We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street seafood”
Review of Acqua e Mais

Acqua e Mais
Ranked #31 of 52 Quick Bites in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: The authentic Venetian Street Food Water and corn: a name that recalls elements of polenta paired with a hot frying fish and served in a “scartosso” (Venetian term for a folded sheet of paper to form a cone). We are all about returning to the Venetian traditions: Water & Corn and ‘can eat one “scartosso” fish or fried vegetables strolling the street, or enjoy “sardines in sauce”, cuttlefish black, creamed codfish or stewed, castraure of nearby S. Erasmo island well prepared wholesome food each day with the best of Italian and Venetian dishes, all rich in omega 3. Everything proposed by the young chef Alvise joined by his mom and the youngs from the Barbarigo school: Leutrim , Alex , Dimitri and Simone
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

We drank at the bar across the way and I could smell all the delicious seafood being prepared, but had to try the octopus because it was not fried. The flavor and taste was terrific, just a little chewy. A great place to pick up some fish on the go.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank tonygX615QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 167 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

It's a really simple concept. At a hole in the wall a quite talented chef throws some seafood into a frier and a few seconds later you have the finest freshest cone of amazing food. Nowhere to sit down. No high pretence of service. Just the best fried seafood in Venice. You don't need to spend any more than €5 to 10 per person. Just perfect comfort food down a back alley. It doesn't come much better than this.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank davesleermec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Venice for 4 days and spent all day, every day, walking around and sampling the delicious seafood, pizza and gelato. This was by far the best/freshest seafood (especially the shrimp) I've ever had, as it's cooked to order. At €5 for a sampler platter, it was an absolute steal. Second best calamari I've ever had. The fried polenta was also delicious, even my son loved it. This is a must for anyone looking for a great snack.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 9, 2016

It can be hard to find this tiny little gem of a food counter / window in the San Palo neighborhood of Campiello dei Meloni. But it is worth the effort. The food is very well priced. They serve fried seafood in take away cones. The polenta is also worth trying. This is an excellent lunch stop while exploring the seemingly endless maze that is Venice. There really is nowhere to sit to eat, but a short walk in the direction of Rialto leads you to a little square that has seating near the fountain in the center.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cityorcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

My favorite meal in venice. A cone of fritto gamberi and calamari. I loved it!!!best way to eat efficiently and quickly I should have gone back the next day!! It was outstanding

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Jerseygirl3161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Acqua e Mais also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Acqua e Mais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.