We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanterna di Marco Polo
Ranked #80 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arriving on Sunday by train proved to be a little difficult to get to the hotel. Thanks to the bus drivers we finally arrived to a somewhat interesting receptionist. I guess due to the language she did not understand we were not planning to go to Venice that evening.
The room was comfortable and modern and the breakfast good. They even provided an early breakfast for our 4:30 AM departure. The bus stop is close but be careful when purchasing tickets at the news stand. The lady does not understand any English. Easy access by bus to both Venice and the Marco Polo airport.
Except for our arrival, all other receptionists were excellent and very helpful

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Lanterna di Marco Polo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lanterna di Marco Polo is located in one of the most centralised area in Venice, although it took a bit of time to locate the hotel. I can get to most of the attractions within 10 minutes!!! The room is a little dark though. The breakfast spread is fantastic! Still a good hotel to be staying at!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lanterna Di Marco polo is located at the most perfect location you would ask for in Venice. It is just about 2-3 min walk from the famous Realto bridge and just a 8-10 minute walk from the most important sight, the St. Mark's square. Emphasis on "walk". So you don't need to worry about taking the water taxi or the ACTV public transport once you reach the Hotel. Most important tourist attractions are really a walking distance from this location.
The hotel itself is an ancient building, almost 500 years old as the owners told me, so it feels great to stay in one of the oldest buildings in Venice. Most of the Venice hotels must be that old, so might not be that important, but the hotel rooms were in great shape, being that old is commendable. The included breakfast was great too. The hotel managers were great help in providing us with a map of the city and pointing out important locations to visit. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no WiFi in the rooms. Only at the reception. But the WiFi signal does reach the first floor...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kunal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lanterna di Marco Polo is a great B&B to stay at as it is central to St. Macro Square, Doges Place, Rialto Bridge and more as easy access to this B&B from the Rialto Vaporetto stop. Our stay was 4 nights from September 15 through to the 19th and I cannot say enough about this place and the owners.

The room was clean, beds were comfortable, but what really impressed us were the owners Guido & Riccardo who are gentlemen through and through, not only do they make you feel at home but they make you feel like you are family. They both are very helpful and knowledgeable and great with directions.

I have to say Grazie to both Guido & Riccardo who went out of their way to help us when my son needed medical attention by assisting to reach a doctor, took us to the doctor and then came to pick us up to return back to the B&B as their concern for my son’s health was true and heart felt. To both Guido & Riccardo Grazie, Grazie

I would recommend that you stay with Guido & Riccardo at “Lanterna di Marco Polo” as this is an "A" class establishment and I wish them both the best in future endeavors.

Ciao

Lesa & Derek Maksymchuk

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel everything we felt we needed while staying in Venice. You spend all your days out and about (and if you don't plan to then you're missing out and you'll need a hotel that offers more to do). It was 1 minute from st Marc's square the centre of Venice absolutely incredible location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were thoroughly impressed with this little, owner-managed hotel! Guido and Riccardo were very friendly and always willing to assist in any way. The hotel is perfectly located, close to a water taxi stop on the main canal, a very short walking distance from Rialto bridge, and in the direction of San Marco Square. When we visit Venice again, we will definitely go back to this hotel!
I read prior to visiting that some guests found it difficult to find, and the directions may be confusing, especially if trying to follow them from the water taxi stop. My advice: Get to Rialto bridge, south side, facing south, turn right (so the canal would be on your right) and look out for Larga Mazzini road to the left. Turn into it and follow the hotel's directions from there. If you walk under a building you have gone too far - it's just before that on the right!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is very well located, near Rioalto Bridge and lots of shops around. The rooms where spacious and had everything including AC. The "dinning room" was really small but the included breakfast was ok. The staff war very helpful and friendly. The only thing that isn't good about the hotel is the view because in both sides all you will se is concrete walls.

Room Tip: There's no elevator and the stairs are very narrow so if you have heavy luggage you'r going...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gabo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#100 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#130 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#29 of 471 in Venice
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Casa Cosmo di Cosmo Davide
Casa Cosmo di Cosmo Davide
#111 of 471 in Venice
200 reviews
Castello
Aqua B
Aqua B
#75 of 471 in Venice
92 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#21 of 471 in Venice
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanterna di Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanterna di Marco Polo

Address: San Marco 4987, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $91 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lanterna di Marco Polo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lanterna di Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanterna Di Marco Polo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing