We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful dinner on a quiet river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria da Gino

Antica Osteria da Gino
Ranked #273 of 1,363 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: A traditional venetian ristorante "antica osteria da gino" has been opened in the neighborhood of castello, the most popular area of venice behind the gardens of the biennale exposition. The restaurant offers traditional venetian cuisine with fresh products and fine wines. It also has an extensive open space along the canal where you can stop and taste delicacies of the past.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner on a quiet river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Our family had a wonderful dinner at Antica Osteria. The setting was peaceful, the service was very good and the food was excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sieglinde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    47
    12
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“"Remote and Romantic"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This restaurant is a gem. Take the Giardini stop and follow the locals who turn right down the canal. This charming mother-and-daughter operation starts with refreshing extras before you order: a glass of chilled juice, a cheese and bread hors d'oeuvres. We sat on the water; the environment was tranquil. We ordered a great wine (Livio Felluga Pinot Grigio). I had the grilled branzino (delish!), and my partner had the tagliatelli with zucchini and prawns. We're members of the clean plate club. When we asked for our bill, our server (the daughter) asked us if we'd like complimentary limoncello (fatto im cassa). Would we! Best limoncello ever: smooth, not too sweet, not bitter, not too strong (perfetto!). We will come here again. It's a jewel in Sant Elena!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GradingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Thank heavens for Trip Advisor! Having walked the second of J G Links' walks in 'Venice for Pleasure' we found ourselves at the Biennale at lunch time and were drawn by TA to this perfect little restaurant beside a quiet canal in a strictly residential district. Although it was after one there were no diners and the proprietress was sitting in the sun waiting for custom, not an encouraging sign. Nevertheless it looked so inviting that we took the plunge and were richly rewarded. We had a table in the shade right next to the canal. My wife said that she had an outstanding spaghetti vongole and, although the emphasis is firmly on fish and seafood, the beef I had as a main was outstanding. By the time we left only two other table were occupied - not a reflection on how good it was. Inside was spotless. Apart from a few locals walking by, it was very very quiet - a lovely oasis in an often hectic city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonW923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food&Wine very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A local really friendly ... I don't know how to describe in words the beauty of the local with decorations suitable to the vision of the customer.They have the tastiest wines some bottles have a certain prestige adapts to the dishes and the palate ... The kitchen has a great deal of care in the dishes especially have a menu true all good every dish that they do and always a pleasure to eat ... As soon as you enter you'll need an aperitif with croutons to fish and decorated with simplicity seems a framework ... Very nice

Helpful?
2 Thank SilverFerrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyffryn Ardudwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unexpected nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Came upon this restaurant by accident. The young lady that met us was pleasant and very helpful. Sitting in the open air we enjoyed plates of delicious sea food pasta which was a cut above what we had experienced in the centre of Venice. Well worth a visit.

M. Ellis
Wales

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meic556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria da Gino also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antica Osteria da Gino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing