We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost, but not quite perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia
Ranked #45 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Almost, but not quite perfect.

Whats good:

Great location in the heart of Venice, very clean, large uniquely furnished bedroom, pleasant friendly staff, good breakfast.

Whats not so good:

When I booked, I mentioned that we were staying here for our 10th wedding anniversary and anything they could do to make our stay more special would be much appreciated. We didn't receive anything, not even a "happy anniversary".

At times staff were so determined to give you space that you actually felt abandoned. On multiple occasions we had finished our food or drinks in the bar and were unable to find anyone to give us our bill. We waited so long for someone to come back to us that on two separate occasions we had to go to reception to ask them to find a member of the bar staff.

The spa was also a mixed bag. Very expensive and very small. We booked a couples "Harmony" package but it proved far from this. Massages had to be done separately as they were understaffed. Mine was fantastic but they completely forgot about my wifes. The language barrier was a real issue but once they found someone who could speak average English, we were told that she was unable to have the massage we had paid for 2 months in advance as they were understaffed and over booked. She ended up having an alternative treatment which was nowhere near as good. Very disappointing for £250.00!!!!

Overall, its a very good hotel but its not quite as exceptional as I had hoped it would be given the price tag.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. It's one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The service was faultless, hotel was beautiful & fabulous location. It was very stylish, classically renovated palace with floor to ceiling marble in the bathroom. Very easy to get to (we caught the water taxi from the airport then out via the railway). I'd definitely come back. We booked 8 months in advance & price was very reasonable.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ilovedevon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed three wonderful nights at Ai Reali. The reviews of this hotel have been extremely positive, and in our opinion, are richly deserved. The decor and furnishings are elegant throughout. Our room, which overlooked the canal, was very large and beautifully appointed, including a spectacular chandelier. The linens were lovely. The black marble bathroom was stunning. The staff, particularly Filippo, could not have been more helpful and friendly. Their suggestions made our trip much more comfortable. The hotel is located on a little canal near the Rialto bridge and is within short walking distance of everything in Venice. The water taxi to the train station (something I highly recommend), picked us up at the front door of the hotel. Breakfast is served by very gracious waitresses in the hotel restaurant (which is very good). For dinner, you can also eat in a small, enchanting courtyard. The room rates are very reasonable for such a quality establishment. If you're looking for an elegant, perfectly located hotel, with an extremely accommodating staff, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: 207 is very spacious and overlooks the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ai reali is a really nice boutique hotel. It is situated 3 minutes walk to Rialto bridge and 10 minutes walk to st marks sq so is an ideal position for walking around venice.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated and have excellent quality linens and towels. The whole hotel is very modern and recently refurbished but retains its antique feel. Before it was a hotel it was firstly a palace, then a courthouse and now ai reali. There is a small bar and a charming courtyard. Breakfast is perfectly lovely served by charming friendly staff. Free WI fi is an added plus.
I would not hesitate in recommending ai reali

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sidneyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to spend our last two nights in Europe at this beautiful hotel. We took a water taxi to the hotel as we were carrying a great deal of luggage after our cruise. The water taxi dropped us off at the door. We quickly admired the beautiful setting with marble throughout! We had booked a junior suite and was astonished to see that it was actually three rooms: a bedroom, bath, and a sitting room. Our bedroom view was of the canal with gondolas passing. The room was beautiful, marble in an old world Venetian style. Room 108 was beautifully appointed and was a cool oasis to return to after touring Venice in the summer heat. The front desk was very helpful and made dinner reservations for us as well as booked their water taxi to Murano where we saw glass made by artisans. The employees were all so professional and polite. I advise anyone who is looking for a hotel room in Venice to consider this establishment. If I get back to Venice, I will stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jscw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The last two days of our two week Italian adventure were spent in Venice at the Hotel Ai Reali. Our once in a lifetime trip could not have ended in a better way. The hotel was spectacular....lovingly restored keeping its ancient beauty while considering the comfort and needs of today's travelers. Our room, 306, was large with a stunning black marble bathroom, an expansive closet/dressing area, lovely Venetian glass light fixtures, and beautiful linens.

The staff at this hotel is extremely personable, well trained, and happy to help with anything you may need from making dinner reservations to booking the water taxi to the airport. We took advantage of the patio one afternoon, and stopped in the charming bar for a nightcap each night before bed.
When we booked our room, the less costly rooms were unavailable, so we upgraded to the deluxe room. Do yourself a favor and do the same. Everything in Venice is very pricey, so in the scheme of things, this hotel gives you a lot for your money. If I ever return to Venice, I will look forward to my stay at the Ai Reali.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at this beautifully renovated hotel. Every aspect of our experience either met or exceeded our expectations.

The location is perfect for all the sights of Venice. The front door is a less than 1 minute walk to the Realto bridge. Your walk to St. Mark's is 3 minutes.

If you have lots of luggage the water taxis can drive right up. Many expensive hotels in Venice do not have that luxury.

This hotel is the former residence of a very wealthy Venice family. The property went through a major renovation and is now as modern as any hotel anywhere.

The level of service is first rate. Always smiling, always courteous, and always willing to help. We had an issue with web check in for our flight home and the wonderful front desk person spent almost an hour helping us both on the phone with the airline, but also online to print our boarding passes.

In contrast we stopped by the Hotel Danieli one afternoon to inquire about this famous hotel for a return trip. Maybe they get too many tourists stopping by, but we were inquiring about a suite, yet they cod barely give us the time of day. Also being right off St. Marks, they are far way from everything else.

Our suite at Hotel Ai Reali was beautiful, beautifully appointed, and had the softest sheets.

I have never given a hotel a perfect score before, but Hotel Ai Reali gets one from me, and truly deserves it. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: We loved room #310 our deluxe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan-in-Honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,729 reviews
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#28 of 385 in Venice
773 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,129 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia

Address: Castello, Campo della Fava 5527, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $193 - $692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ai Reali is located in Campo della Fava, a small quiet campo, few steps away from Rialto Bridge and only 5 minutes away from St. Mark’s Square. It’s a fantastic central location for who wish to discover the most real Venice. Experience the thrill to visit the old fish market early in the morning or have a cappuccino staring the Rialto Bridge, walking only moments from your hotel.The palace has been the residence of family Reali, a noble family who became rich with the trade of the sugar. The seal of the family is a double crown, the same crowns you find in the hotel logo. The Hotel is overlooking a canal and it has its own water entrance. Customers can easily arrive or depart by private transportation. In case you prefer to user the public transportation, the ferry stop of Rialto is only 150 metres away. Ferry line “Alilaguna” arriving and departing from the airport also stops in Rialto.The Hotel Ai Reali is a 4 stars hotel S offering all the services you normally find in a 5 stars, including the restaurant “Alle Corone” serving Venetian food with home-made pasta and pastry, a comfortable bar, a bar in the garden (open in summer),A wine cellar, a gym, a great “Reali Spa” with Jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna, emotional showers and a massage center. The products used in our Spa are provided by Vitalis a brand “total nature” well known in Italy.Regarding business, Ai Reali, offers a congress center with a big salon for 75 people, with wifi internet connection and if your dream is a great wedding in the most romantic city of the world, don’t miss the chance to ask our assistance, we are ready to arrange the wedding of your dreams, including the ceremony in the beside church, reception, gondola or boat transportation, lunch of dinner in any style, wedding make up and spa treatments. The decoration of the hotel and the rooms is classical Venetian with a lot of antiques and all bathrooms are full marble in different and elegant colors. The floors have been totally restored, you will really feel like to be in the 18th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing