We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and lovely owners! Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanterna di Marco Polo
Ranked #83 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We toured Italy for 5 days and 3 different cities and our at Lanterna was the the best of the 3. Ricardo and Guido were very helpful and friendly. Since it was my wife's 30th birthday I had requested Ricardo to buy some chocolates for her and keep it in the room as a surprise, he very much obliged and had beautifully got the box gift wrapped and placed it on the table in our room. I was pleasantly surprised by this gesture as I hadn't expected it to be this good.

The room itself was very clean and the hotel overall was clean as well. The quality of information they provided me before our arrival was very good and they had very clearly given us the direction to their hotel from Rialto Bridge.

We checked out in the morning and they were happy to keep hold of our luggage until the evening as our flight wasn't until late in the night so we avoided lugging around our trolleys on that day.

Overall the hotel is lovely and the staff are friendly as well and is centrally located too! I would recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ananth1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

This friendly, clean and well run B&B Hotel more than matched our expectations.

The saying goes that location is everything and in the case of Lanterna di Marco Polo this is certainly true. It is about two minutes walk from the Grand Canal, Rialto bridge and about five minutes from St Marks Square.

With only a few rooms, each named after a spice, then the Lanterna is not going to be a full service establishment and the facilities on offer are appropriate for its size. Rooms are a decent size with en-suite bathrooms comprising shower, sink and toilet. All rooms appear to have the same décor, traditional Venetian style in pink, lots of pink , if you don't like pink then this is not the place for you! The double bed that we had in room "Vaniglia" was firm and comfortable. Also to be found in each room was a wall mounted TV - almost all Italian channels but if you came to Venice to watch TV then something is wrong. A mini bar containing water, soft drinks, a small bottle of Prosecco, a beer. All prices were reasonable.

A few things of note: there is not much in the way of storage. The wardrobe had about 6 clothes hangers, the dressing table and bedside table drawers only being large enough to hold underwear and so on. Lighting in the bedrooms is dim, only the bathrooms have bright light. The rooms are soundproofed but if you like to have fresh air rather than a/c you will have to endure street sounds until the early hours and the many church bells, which thankfully stop at midnight.

Breakfast is included and served in the small multipurpose hallway, lobby, reception on the ground floor. Given the number of guests in the hotel then a certain lack of variety is to be expected but everyday there was fruit, cereal, juice, croissants, fruit tart, bread, biscuits, cheese, cold meat and a selection of jams and spreads. A vending machine provides coffee based drinks or hot water for tea.

Riccado & Guido are most helpful hosts, they will give you ideas for things to do, directions, timetables and recommendations for good local restaurants. Friendly and helpful they certainly make you feel very welcome in the hotel. Bedding and towels were changed regularly during our 4 day stay.

Small tip. If you want a hairdryer ask at the reception desk as they are not provided in the room.

The Lanterna di Marco Polo is a great little place to stay right in the heart of Venice.

Room Tip: There is a single steep stairway to the rooms, we counted 51 narrow steps to our room on the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arriving on Sunday by train proved to be a little difficult to get to the hotel. Thanks to the bus drivers we finally arrived to a somewhat interesting receptionist. I guess due to the language she did not understand we were not planning to go to Venice that evening.
The room was comfortable and modern and the breakfast good. They even provided an early breakfast for our 4:30 AM departure. The bus stop is close but be careful when purchasing tickets at the news stand. The lady does not understand any English. Easy access by bus to both Venice and the Marco Polo airport.
Except for our arrival, all other receptionists were excellent and very helpful

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lanterna di Marco Polo is located in one of the most centralised area in Venice, although it took a bit of time to locate the hotel. I can get to most of the attractions within 10 minutes!!! The room is a little dark though. The breakfast spread is fantastic! Still a good hotel to be staying at!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lanterna Di Marco polo is located at the most perfect location you would ask for in Venice. It is just about 2-3 min walk from the famous Realto bridge and just a 8-10 minute walk from the most important sight, the St. Mark's square. Emphasis on "walk". So you don't need to worry about taking the water taxi or the ACTV public transport once you reach the Hotel. Most important tourist attractions are really a walking distance from this location.
The hotel itself is an ancient building, almost 500 years old as the owners told me, so it feels great to stay in one of the oldest buildings in Venice. Most of the Venice hotels must be that old, so might not be that important, but the hotel rooms were in great shape, being that old is commendable. The included breakfast was great too. The hotel managers were great help in providing us with a map of the city and pointing out important locations to visit. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no WiFi in the rooms. Only at the reception. But the WiFi signal does reach the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kunal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lanterna di Marco Polo is a great B&B to stay at as it is central to St. Macro Square, Doges Place, Rialto Bridge and more as easy access to this B&B from the Rialto Vaporetto stop. Our stay was 4 nights from September 15 through to the 19th and I cannot say enough about this place and the owners.

The room was clean, beds were comfortable, but what really impressed us were the owners Guido & Riccardo who are gentlemen through and through, not only do they make you feel at home but they make you feel like you are family. They both are very helpful and knowledgeable and great with directions.

I have to say Grazie to both Guido & Riccardo who went out of their way to help us when my son needed medical attention by assisting to reach a doctor, took us to the doctor and then came to pick us up to return back to the B&B as their concern for my son’s health was true and heart felt. To both Guido & Riccardo Grazie, Grazie

I would recommend that you stay with Guido & Riccardo at “Lanterna di Marco Polo” as this is an "A" class establishment and I wish them both the best in future endeavors.

Ciao

Lesa & Derek Maksymchuk

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel everything we felt we needed while staying in Venice. You spend all your days out and about (and if you don't plan to then you're missing out and you'll need a hotel that offers more to do). It was 1 minute from st Marc's square the centre of Venice absolutely incredible location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#84 of 387 in Venice
1,419 reviews
San Marco
Zaguri B&B
Zaguri B&B
#71 of 479 in Venice
248 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Art Deco
Locanda Art Deco
#21 of 479 in Venice
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Avogaria 5 rooms
Avogaria 5 rooms
#81 of 479 in Venice
178 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' della Corte
Ca' della Corte
#73 of 479 in Venice
377 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#59 of 479 in Venice
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanterna di Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanterna di Marco Polo

Address: San Marco 4987, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $88 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lanterna di Marco Polo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lanterna di Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanterna Di Marco Polo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing