was as silent as could be.

What a great experience - we can't wait to go back and stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

My group of 7 Girl Guides stayed in 2 rooms for 2 nights in July 2012. We found this hotel through the Rick Steves guidebook.
Of all the places we stayed, this was everyone's favourite. Mostly because of Ricardo himself. Ric made us all feel so welcome, that in 2 short nights it felt like our home.
Our rooms were huge and beautifully decorated with family furniture. This house has been in his family for generations and we loved hearing Ric's stories about living there as a boy. Each of our rooms included our own fully appointed bathrooms. Everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fresh pastries, jam, cheese, juice and coffee and tasted great.
Corte Campana is only a 5 min walk from St Mark's Square and is close to tons of restaurants and shops.
Ricardo went out of his way to pass on tips and recommendations for things to see or do or watch out for. We left feeling like Ric was a new member of our family and recommend his B & B highly to others, until we can return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuntyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Last year, we traveled by train (2nd class) from Florence to Venice (two hour trip), costing 42 euros per person. The trip took us through miles of tunnels in the Appenines mountains, with short stops at Bologna, Ferrora and Padua before arriving in Venice. We then took the valporetto #2 up the Grand Canal to San Marco and then walked 15 minutes to our hotel, B&B Corte Campana. We stayed four nights at this B&B which is located very close to St. Mark's Square. Our room was #1 and cost 120 euros per night. It was a good size room, very clean and comfortable, with a private bath and shower (in the room). There are only two other rooms at this B&B (so book early), one with a private bath/shower in the room and one with a private bath/shower down the hallway. The cost of the room includes a delicious breakfast. Riccardo, the host, was very pleasant and helpful during our stay. Note: you need to walk up two flights of stairs to get to the rooms (no elevator).
The Basillica at St. Mark's Square is beautiful. Doge's Palace, next to the basillica, is another must see. The palace is massive and ornate and full of art treasures. The square can get flooded at high tide.
Venice is expensive. Dine a few blocks off the square where there are plenty of really nice restaurants with good food at reasonable prices.
Regarding the valporetto, we used it as our taxi up and down the Grand Canal. We bought a 72 hour pass which entitled us to use it as often as we liked and we were able to get on/off at our chosing at various locations. It is much cheaper than a gondola or water taxi. We took the valporetto from the square to the Rialto Bridge and strolled through the seafood, vegeatable and flower markets. It was an enjoyable and memorable experience.
We also took the valporetto around the island of Venice to Murano (45 minute ride) and visited two glass factories. Murano is quieter and less populated than Venice; there are no gondolas, only small motor boats in the canals. From Murano, we got back on the valporetto and went to Burano (45 minute ride). Burano is a charming clean fishing village noted for lace making. Each house is painted differently in bright colors and is quite impressive.
The next day, we took the valporetto to the island of San Giorgio (across the Grand Canal) about one mile from Venice. We went up the tower and had a magnificent view of Venice. Then onto the island of Guidecca which is very close by. We walked along the coastal promenade to the Molino Stucky Hilton where we had cocktails and a snack on the rooftop patio. The hotel is massive and beautiful.
If you get the opportunity, I advise you to walk the narrow back streets of Venice along the narrow side canals and eat at one of the small cafes.
Venice is unique. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: I suggest you request Room #1 which includes private bath/shower. Otherwise, pick Room #3. The lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcavaliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This B&B is in the perfect location so everything is within walking distance. There are only 3 rooms and Ricardo, the host, was raised there. He keeps everything in perfect order and went out of his way to accommodate any wish we had. We enjoyed especially a boat ride through Venice in Ricardo's own boat - what a treat that was! The rooms were clean and adequate and they all face a quiet side at night. Breakfast was great and had us all going way past lunch time.
Ask Ricardo about a ride in his boat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Riccardo is your host and he's very hospitable. You are within walking distance of most of the main sites. There are only three rooms in the place and each have their own bathroom. Our room was not connected to our bathroom so we had to walk down the hall, but the shower was great and everything was very clean. There are a good number of stairs you'll need to walk up to get to the apartment. Also, it's very hard to find, so make sure you have exact directions and keep an eye out for a very small sign.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was our second time staying at Corte Campana, and it will be forever our go-to when we are in Venice. The location is ideal, very close to St. Mark's Square, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast is adequate. But the reason we love staying here is because of our host, Riccardo. Always enthusiastic, Riccardo was so helpful in helping make dinner reservations, giving directions, and being kind to our 20 month old, even though he slammed the antique doors a lot. Also, on our last full day in Venice, he took us out on his speed boat and gave us a personal tour of the lagoon, and if we had had more time, we could have gone as far as Burano if we wanted. I would very much recommend going with Riccardo on his boat - you get to be a local Venetian for a few hours rather than just another tourist. We left Corte Campana feeling not that we had simply stayed at a hotel, but in the home of a friend. Thanks, Riccardo, for your great hospitality!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights with Ricardo at his B&B in Venice. Coret Campana is just a couple of minutes from San Marco Square where there are many restaurants, shops and easy access to the Vaporetis and water taxis. We had the largest room with an great ensuite bathroom. Two mirrors on opposite side of the bathroom one for him and one for her!! Our room was great, very big. Lovely to sleep with the window wide open. You are up on the 4th floor so very safe to sleep with it open. Ricardo was there for breakfast each morning giving us tips for things to do, history on Venice and good recommendations for dinner. While we were there from May 11th to May 15th, Rick Steves dropped in looking for a room. Unfortunately Riccardo was fully booked, but he showed Rick our room and since our Rick Steve's book was sitting on the dresser, Rick signed it and wished us a good holiday. We were sorry to personally miss Rick as it would have been nice to tell him his books are great. Ricardo is a very friendly and great host. Would definitely stay again if we go back to Venice. The Dubroys, Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: All rooms face a courtyard, so it is very quite for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDubroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#142 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
924 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa di Sara B&B
Casa di Sara B&B
#200 of 476 in Venice
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Locanda Casa Querini
Locanda Casa Querini
#73 of 476 in Venice
360 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' San Trovaso
Ca' San Trovaso
#64 of 476 in Venice
113 reviews
Castello
Locanda Silva
Locanda Silva
#106 of 476 in Venice
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Corte Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Corte Campana

Address: Calle del Remedio, 4410 Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $82 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly and charming home, Bed & Breakfast Corte Campana is located within a 480 year old Venetian palazzo and has been in the family since 1872. Just a 2 minute walk from San Marco Square in Venice, Italy. Within walking distance of Basilica San Marco, Doge's Palace, and main vaporetto stops. Our three pleasant rooms are large and can be configured for 2 - 5 guests for stays of 2 nights or more. Each room has its own non-shared Private Bathroom. The rooms are in 1700's antique style, quiet away from the noise of the street and have a nice view of a private venetian ‘corte’. We invite you to stay in our Venetian home, wake up to a Venetian Continental Breakfast, and easily explore the main sites a short distance away. For more information and booking requests visit out website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b&b Corte Campana
Bed And Breakfast Corte Campana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing