We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Ca' del Nobile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ca' del Nobile
Ranked #68 of 463 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here in September for a few days. It was ok, but not nearly worth all the money we paid for our room. We had the Casanova room, which was very small, but we figured that it would be. We chose this place based on reviews saying how wonderful and helpful the owners were. Well, over 3 days we never saw these people. The sweet young woman who checked us in was there sometimes, and other times there seemed to be just random men hanging out in the lobby. They said "hi," but didn't introduce themselves, so we thought they were guests. Turned out they worked for the hotel, if you can call it "work." Mostly they sat on the couch and drank wine.

The biggest problem was the bathroom. It was cramped and poorly kept, but the worst part was the lighting. The shower area was pitch dark. The light fixture was made out of overhead projector bulbs. There were about 10 bulbs in the fixture, but only 3 of them were working. All 3 working bulbs were pointed at the toilet. After the hotel staff told us it is a permanent issue with the electrical wiring and there was nothing that could be done about it, we tried to fix it ourselves. We managed to get the 3 bulbs pointed toward the sink/mirror area, but you still couldn't see well enough to properly get ready in the morning.

Speaking of the morning, the continental breakfast was not good. The coffee was disgusting. There must be something wrong with the hotel's water because there's just no other way to make coffee taste the way this tasted. Also, coffee is made one cup at a time, so be prepared to wait, especially if there are other guests trying to eat at the same time.

As for the location, it was on a quiet side street, just steps from the most crowded streets you can imagine. You walk out the door and half a block to the corner where you hit a slowly moving wall of humanity. At night it was a little better, but during the day it was insane. Apparently everyone walks through this area on their way between St. Mark's and Rialto. Also, coming to the hotel from the vaporetto stop at Rialto, you have to cross two bridges-- remember that when you're packing your suitcase.

Overall, this place is not a good value. They need to lower their prices by half.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid the Casanova room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KBandMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    176
    41
    10
    16
See reviews for
102
436
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is the first time I've been disappointed by a "Hotel" that has won a Trip Advisor award. This "Hotel" was so bad we had to move during our trip.
First off, let me say this is not a hotel, it's more like a bed and breakfast that feels like a youth hostel. There is no privacy here, the rooms are all off the eating area and if someone opens the door you will be exposed to people in the lobby eating breakfast. We discovered this when the cleaning man opened our door and let himself in one morning while we were getting ready in our room. We did not find the hotel clean, we found it dirty with mold in the showers and wine stains all over the wall paper, especially next to the bedside table, dirt stains from hands all around the light switches, really gross stuff. Everything is broken here and in need of update and repair. It's not charming at all, and we've been in 2 of their rooms.
Our trouble started at 5 in the morning on the first night. There's apartments above the "Hotel", and the lady who was living above our room put on her high heel shoes and went walking across the floor over and over again, and dragging chairs across the floor for over an hour. It was so loud it was echoing in our room. I tried to let it go and assumed that it wouldn't happen again the next night but it did. The man who cleans the rooms here told me that it wasn't the first time a guest has complained about the noise from upstairs. When I complained, they couldn't move us, but they gave us another room for the night, so we had 2 rooms. Which I didn't understand, it really made no sense to me. However, the second room was loud too, but this time the noise was from the next hotel room over, when they turned on their bathroom light the fan would come on and would shake the wall the bed's headboard was on, resulting in no sleep until your neighbors are done in the bathroom.
Let me add that there was almost never anyone at the hotel to help, the only time we could find someone available was in the morning at breakfast, after that the outside door to the hotel was locked and no one was around to help the rest of the day.
It was the final straw one afternoon while my son was napping in the room, there was no internet and the TV didn't work. Internet had been painfully slow up until now but now there wasn't even a signal to play with. My husband went out to the front desk, found the box and restarted it himself, which didn't help anything. As for the TV, we couldn't watch it because the batteries were dead and corroded into the remote so we couldn't even take them out. We called the hotel owner and told him there's no TV, no internet. His reply? Someone will be in tonight to take care of it. It was 1PM and he wasn't planning on helping us until 7PM. He didn't care to help us, so we left. I called my Credit Card company and confirmed that I wouldn't be charged for the nights we didn't stay and we left.
We moved to Starhotels Splendid Venice very near by and for 50 EUR more a night we were in luxury, and clean quite updated building with a breakfast buffet fit for royalty. I wish we hadn't made the mistake of spending 3 nights in Venice at this crappy hotel. All of Venice is expensive, but this place is a joke, I'm really shocked they don't have more accurate reviews.
P.S. I know the owner will rebuttal that the hotel is an historic building but I'd like to point out that every building in Venice is historic, and other hotels can make things comfortable for their guests through sound proofing, cleaning, paying someone to be on sight 24/7, and updating broken sinks and moldy showers.
P.S.S. I would like to add that the owner of this hotel is fighting his bank trying to charge us for the nights we didn't stay, claiming we had a reservation and owe him those nights. What a dishonest man. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Starhotels Splendid Venice around the corner is LOVELY, you regret spending the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PacificNorthwestBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We came with our 3 months old twin boys and my wife parents, booked 2 rooms. The service from the young lady at the reception was always excellent.
Nothing to add to what has been said, good location, lovely hotel and staff, good breakfast. So private, we felt like at home.
Only small negative points: I found a Krone below my bed, so hoovering certainly wasn't perfect. Also a wall lamp in the room was starting to fall... Even if I didn't care, you could only get a few channel working on the TV,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our plane arrived late, but staff waited up to greet us. It was our 20th anniversary & we were greeted with heart shaped pastries and champagne. Had a lovely room full of character. Staff were VERY friendly and VERY helpful. Breakfast was plentiful to start the day. And you have to try the cake (I had some when we got home that night as it was that good!!!) Cant believe all that baking comes out of that tiny kitchen!!! You are in a great location. Close to everything. yes we got lost a few times, but that is part of the fun of being down alleyways. Would definitely come back to stay here on our next trip. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms are as they appear in the pictures. choose what you are looking for from that
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only spent 1 night here and so glad it was just 1 night. We had a small room which I expected however we stayed in the beginning of August and our room air conditioner was not working (made a lot of noise but did not cool the room one bit). We just simply wanted some relief from the outdoor heat and be able to retreat back to our hotel but just wasn't able to get that. The air was actually cooler outside than it was in our room and must have easily been 85 to 90 degrees in the evening (and we are used to 100+ degree days at home during summer). We didn't want to open the windows due to mosquitos. Thankfully there was a fan in the reception area that I borrowed for some air flow. Reported to management and they pressed a few buttons but nothing but noise came out of the unit.
The bathroom was also in need of a desperate cleaning to rid the shower of all the mildew.
Breakfast was pretty much like everyone stated. A croissant, rolls, room temp. yogurt so that was no surprise since I expected that from my research on tripadvisor.
This hotel (B&B) has some great potential if only the air conditioner was fixed/maintained and rooms cleaned since it is so convenient to St. Mark's Square and really does have some charm but sadly the property is not maintained to provide comfort to travelers.

Room Tip: Unsure about the other rooms but we had the lowest category room at the back of the hotel and that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDN2006, Proprietario at Ca' del Nobile, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry that during your stay the air conditioning is not cooled enough the room. Unfortunately this summer we had a very high temperature in Venice, Cà del Nobile is a historic building and the walls are very thick and retain heat. Our air conditioner could not cool properly and I hope you will accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience accured to you.
Best regards,
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had the absolute pleasure of staying at Ca Del Nobile early May 2013. We were going on a cruise and we decided to stay at this incredibly friendly hotel. We were 3 couples. We had lovely rooms, friendliest of staff to greet us. The Owner Nicola Toso was very charming and exceptionally helpful. The overall ambience of the property is delightful. The breakfast was plentiful and always great coffee. On arrival we were given coffee and cake that was cooked by the host. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. Many thanks to Nico and Vita for your warm and hospitable welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessRob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff was there to welcome us. It was our 25th Anniversary and the B&B more than met our needs. I see one complaint from others, yet the bedding could be better but that is a small thing in Europe and it was not a problem. This Inn was build in 1150, great job and reducing noise. STAFF is UNBELIEVEABLE. Provided insight, tourist info, open to talk in details about the area. Just great people. Probably about 100 yards to San Marco square - easy to find from the main canal when you get off the boat. All the horror stories you read about from other visitors to Venice can be prevented by staying here.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room on the backside of the building and left the windows open at night. The room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBlanton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#128 of 385 in Venice
602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#203 of 385 in Venice
415 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#208 of 385 in Venice
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Residenza La Loggia
Residenza La Loggia
#65 of 463 in Venice
159 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Casa sul Molo
Locanda Casa sul Molo
#81 of 463 in Venice
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Nobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Nobile

Property: Ca' del Nobile
Address: Rio Tera de Le Colone 1 | San Marco 987, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Nobile 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charm of Hospitality Arriving in Venice is an extraordinary, charming experience. During your stay at Ca' del Nobile, refined and thoughtful hospitality will keep your sense of wonder for this fantastic city alive. In this Venetian residence, just behind St. Mark's Square, as elegant as a boutique hotel, you will find truly a special hospitality. At Ca' del Nobile, we are waiting for you to share in the "joie de vivre" of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ca' del Nobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Del Nobile Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing