We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly retreat alongside a beautiful canal”
Review of Palazzetto Madonna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Palazzetto Madonna
Ranked #118 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The newly refurbished Palazza Maddona delivers affordable luxury and a welcome retreat after a long day spent exploring the beautiful laneways and canals in Venice.. I stayed here on my own a couple of nights ago and felt incredibly safe and pampered in the beautiful economy room. The hotel is so easy to get to from the train station (just take water bus line 2 and after 2 stops you are at San Toma and then it is less than a minute walk to the hotel entrance) or another 10 minute maximum walk to San Roma to catch the bus to the airport. The room had everything a girl could need and more, beautiful bathroom, complimentary robe and slippers, even a button to close the curtains for you - I was in heaven! Breakfast was delicious and ample and the staff were more than happy to help any request I had. There is an absolutely delicious restaurant just next door - Osteria del Carson, as a girl on my own I didn't want to walk too far after dark by myself and the restaurant next door was fantastic. They made me feel very special and converted me into loving gnocchi - I now know what good quality delicious gnocchi tastes like so you must go there and try it. Yumo! This was the perfect location and hotel to come home to away from all the craziness of St Mark square, I would stay here if I ever returned to Venice again.

Room Tip: As for one that doesn't face the alleyways if possible as it was a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 439 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our room was great! As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to the deluxe room it was such a treat. The room was quiet comfortable and exceptionally spacious. The view from the balcony was sweet, with a great view of the courtyard. The hotel itself is in a great location in front of a picturesque and quiet canale near the grand canal, also a 6 min walk from ponte di rialto were the main market is. All in all a great trip!

Room Tip: sometimes spending a bit more money on a better room really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noangeldoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed with my fiance for three nights in December and had a lovely time. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was all we needed; meats, breads, juices, coffee, cereal, yogurt, etc. (Note: you can ask the servers in the breakfast room to make you a cafe for breakfast i.e.cappuccino, latte, etc.) Hotel was very clean and well-taken care off. Would recommend this hotel to any traveler and will definitely be back again! Ciao.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in a standard room for 3 nights. The room was very clean and plenty of space. Likewise for the bathroom which was one of the biggest I've had in a hotel. Location is good for walkers (10 mins to Rialto and Accedemia and the Bus station in either direction) and the St Toma ferry stop is very close. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Continental Breakfast was fine. Although if you want a full English breakfast the hot food didn't look that appealing or have a vast selection. Only major downside is that the walls (to our room at least) have very little sound proofing. We could hear pretty much everything going in inside adjacent rooms and people walking by outside. If it wasn't for the sound issues I'd give this a 5 out of 5 rating. Also just noticed another review had some complimentary wine as they were there for a birthday - but I didn't get any for mine so don't bank on it!

Room Tip: try and get a room not located on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzetto Madonna, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Good evening from Hotel Palazzetto Madonna****L.

Dear Will,
First of all let me thank You for choosing our property and for this nice review.
We are pretty happy You appreciated the room size (as well in the standard) and the location.
Thank You as well for mentioning the friendly and helpful staff as we think the service is our most important skill and we are really proud of this.
For what it may concern the only thing did not allow You to rate us five stars (the noises), You know sometimes we have guests that have a special sensibility to this, but we hope to have You back so that we will try to suggest You a quieter room as one of our Deluxe room maybe faced on the backyard.
Waiting to have the chance to welcome You back we forward You our
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Beautiful new hotel in a great location in Venice. We stayed here one night and were very happy with the room and the quality fittings and tasteful decorations and furniture. We even had a little courtyard which was wonderful. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14andrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzetto Madonna, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Good evening from Hotel Palazzetto Madonna****L - Venice.
Dear Angelo,
We would like to thank You for Your nice feedback and for being such a good guest in our new hotel!
We are happy You loved the room and the high quality of our property.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome You again here in Venice we send You our,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staff excellent, rooms grand, clean, and location perfect! Not only were the staff incredibly accommodating, they also made my birthday extra special with morning room service & a surprise! Loved this hotel and will recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. The hotel has just been refurbished and the interior is beautiful - it fully lives up to the photos. The location is excellent being just yards from St Toma waterbus stop and a short walk to Rialto, St Marks and Pizzale Roma. The plumbing and electrics all worked well (often a sticking point with hotels in old buildings) with an excellent shower, a huge flat screen TV and free wifi with a good signal. The only downside would be some average service. There seemed to be one bell boy maintaining the whole hotel and running the bar. The bar was like drinking in a library and is not worth bothering with. It's really just a breakfast room that serves drinks in the evening. Breakfast was OK. My parents couldn't leave their room to go out for dinner for about 30 minutes because they decided to polish the hall floor at 8:00 pm one evening and, my brother was sent on a wild goose chase to get to Murano, by the receptionist, which took 2 hours instead of the more normal 1. We had to pay the new city tax by cash. They wouldn't let us pay by card with the rest of the bill. No idea why this was. Also be warned that they charge a commission for calling a water taxi to the airport. It's cheaper to approach a water taxi driver direct or book online in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t1grm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzetto Madonna, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest,
we would like to thank You for Your kind feedback as every suggestion can help us to improve our service and our level of standards.
We are happy you loved the location, the room and the excellent hotel level: this is really important in a brand new opened hotel.
All the new things have to be properly maintained and that is way we polish the pavements: to have the hotel always clean, and brilliant but we do not use to lock the guests inside.
Our bell boy is a good bar tender and the soft, calm and charming ambient we try to create in our bar is exactly the kind of atmosphere our selectioned guests use to love the most.
For what it may concern the only point that didn't allow you to rate us five stars, we never charged a commission for calling taxis.
We call only serious, safe, allowed and respectable companies with insurance (for any case of accident) that apply the fix tariffs the city suggests.
To book on-line, you have to pay in advance a taxi that should not show up or that You should never take (if You cancel the room) and to approach a taxi driver it means that you do not have the warranty he will come to pick you up.
The (public) city tax is not something the hotel charges (as the same name says "city tax") so that there is no reason that it passes through the hotel (private) bank.
The hotel is only holding the money for someone else (the government).
Hoping to have the chance to welcome You back one day, we send You our
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#19 of 385 in Venice
1,730 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,873 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 385 in Venice
1,608 reviews
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#28 of 385 in Venice
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzetto Madonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzetto Madonna

Address: San Polo, 2902, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $123 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzetto Madonna 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzetto Madonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing