We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly hotel stay in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Scandinavia
Ranked #127 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel stay in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were here for 3 nights in a family room (myself and 3 daughters) and we were very pleased to be in a room with a view over the square. It was lovely to wake up to the bustle of the small market stalls setting up and the church bells ringing and the smell of croissants to encourage the children to get out of bed!
The breakfast was fine, plenty of food, although a slightly limited choice by the third morning. There was no kettle in the room to make hot drinks which was probably the only downside for me, although not a big issue.
The staff were very helpful, my daughter left her bag in a restaurant and only realised as we walked back into the hotel, they were straight on the phone to the restaurant to let them know and the bag was recovered. They were also very helpful with our transfer back on the last day, as we had booked a water taxi back to the airport, but there was an issue with high tides on the Canals and they very clearly mapped out for me where to meet the taxi and said to ring if we had any problems.
A great location, on a lovely square only about 5 mins walk from San Marco and Rialto. A great trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    333
    123
    33
    11
See reviews for
207
286
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The location is bang in between St Marc's sq and Rialto bridge. Breakfast is basic but we thought it was fine there were cereals, yogurts, bread and jam etc. We would stay here again :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Found this hotel very hard to find.
On arrival shown our room - 4th floor - no lift - for a couple of 70 year old's - not a good start.
When told we have a terrace - great - only to find it lined with air conditioning units which kept
us awake at night. Plus view from the terrace consisted of all the broken tiles on Venetian
roofs.
In seven weeks of traveling this was the worst breakfast.
We can only speak for this particular room the others may have been okay.

Room Tip: Not the room on the 4th floor with the terrace lined with air conditioning units
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was located in a great square, near a couple good restaurants and cheaper shopping options than the ones near Campo San Marco. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and had air conditioning. Unfortunately, something I wasn't warned about before venturing to Venice was mosquitos. I left Venice with 20+ mosquito bites. When I complained about the bites, the hotel staff initially thought it could be bed bugs, but we figured out quickly that the problem was mosquitos. They provided a plug-in mosquito repellant that didn't do much. It wasn't until I purchased spray on repellant that the bites stopped. The maids were insistent on cleaning and a "do not disturb" option wasn't available. There's no elevator, so I recommend requesting a room on a low floor so you don't have to walk up several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freejinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good Hotel, excellent receptionist, poor breakfast only chess not met (as ham or similar), amazing location, standard room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank GIUSEPPE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the end of a 3 week holiday in Italy. The breakfast was mediocre compared to others we enjoyed elsewhere, but very fresh. Climbing 3 floors was not joyful when you are over 60 and yes we got lost over and over again even with a map and an Ipad. Spent 120 Euros to take a water taxi to the airport which was effortless but overpriced. Not sure I will return to Venice. Staff were very helpful and location was in a neat Piazza.

Room Tip: be prepared to walk up flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solveiga k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel, good location. Took the public boat from the airport (€27.00 appx & €2.50 for a map) return. Ticket valid for 30 days (private taxi €110-125). The journey took around 1hr,15min. Once I arrived at S. Zaccaria, it took around 10mins to find the hotel. (A porter can take your bags for €20) There are many resturants,most of them selling pizza’s, pasta. I choose to go a Chinese restaurant called Capital (Castello 4294 Campo SS) very nice & friendly service) Most restaurants’ will charge you a 12% service charge on top of your meal. There are plenty of items to buy a small leather bag may cost around €35.If you buy a bag from a outside seller, then haggle the price down. The rate in Venice is €0.82 to the £1.00. (you get a better rate in the UK).It’s very easy to get lost, so a map comes in handy. I found my way by checking the property numbers. If I was near the 5200, then I knew I was near the hotel. The only complaint I had about the hotel was sound of mosquitoes waking me up in the morning. But it soon stopped when I found the repellent plug in. If you stay under 5 days, you have to pay €3 per night pp. internet works mainly on the breakfast area or 1st floor. The hotel is situated between a bank & a café. And opposite a fruit & veg stall. There are lifts in the hotel. No cars, bikes in the area. So you need to wear comfortable shoes. There are plenty of excursions, my only regret is I didn’t book any online excursions before my arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownsugar224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#113 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#45 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#118 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#144 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#78 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Property: Hotel Scandinavia
Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Venice
#153 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing