We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant of extremes”
Review of Dallo Zio

Dallo Zio
Ranked #1,030 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Bangladeshi
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A restaurant of extremes”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were greated by a friendly waiter who explained the menu giorno to us. We thought it would be good value- 2 courses for 10.50 EUR as we had seen similar offers in more touristy areas for up to 16 EUR. We really enjoyed our starters. I had the seafood spaghetti which was deilicious. However, I was utterly shocked by the second course. The breaded chicken that I had ordered looked and tasted as if it was from a supermarket packet- nothing like chicken. It was accompanied by a bland salad. My family ordered their food with french fries which also tasted like they were oven chips from a packet- disgusting. This poor quality of food really ruined our experience, especially after the nice starters. I do appreciate the fact that no service is charged or tip expected- but this is probably offset the the fact that the cover charge is 2.50 EUR per person.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MadaTamberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    19
    18
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lovely place to enjoy the Dorsoduro and Campo Margherita”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Da Zio Campo Margherita Dorsoduro 3053/a 30122 Venice Italy, 041 241 0008
This is a lovely restaurant with good food and a delightful staff of brothers and cousins whose good cheer makes the food taste better. And my waiter had a special desert made for me with extra chocolate. Can’t forget that!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtistEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Scammed by slick waiter”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had the same experience - waiter is standing next to the menu talking it up and bringing people in. Food was actually not bad, but then I got the bill for my fish - 58 Euros.
Wish I had read these reviews first, but actually the name is nowhere to be seen on the restaurant. Thanks to the reviewer who posted the menu picture, I know this is the same place, right next to Orange.
Recommend you avoid, but if you go, only order items with set prices on the menu - no daily specials!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyNameNotTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Best avoided as the waiters use their hands to add salt or cheese. The red wine is served colder than ice cream, and the waiters argue with the clients.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scam artists at Campo Santa Margherita Restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were charged the most ridiculous amount of money for a fish that had to be sent back to the chef twice. 63 Euros!!! We thought we were getting a fish with vegetables which was on the 'daily suggestion' for 13 Euros. This place is a step up from a cafe. Not a Michelin rated restaurant.

So when the bill came, we asked very calmly if it was correct. They gave us a menu and told us we had asked for a different item, that it was our fault that we didn't speak Italian, that all Italians would pay that price for fish (in crisis, right?) and would not budge on the price.

When we persisted, two waiters started making racist comments toward us. It was such a horrible experience. We didn't know what to do. We paid and left. Do not eat at this restaurant in Campo Santa Margherita. It is the definition of a tourist trap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallo Zio also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Dallo Zio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing